We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World no frills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 & 3 Night Special Offer
Ranked #84 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Cold Spring, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old World no frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The castle hotel is located North of The city center, a 15 - 20 minute walk to Trinity College. The hotel bills itself as the oldest in Dublin, and one can see traces of old world charm. Our room had very high ceilings, a rather dated bathroom ( again no frills) and a comfortable siting area. They have live music at night in their Pub / restaurant and the food is fine. The staff is helpful and the facility is clean. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, no pool , gym .business center etc., but clean, comfortable, and good value.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking, the hotel is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    359
    213
    76
    35
See reviews for
155
308
89
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Castle Hotel is a reasonably priced hotel with good service and an earthy atmosphere. While the room was pretty lacking in the charm claimed on its site on the Internet, the bed was comfortable and the room a reasonable size. Overall a pleasant stay in a reasonably central location. I will note for those wanting quiet you may be disappointed, at night a local bar and nearby construction does not make for a peaceful stay, nor do the paper thin walls. But if you want great service, easy access to O'Connell Street this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

From the time we sent the first email until leaving everyone from the hotel was first class. A no frills family run hotel with a good location and ease of access via car from N1.
We had requested adjoining rooms with easy access as a member of the party had mobility difficulties.No problem .
Room was clean, bright and the bed firm but comfortable.There was some noise from the TV next door and from The Vaults and car park but this had quietened by midnight. Not bad given people were on holiday.
Food in the restaurant looked good but as we had eaten earlier can only comment on dessert and coffee which was lovely, fruit crumble and ice cream which seemed home made .
Given ongoing work , parking was limited and finding a space not for the faint hearted but good value at €10 per day.
Keenly priced with breakfast included. Would return at another date as it fulfilled all requirement for a short family break to sample the delights of Dublin.

Room Tip: Tell staff of any requirements early on and they will try and accommodate. Back of hotel very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The location,staff,food and quality of our room was better than expected..this hotel was ideal for our four day break,ignore any bad reviews the staff are fantastic especially at breakfast and our room was cleaned daily...Will use again..many thanks...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel.The location is very good. Reception staff very efficient and helpful.Our room was a Little on the small side but we enjoyed a very peaceful nights sleep, breakfast was tasty and the waitresses were great fun. The weekend we stayed was extremely busy in Dublin so the room rate was high .Parking is also €10 per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmore, Kerry, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here the weekend but i was suppose to be staying in their sister hotel georges but our room their got flooded. The receptionist their had us driving around dublin city for an hour before i realised she was on goole maps trying to direct me and then she decides to tell me we would not be staying their because of our room. I rang the staff in the Castle hotel the lady i was speaking to us was so fab. She got us their in 5 mins and had a car space for us and she also came out to the car park to greet us. the recepionist their were both nice but the man in the bar the "bar manager" i tink he was "he was there years i tink" so nice he was so nice polite and great company. Our room wasnt the best but it did the job ... the bath would defo need to be replaced!:) xx

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Six of us stayed for two nights. Central location a 5 minute walk to the city centre. Excellent staff very warm and friendly, great breakfast and bar restaurant. My wife left her iPad behind and Alison quickly organised registered post to UK. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel in Dublin's city centre, just 2 minutes walk from O'Connell St and minutes away from all major tourist attractions, shopping districts, nightlife and theatres. Recently renovated the hotel has retained most of it's original Georgian characteristics. Striking antique mirrors, splendid period staircases, crystal chandeliers whilst still providing all modern day comforts. The hotel car park (charges apply) make The Castle Hotel the ideal location from which to explore Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.