We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Lovely Place, definately recommend it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 & 3 Night Special Offer
Ranked #83 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    358
    212
    76
    35
See reviews for
154
307
89
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
knaresborough
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

i stayed at the castle hotel with 2 friends and we couldnt have picked a better place to stay.the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us.the breakfast was epic and very tasty.the room was great with plenty of tea/coffee/shampoo etc and had the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in.the en suite was immaculate and the shower was great.the castle is ideally situated with a 10 minute walk to the temple bar area and away from any noise.on the morning we left the hotel receptionist had booked a taxi for us to the airport with a special rate,gave us all a wakeup call and provided breakfast all before 5.30 am.we would definatley stay here again and so should anyone who wants a first rate service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I visited the castle hotel for 3 nights on my first trip to Dublin. The location is great right at the top of o connor street, all within a 10-15 minute walk of temple bar and all the shops.
The room was fine and very warm. Also the complimentary wifi helped and prevented me being stung with roaming charges. The staff were also very useful..apart from the night shift receptionist not answering for 10 minutes while we came back from temple bar quite late! (we think he must have been napping)
The downside was the noise, from the traffic and sirens outside (still could hear on 3rd floor with windows closed) and the noise from the floorboards above us, we think their may have been some renovation work being done on the 4th floor as when we went to check it out we could smell paint. it sounded like people were jumping up and down in the room above for one of the days, didnt help when we were trying to sleep off our hangovers from a night down at temple bar.
also- the breakfasts are ok (me being vegetarian doesnt help though), same with the drink prices in the very warmly hotel vault bar which also plays live music which is a touch.
overall great value for money we paid £150 each with flights for the trip for 3 night stay inc breakfast. would stay here again but would request a room on the top floor!

Room Tip: request a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here November 30th for 2 nights. We drove and was told there was a car park on site. Unfortunatly no information was provided as to where this was located so after getting lost driving around the hotel we decided to go in and ask. The lady on reception was very helpful and directed us to the car park. We checked in with no problems, having paid through expedia there was no further information we needed to give and we were given our room keys to room 105. Now at first we thought this would be ideal as it wasnt next door to anyone and the room was huge,however in the evening even the slightest noise could be heard which resulted in us getting minium sleep the first night. Am sure they would have changed our room for us had we asked but we coudnt be fussed to be honest. Breakfast was average, not much and you have to queue ages for toast. The bar in the hotel was ok with some Irish music on in the evening. All in all it wasnt a bad hotel for the money we paid, and a nice walk into the centre about 10 mins to the Dublin Spire. This was my partners second visit to the hotel and my first but we will be back.

Room Tip: Avoid 105 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was my second trip to Dublin and second trip to this hotel, location wise I love it as its far out enough to be quiet but close enough for everything else! We arrived at 9am after an early flight from the uk and checked in straight away which was great as we didnt think this wouls be possible, The room was fine we booked a twin room. Yes there are long corridors but if u want a box book a new purpose bult hotel!! Bathroom looked very new with no bath but a huge shower. Which was great for us. Breakfast was fine. I work in a hotel and it was a standard self service buffet, nothing special but it's breakfast I'm not sure what people expect! Unlimited free wi fi which was great and the signal was really good in room 228.

Check out is mid day which is good and they have a luggage room so it was easy enough to drop bags in there for the day

All the staff were helpful and friendly I'm going back in January and will stay there again!,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Chose Castle hotel mainly for its location and price – since we wanted a place within walking distance to city center and not too overpriced with free wi-fi. It’s on the northern edge of city center, quite easy to find, just a couple of blocks up O’Connell from where the Aircoach dropped us off. Hotel’s in a row of combined townhouses, décor not sumptuous but had character and there were a couple of cozy public sitting areas. Our room’s on the third floor, felt like we zigzagged through several townhouses to reach it through a long corridor. Both room and bathroom quite large, no view however, just looking out the back at other buildings. Bathroom has the largest window so far (6 x 3.5 ft) so was bright and airy. Bed was two narrow singles making up a king, each with a single comforter. Furnishing was simple but comfortable enough, and the shower was strong (4 on a scale to 5). Only thing was insulation wasn’t so good, in the middle of one night was woken up by people talking in the next room. Breakfast in the basement dining room, self serve continental (which we found out later that you could have as early as 7 am, while hot breakfast starts at 8:30) with custom hot dishes. Nothing special but fairly adequate. Overall quite happy with our stay (3 nights). Good location and pretty good value for Dublin (compared to options near Trinity College or Stephen’s Green).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Well I'm tempted to say good value but I just can't bring myself to quite go that far.

The hotel's seen better days as the umpteen layers of paint on the stairs testify to.

The small rooms are accessed by a maze of corridors and levels and have been decked out in sub IKEA furniture but with non of the Swedish style. In fact the rooms were so compact that it was impossible to get into the bathroom if the wardrobe door was left open. Once in there was nowhere to put toiletries and the shower was the smallest I've ever used.

The breakfast was poor to sub-average and the general level of service could be described as unenthusiastic at best.

All in all it's a thumbs down from me I'm afraid.

Oh, yes, and the location isn't great either.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel in Dublin's city centre, just 2 minutes walk from O'Connell St and minutes away from all major tourist attractions, shopping districts, nightlife and theatres. Recently renovated the hotel has retained most of it's original Georgian characteristics. Striking antique mirrors, splendid period staircases, crystal chandeliers whilst still providing all modern day comforts. The hotel car park (charges apply) make The Castle Hotel the ideal location from which to explore Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.