We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations in Ballsbridge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenogra Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Glenogra Guest House to your Saves list
Glenogra Guest House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   64 Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #50 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
ambermom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations in Ballsbridge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

How lucky we were to have booked a room at this lovely, late Victorian guest house in the Ballsbridge section of Dublin! We stayed there for our first night in Ireland, before driving to the west coast; our flight arrived early in the morning, so we reached our guest house quite a while before check-in time, but Peter, our host, welcomed us and served us some much needed coffee and biscuits while our room was readied. Spacious and very nicely decorated, with a large en-suite bathroom, the room featured two extremely comfortable beds. Our stay was further enhanced by Peter's recommendations of suitable dining options, all within easy walking distance; we dined very satisfactorily at Rory's. The next morning we were served an excellent breakfast by the efficient and pleasant staff in the dining room, after which Peter helped us plan our route to Donegal. He simply could not have been more helpful or pleasant. We would recommend this guest house to anyone hoping to find a well-located, charming place to stay in Dublin -- and it's a great value, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
15
30
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed two nights in the Glenogra last week. It is a refurbished mansion in the Ballsbridge neighborhood of Dublin, so the setting is lovely and quiet, However, it is on a bus route and two high end hotels are just around the corner, so transportation is very convenient for local and airport destinations. As a solo woman travel of a certain age, I found the accommodation to be far more personal and comfortable, as well as very good value for the price. My room was unique, in that the en suite bathroom was up a few internal stairs, but all was bright, cheerful,a and spotless.The full breakfast had many choices, and the service was faultless.The owner was always ready to provide helpful information, and the public areas had additional materials that were varied and up-to-date. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite varied, so have a look before you decide. I was offered a large room on the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband, daughter (autistic) and Gran and myself stayed at the Glenogra last month. it was a fabulous little find . Opposite the Four Seasons hotel and in a safe area with plenty of little restaurants to eat at in the evening. We could catch a taxi easily from outside to the centre of Dublin. The B and B itself was excellent with most helpful staff in every way and delicious breakfasts. Muesli yummy and they even gave us the recipe to enjoy at home. Accommodation most comfortable each with en suite. We will recommend most highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed one night during the RDS horseshow. Our simply "by chance" booking turned into a little GEM!
Will be returning again for sure. Location is excellent for RDS and only a 10 minute taxi ride to centre of Dublin. Staff professional & friendly, great atmosphere. Great breakfast.
Quaint house with clean rooms & linen and excellent value. Provided us with a peaceful nights sleep. Were this place excelled was the friendly understated atmosphere provided by the staff and owner.
Thank you, looking forward to next trip to Dublin!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just got back from a two night stay in the Glenogra.
First class accommodation in a quite location on Ballsbridge.
Easy access into the city centre by bus with the stop just across the road for 1.9 euro, taxis charge approx 10 euro.
The room had two double beds in it which were very comfortable for a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was the usual cereal/fruit with a cooked to order full Irish or scrambled eggs.
Staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive.
Would definitely use this again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very pleasant place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Everything is clean and crisp. In the morning you can choose from many lovely things (home-made) for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Professional B&B with beautiful interior. Very good location (calm and not too far away from the city centre) in Ballsbridge. Our room was awesome. Aircoach is also close by. Very recommendable!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenogra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenogra Guest House

Address: 64 Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenogra Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glenogra Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenogra Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.