We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms need renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wynn's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wynn's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
TheSwissConnection
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms need renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great central location, just off O'Connell street. Both the hotel and the breakfast staff are very friendly. The bathrooms and rooms are on the small side and they need renovating but are clean overall.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    268
    66
    30
    18
See reviews for
92
202
111
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Central Dublin at Abbey Road LAUS tram station. 1 block from bus stop on Connell Street. Great bar, restaurant and full hot breakfast. No air. Nice rooms. Will stay again. Very healthful. Walk to Temple Bar area

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I can highly recommend the venerable Wynn's Hotel, in the heart of the city center, located steps from historic O'Connell Street and just a block from the River Liffey. Breakfast is included in a nice ground floor restaurant (we had a pleasant dinner there as well). We stayed in the James Joyce Suite, which is a lovely room with queen bed, an electric fireplace and is in a very quiet corner of the hotel. Within easy walking distance of Trinity College (Book of Kells), the General Post Office, Temple Bar area, shopping, and on the route of the Dublin Green Hop On/Off bus. Friendly staff. They had an issue with the elevator (it squealed for a couple of days, which was annoying) but had it fixed and gave us a discount for our trouble.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, the James Joyce Suite is worth it. It's not much more expensive than some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed in Wynns many times over the years right from when my children were tiny babies up to recently now that they are school age. The first time I brought a travel cot I got chatting with the mananger and recommended a company who had custom made a mattress for my travel cot beccause I. found everyone slept like logs when belittle one had a comfy travel mattress and it made travelling with the kids so much easier. Wellvthe next time we came back they had had lovely deep mattresses made by that company for their their travel cots in the room. I am continually impressed by the great service at Wynns. Lovely old world charm, comfy sleigh beds in room with heavy curtains that meet in the middle and actually keep the morning light out, a great breakfast with lovely waiting staff whom my kids adore. All bang smack in the centre of the city. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is right in the heart of the city centre, a few minutes walk from all the main shops. It's slightly old fashioned and I'm not going to lie the corridors were a bit creepy. We found the place was full of elderly people (we're in our 20s) but we were only there at night to sleep!
When you arrive you park in the loading bay across the road and a porter parks your car in an available spot in the city, saves you having to find parking, they keep your key and fetch your car when you need it. Our twin room was fine, not a tiny box but not huge either, we had a fab view of other buildings and a roof haha, I suppose the view depends on which side of the hotel you're on. The amenities in the room was great - fridge, tv, iron, electric fire etc. for the price it's a nice little place to stay if you're planning a day of shopping. The bar next door to the hotel was lovely as well. The bar in the hotel was again full of elderly people.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very well located, walking distance from center and Temple bar. Our room was clean but not very large (something otherwise to be expected in a lot of Ireland/UK hotels). As a minus, the bed was quite narrow, suitable maybe for 2 slim persons. The staff was friendly, polite and professional. The food at the bar is recommended as well as a chat with the bartenders. They were really nice fellows. Breakfast has several options to choose from and is plentiful. We definitely consider staying here again when next in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have been going to the Wynns hotel for many years but it just seems to be getting better and better the hotel itself has a feel of tradition and comfort staff ar e very friendly and helpful you wont find them standing around its a very busy place excellent rooms very clean the food is first class central location for the city try it you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: when you have windows open on the front you do get low level noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wynn's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.