We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red and gold” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wynn's Hotel to your Saves list
Wynn's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Red and gold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I very recently stayed here with a friend. We have tried out other Dublin hotels in the same price range, and found Wynns to be superior in every respect. The place was in good repair with smart furniture, new wallpaper, good service, a fine breakfast in a lovely dining room, and a bedroom with excellent space for what we had paid. It was decorated in red and gold (my favourite colours, in fact the ones I have at home), and there was a comfortable en suite bathroom with a Jacuzzi in the bath. Downstairs, there is a bar with buzz which the locals were clearly enjoying. It is very well located for all the main sights of Dublin city centre. We recommend it strongly. Staff were very helpful. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a bath, not just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    283
    74
    32
    18
See reviews for
95
219
115
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very central hotel just off O'Connel street. Somewhat old and tired interior, but quiet being in the busiest part of Dublin and good breakfast. But when having got a room, I discovered that the bed was to short. I went to reception and ask to get a new room with a longer bed. At the reception I was told that all beds were the same. I knew that was wrong having seen pictures of the rooms on internet. After a night with very bad sleep, one of my collegues told me that her room had a longer bed, so we arranged a roomswitch ourselfes. Doesn't staff know the hotelrooms, or didn't they bother to help me?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a fabulous 4 night stay at Wynns hotel. Wynns is a traditional small 65 room hotel situated in the heart of Dublin city centre just off O 'Connell street. This is our second stay at Wynns hotel due to its fab location and great customer service. The staff are really helpful , friendly and will endeavour to help you as much as they can. For instance on our arrival day we were way ahead of the 2pm check in due to an early flight and we were expecting an offer to secure our bags only . However we were immediately offered complimentary tea and coffee whilst they checked to see if our room was ready, this resulted in a check in much earlier than planned which was excellent enabling us to freshen up before our first day of sightseeing. our room was fabulous we were on the top floor facing the city centre, rooms have a traditional decor, spacious and we had a jacuzzi bath also. There is free Wifi available in the rooms which is a bonus not just the lobby area as is offered in other hotels. The dining room is a grand room with an Art Deco feel to it, waiter service provides a sense of luxury and we enjoyed the relaxing peaceful vibe, no clashing of plates or scrum tackle to get your breakfast of a morning and the choice is plentiful and the food is lovely. If your room is at the front of the building and your windows are open you will here the noise of central city hustle and bustle which is no different to any other city noise such as London or New York. Our room was the last one on the top floor attached to the Grand Central Bar building, they play music until the early hours which can affect your sleep if the windows are open none of which bothered either of us personally. Transport links are fabulous, tram stop just outside and bus stop is on the corner, here you can get the Dublin hop on & off tour bus which is ideal for access to all the main tourist attractions. Basically if you want a traditional hotel with a great city centre location and friendly service this is the place for you, we certainly will be revisiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Good staff,& breakfast,housekeeping,central city location.BUT-bathroom tiny, & we had a room facing downtown street with TERRIBLE noise level-bells ringing,engines idling,music playing,people shouting in street,cars running,streetcar noise. This went on loudly all night-worst was VERY loud sound of apparently an industrial strength pressure washer cleanind the rails -AT 2 AM !!!

Room Tip: Away from street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry,England UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at Wynns a couple of weeks ago for the fourth time and really love this place. Have tried a few others in Dublin but this is by far the best. the location is perfect for exploring Dublin. The staff are always polite,friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean and comfortable. I always get a good nights sleep in a quiet room facing the back of the Hotel, and the beds and pillows are really comfortable.
Breakfast is served by waiters in the beautiful Victorian dining room. There is a selection of hot breakfasts all cooked fresh and piping hot.as well as juices, cereals and toast.
well done to Wynns for providing an excellent and consistent good old fashioned level of service.
Have already booked my room for December for a spot of Christmas shopping in Dublin.

.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wynn's website is good and that is what drew us to the hotel but the pub next door was constantly noisy, loud music nightly. They even have speakers attached to the outside of the building.
Breakfast was great, staff was great. But here is the big downside....only one elevator and no mention on the website. We were booked in for 12 days but left after 7. At nearly 70 I am too old to climb the stairs and we had too..frequently... when bus loads of tourists would check-in {in a very tiny lobby}. Would we stay there again.....NO.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front. Remember the noise pub next door and An Luas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Often passed by Wynns never had even been inside the door stayed there for 1 night this week how i wished i could have stayed for much longer ,every thing about this Hotel is perfect Rooms ,Staff and most of all the Breakfast .great location Luas (Tram) stops at the door

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wynn's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.