We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wynn's Hotel to your Saves list
Wynn's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Central”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

i stayed in Wynns for 1 night midweek - price was reasonable enough, the room i stayed in was quite small (but maybe because i asked for smoking room). The receptionist was quite welcoming, bar staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good and served very fast and staff again very friendly, location is excellent right in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Dont ask for smoking room as they are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    283
    74
    32
    18
See reviews for
95
219
115
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cushendall
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We knew what to expect and were not disappointed.we went for a quiet midweek break and got it
THE hotel is old and has a history which we liked.Free parking was a bonus and only 40yds from
O Connell street .The breakfasts were delightfull and freshly cooked .The restaurant is old fashioned but quite elegant and the lounge bar is also similar,and our evening meal was as good as you will get .
Rory the barman and Roberta the receptionist(and the other recptionist also) were friendly and helpfull on advice as was head porter superman.The menu and quality and quantity of food was a good 9 outta 10,the hotel was fully booked which also is a good sign.Overall 2 nights B & B and one evening meal was euro 250 total for 2 persons,free parkin ,not at all bad for central dublin.Indeed we priced a 5 star very near grafton street as 520 euro (jus reverse first two digits easy) must mention the LUAS line runs immediately outside the front door and is great for a run thru the city. so overall Good value and yes we will return.

Room Tip: get a room at the back as front ones can be noisey facing O Connell st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived at wynns with what turned out to be kidney stones at there painfully worst.didn't want to to be anywhere but home in bed.instead of the worst couple of days ahead of me I had a real Irish welcome .the comfortable bar sold the perfect guinness just the tonic with a mix of tourists also enjoying the surrounding .the bedroom was like home with the extra of a hydro bath to ease away my blues.the breakfast was better than I had enjoyed anywhere for years even my early departure back to John Lennon airport the next morning the night porter made a proper continental breakfast at 4 30am.if you want to be in right spot in dublin this has got be an affordable and pleasant hotel to settle down in .bill hislop ellesmere port.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I wanted to be near Trinity College. Wynn's is just north of the river and close to the big department stores and airport shuttle. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good, especially the Egg Benedictine!:) There was a heatwave on and most rooms did not have air conditioning. But they made up for it with a table fan after I raised the issue with reception.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A great hotel as long as you get a room at the back of the hotel, not one facing Lower Abbey Street. The night time and early morning (5.00am) street noise will wake you.
We stayed early August 2013 when the weather was pleasantly warm. There is no air conditioning so the room temperature was high and uncomfortable for sleeping.
On the positive side, the staff were great, the food excellent, the history of the building amazing. A very traditional Irish hotel with downsides.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Wynn's recently for the start and end of our backroads tour of Ireland, about 25 minutes from the Dublin airport. It is convenient and friendly. We enjoyed sitting in the bar, talking to the locals and having a Guiness. Wynn's is right across the river from the Trinity College neighborhood with lots of good bars and restaurants. We went from there to the GO WEST and GO NORTH tours with Inroads Ireland - really enjoyed it! Very small group in a nimble van with an excellent guide - we hit the back roads, mountain passes, secluded beaches and interesting sights others never visit. We stayed in small, unique hotels and enjoyed the pubs and local music. Our guide, Phil, was chock-full of information and went out of his way to be kind and helpful. Go with Inroads - you will love it!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with AC if it is a hot day (we were there during an unusual heat wave).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Well we went back again this summer and I'm happy to say Wynn's Hotel is as good as ever! Unfortunately it was just for a week this time :-(

The majority of the staff were the same and many of them remembered us from last year. Even the little things like where we'd been and the things we had done.

I'm not going to repeat the description of the rooms, service etc from last year.. because really it was all excellent as usually and you could not fault them for anything. What I am going to highlight though is the staff. Without exception every single member of staff we encountered during the week from the chamber maid to management were very friendly and attentive.

You are really made to feel at home in Wynns and I think it rubs of on the guests, sitting in the Saints and Scholars bar of an evening it was very easy to fall in to conversation with other guests and bar patrons on all kinds of topics from travel, to politics and football.

We'll definitely plan to be back for more next year.

Room Tip: Room 247 now has a double window, which almost blocks out all the sounds of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wynn's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.