We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wynn's Hotel to your Saves list
Wynn's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I hiked portions of the Kerry Way and then visited Dublin. The tour company, Go Visit Ireland, booked Wynn's for me, so I really don't know whether my room was good value or not. But the hotel staff were very pleasant, the dining room breakfasts quite posh, the bar full of elderly folks (like me) and fun to watch, the Guinness very good, and the location, well, perfect. You're just steps from O'Connell Street, close to the Liffey, and the Luas red line stops right in front of the hotel. I chatted with one guest whose room faced the street, and she barely got a minute of sleep because of the noise. I had a small but perfectly fine room (number 496) that opened to an interior light shaft, and I only heard gulls and an occasional siren. If this says anything, I'd stay at Wynn's again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    283
    74
    32
    18
See reviews for
95
219
115
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We got an excellent price for this hotel by booking online and paying in advance. Not only that, the quality of the room was excellent. Spacious bathroom with spa, fluffy huge towells and full bathroom toileteries. We were in the James Joyce room. Most of this historic hotel has been refurbished and the grand dining room is something to behold. There is also a comfortable bar serving food.
We had to leave early the next day, but a continental breakfast was ready for us at the time we requested. The hotel is well located north of the Liffey, close to where we dropped our hire car off and a convenient taxi drive to/from the ferry. You can walk to most attractions in the centre of Dublin. Would definitely stay there again. Great location and value.

Room Tip: We were towards the back and had a very quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is excellent. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and modern, and the location is perfect. Within walking distance to most Dublin attractions. I booked the bed and breakfast option and was glad I did. The irish breakfast was EXCELLENT!!! My room was adequate for 2 people sizewise, and the bed was great!! I will stay there again when I go to Dublin.

Room Tip: The south rooms are better as far as street noise goes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Wynn Hotel was the perfect hotel for 1 night in Dublin. We arrived at the hotel at 7am and miraculously they had a room for us. And the hotel receptionist was almost as excited about it as we were! The room was small, but the bed was comfortable, the wifi worked great, and the shower had great pressure. Breakfast the next day was delicious and, again, service was wonderful. We found the location to be very good. Even though it's on the "other" side of the LIffey, the bus stop from one of the airport buses stopped 10 feet away from our door, and it's a 5 minute walk to cross the Liffey. The bar downstairs in the hotel looked very welcoming, although we sadly didn't try a Guinness there. Would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban - South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is exactly where you want to be when staying in Dublin. Close to the O' Connell bridge from Temple Bar - Grafton Street for shopping and the Dublin Bus 747 stops right at the corner of Abbey street and where you can get the hop on hop off bus.
The service is fantastic and must compliment Roberta at reception for her assistance with everything. The breakfasts where the best I had in Ireland and would recommend The Wynn's if going to Dublin. I would not stay anywhere else.
thanks again - Jenny Mowat

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a very old fashioned hotel which attracts mostly elderly guests and tour groups. The location is very central, off lower O'Connell Street, a ten-minute walk to the city centre. There was a delay with the check-in and my room was not ready until 14:25h, almost 30 minutes later than the advertised check-in time of 14:00h. The double room for single use was rather tiny but cosy. The sink in the bathroom was too small to even brush one's teeth or clean one's face; it has two different taps for cold and hot water and it takes some time until water actually comes out. Important to know: no buffet breakfast is served; only cereals and yoghurt are available from the buffet; a choice of five hot breakfasts needs to be ordered at the table and is delivered by waters after a 15-30 minute wait. All options are high in calories and carbohydrates: no healthy breakfast options besides the yoghurt and cereal. Altogether, this was probably the most old fashioned hotel I have stayed in during he last ten years,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's right in the middle of the city so perfect for exploring the city. Roberta on the reception was excellent as was the doorman and the other staff in the dining room. It's a busy place but they were very attentive. My room was at the back so it was quite. I'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wynn's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.