We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good two-night base for quick Dublin visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wynn's Hotel to your Saves list
Wynn's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good two-night base for quick Dublin visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I flew from UK, and stayed here two nights for long-sought visit to the city and the Abbey Theatre, almost next door. My purpose was met more than adequately, with a clean and comfortable room (double at singles rate), and an excellent if rather noisy breakfast. Be warned that, like other hotels, they do not serve after-theatre meals. That situation is easily remedied by a short taxi-ride across the Liffey. O'Connell Street, with its large shops, is just around the corner

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    324
    84
    38
    19
See reviews for
123
262
123
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vannes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

i myself am staff in a hotel and i have to say that david, (bar staff), willie(night porter) and rory (agm) were absolutely fantastic and incredibly welcoming. were great to be around and would recomend to anyone going to dublin to stay in the hotel... if not for the night than just for the evening for those three lads... legends

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early December , the rooms are small but clean. At night I could hear noise coming from a party somewhere in the hotel but it was in the background and not loud enough to bother me but this might vary depending on your room location. The hotel is very well located a few minutes walk from the busy centre but what makes this hotel for me is the excellent and friendly service of all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
221 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Room whilst a little snug and sparce had comfy beds and pillows. Shower is a bit lame. Room and bathrooms all nicely clean.

Staff very good.

The lounges during the day were absolutely rammed with pensioners, is this an alternative day care for the elderly! The old fashioned oak paneling is also a bit of a turn off.

Breakfast was cooked to perfection, although I don't like the skinny sausages. I had fried eggs cooked perfectly and my friends poached eggs were also spot on.

However, this is where another "tradition" lets the place down. NO BAKED BEANS OR BROWN SAUCE, as "we don't so it." This I have come across before in establishments that consider themselves to be a cut above. Seems beans are a bit "common".

Lastly, they took £50 deposit per room on booking, AND the cancellation policy is about a week before you've booked, as long as you phone on the last Tuesday before the Popes birthday. (It's effectively 3 days, surely this place is not that in demand!)

I'll probably try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

had a lovely stay in this hotel, went to a concert in the 02 where the luas picked us up and droped us off right outside the hotel. The rates for a hotel in such a great location are fantastic too. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a wonderful room on the 5th floor which was only spoiled by the noise coming from the party downstairs and the street noise. To be totally fair we were told about the possibility of noise when we checked in, but I guess by then its too late to change your mind if you've booked and pre paid online. The restaurant staff at breakfast were overworked, and did not take time to listen to and check that they had correctly understood your order. Was surprised to see the waiter blew on the table cloth to remove the crumbs - hardly hygenic!
The location of the hotel was great, ideally situated for bus and tram.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors to reduce noise from the function rooms and street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a 19th century hotel which is frequented mainly by old people. The furniture and all the equipment suites the needs of this group. The atmosphere is really old fashioned, you can see the memorial tablet of the Officers Club and the Fire Brigade.
The staff is very nice, the breakfast was good. The elevator is beautifully renovated.
The single room looked a bit better on the photos than in the real world.
There can be noise in the lower floor rooms because of the LUAS tram and the large street nearby.

Room Tip: Choose a 4th floor room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
The Morgan
#33 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#47 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,477 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#74 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Gresham Hotel
#36 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#59 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wynn's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.