We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Hotel to your Saves list
Maple Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my mom for 5 nights in June. Apparently we were lucky with the location of our room, as it was really quiet during the night time.

The location is good as you can easily walk to the city centre. There was also a Tesco store really near if you want to buy some snack food. If you are really sensitive to smoke smell this place might not be for you as there is a pub inside the hotel where people can smoke. However, the smell didn't reach our room at all and to be honest it didn't bother us that much when we were passing through the halls and the reception area.

The staff was really helpful and we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel reception when we checked out as we had an evening flight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    98
    83
    44
    48
See reviews for
35
101
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Maple hotel is a budget hotel just a few minutes walk from Busaras. Rooms are small and clean. Try and get a room facing aay from Lower Gardiner st, as it can be fairly noisy at night. Breakfast is provided if you book direct with the hotel or €7.50 (you get cereal, a small 'Irish fry', toast, OJ and tea/coffee) for your money.

Staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel has plenty of information about attractions. They also let you leave luggage during the day. Would stay there again

Room Tip: Away from main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostwald, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

the worst hotel of my life. the room was dirty, spots on the carpet and the beds. noise of pipe who wake you up every night. Forget the "pub" adjacent the hotel, irish coffee was disgusting, and the barman smokes in the pub (we saw him).
The breakfast: the Irish it's just passable, and the continental you have no choice, no bread, no croissant.
Don't go in this hotel if you can. the price was too expensive for the proposed services.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Maple Hotel gives you everything you need. The rooms have a genuinely nice feel to them, and are very presentable, cleanly and spacious. For a very good price you find yourself 5 minutes walk from Temple Bar and O'Connell Street and around 15 from any main attraction such as the castle, the cathedral and the Millennium Bridge. The hotel is a stones throw from Lower Gardiner Street bus stop (be it a tour bus or a standard city bus) and is around 15 minutes walk to Tara Street train station and appropriate tram stops. With friendly staff, nice rooms and a location that cannot be bettered for the price I was very happy with my stay at the Maple Hotel. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly. The location is perfect (only a few minutes walk from the main street). There are staff available at all times and a small bar inside the hotel. The room was large and clean and was very welcoming. This hotel is not expensive and I would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Dublin city centre

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Our one-night stay here was nice and uneventful.
The private room was cheap and alright for our needs but I think it was cheaper than normal because it was located right next to a high traffic area used to access other rooms in the hotel.
There is a pub, I think, on the premises but we didn't go to it.
Would stay here again for the price and location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went over to see NKOTB on the 25th of May & struggled to find somewhere who hadn't shot their prices up due to the One Directions concerts so when we came across The Maple we were impressed they hadn't followed suit with the rest of the hotels in the city.

Easy enough to find and in a great location a few minutes from O'Connell street, the staff we're helpful even before we arrived in regards to a few emails sent back and forth and we're great upon arrival helping us to organise a taxi to our concert & at the end of our stay allowing us to keep our cases in the hotel so we could walk around the city without them.

Rooms were relatively modern and they were kept clean and tidy and towels were changed daily and having free wifi in the rooms were fantastic.

However, the hotel had an awful smell of smoke throughout and there was nothing that could get rid of the smell, considering all the rooms were non-smoking this smell had clearly stuck into the walls and carpets of the stairways and halls. The smell was extremely off putting and made you feel like you smelled of it all day.

Also, for a double bed we were given 3 pillows which just made no logical sense to anyone, another pillow would have been nice.

We will not be returning to this hotel simply because of the awful smell throughout the hotel, I would much rather pay an extra 100euro than stay in a place that smelled the way that did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hotel

Address: 75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Hotel & Guesthouse in Dublin City is centrally located in the heart of the City on Gardiner Street, within an easy 5 minute walk from either Connolly train Station in Dublin or Bus Aras (central bus station) and only 10 minutes drive from Dublin Airport on the 'Airlink' bus service. Dublin's famous Temple Bar area and Trinity College are also within walking distance from this beautiful Dublin city centre hotel. O'Connell Street and Grafton Street all within a 5/10 minute walk. The Maple Hotel Dublin is a Bord-Failte approved Guesthouse located in the Dublin City centre with 39 well appointed en-suite bedrooms.•5 minute walk from Connolly Station•5 Minutes from Bus Aras (central bus station)•30 Minutes from Dublin Airport•5 /10 Minutes from Grafton Street & O'Connell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Maple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.