We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my god” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Hotel to your Saves list
Maple Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 / 75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Ostwald, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh my god”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

the worst hotel of my life. the room was dirty, spots on the carpet and the beds. noise of pipe who wake you up every night. Forget the "pub" adjacent the hotel, irish coffee was disgusting, and the barman smokes in the pub (we saw him).
The breakfast: the Irish it's just passable, and the continental you have no choice, no bread, no croissant.
Don't go in this hotel if you can. the price was too expensive for the proposed services.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calamar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Maple Hotel gives you everything you need. The rooms have a genuinely nice feel to them, and are very presentable, cleanly and spacious. For a very good price you find yourself 5 minutes walk from Temple Bar and O'Connell Street and around 15 from any main attraction such as the castle, the cathedral and the Millennium Bridge. The hotel is a stones throw from Lower Gardiner Street bus stop (be it a tour bus or a standard city bus) and is around 15 minutes walk to Tara Street train station and appropriate tram stops. With friendly staff, nice rooms and a location that cannot be bettered for the price I was very happy with my stay at the Maple Hotel. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly. The location is perfect (only a few minutes walk from the main street). There are staff available at all times and a small bar inside the hotel. The room was large and clean and was very welcoming. This hotel is not expensive and I would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Dublin city centre

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordan_b92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Our one-night stay here was nice and uneventful.
The private room was cheap and alright for our needs but I think it was cheaper than normal because it was located right next to a high traffic area used to access other rooms in the hotel.
There is a pub, I think, on the premises but we didn't go to it.
Would stay here again for the price and location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Myles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went over to see NKOTB on the 25th of May & struggled to find somewhere who hadn't shot their prices up due to the One Directions concerts so when we came across The Maple we were impressed they hadn't followed suit with the rest of the hotels in the city.

Easy enough to find and in a great location a few minutes from O'Connell street, the staff we're helpful even before we arrived in regards to a few emails sent back and forth and we're great upon arrival helping us to organise a taxi to our concert & at the end of our stay allowing us to keep our cases in the hotel so we could walk around the city without them.

Rooms were relatively modern and they were kept clean and tidy and towels were changed daily and having free wifi in the rooms were fantastic.

However, the hotel had an awful smell of smoke throughout and there was nothing that could get rid of the smell, considering all the rooms were non-smoking this smell had clearly stuck into the walls and carpets of the stairways and halls. The smell was extremely off putting and made you feel like you smelled of it all day.

Also, for a double bed we were given 3 pillows which just made no logical sense to anyone, another pillow would have been nice.

We will not be returning to this hotel simply because of the awful smell throughout the hotel, I would much rather pay an extra 100euro than stay in a place that smelled the way that did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauni822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our trip to dublin was to see WWE in the 02 on the 22 of may. We wanted to stay till Saturday and due to the one direction concerts almost all other hotels had bumped up their prices in a crazy manner to the Friday night.

We ended up finding the maple hotel and got a great deal which included a voucher for dinner in a restaurant in Temple Bar and a voucher for two irish coffees at the bar.

It is an old building but the room was clean with plenty of tea/coffee available in the room.

We stayed in a family room and everybody slept very well, the beds are very comfortable although maybe a few extra pillows would be nice!!!

Staff were all very friendly and efficient, the staff in the breakfast room were as good as any five star!!

This is two star accommodation, and it suited us perfectly.

One tip for the bar - If somebody orders tea, please serve in a mug!!!! My partner is tee total and it was the first time ever we served a mug of tea in a glass!!!!!!


We would stay here again as location suited us as a base for the touristy stuff perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdie086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel was perfect for what we as a group needed it for. Although not the most stylish and modern hotel, it was clean, comfortable and had all the amenities one could wish for when on a city break with friends. Extremely close (5 minute walk) to the city centre - O'connel Street, which was great for getting the tour buses from, and using the spire as a point of reference.

Four of us shared a triple room at the back of the property. Although it's situated above a pub, we heard nothing during the night and slept very well. The beds were comfy, but a small downside was that there was a slight lack of good pillows on offer. We were purely using the room to sleep and wash in, and it suited our needs very well.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They let us leave our luggage when we arrived at 8am, long before check-in, and again when we checked out at 11, but weren't flying until 5.

If you want 5 star treatment and amenities, then this isn't the hotel for you, but if you're looking for a very reasonably priced place to just lay your head at the end of the day, then this is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Pico1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin City Inn
Dublin City Inn
#100 of 171 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#101 of 171 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
North City Centre
Hazelbrook House
Hazelbrook House
#137 of 171 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#110 of 171 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#85 of 171 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#112 of 171 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hotel

Address: 74 / 75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Hotel & Guesthouse in Dublin City is centrally located in the heart of the City on Gardiner Street, within an easy 5 minute walk from either Connolly train Station in Dublin or Bus Aras (central bus station) and only 10 minutes drive from Dublin Airport on the 'Airlink' bus service. Dublin's famous Temple Bar area and Trinity College are also within walking distance from this beautiful Dublin city centre hotel. O'Connell Street and Grafton Street all within a 5/10 minute walk. The Maple Hotel Dublin is a Bord-Failte approved Guesthouse located in the Dublin City centre with 39 well appointed en-suite bedrooms.•5 minute walk from Connolly Station•5 Minutes from Bus Aras (central bus station)•30 Minutes from Dublin Airport•5 /10 Minutes from Grafton Street & O'Connell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Maple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing