We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low price, good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Hotel to your Saves list
Maple Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Oslo
1 review
“Low price, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The service was mostly nice. Daily cleaning.
The room was a bit too small, and you could hear loud squirking from stairs and walking upstairs. Location was ok, not too far from city centre and temple bar. 5-10 minutes walk i guess.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Olav

Thank you for your review, as you have stated, we are central, a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, yet we are 30% cheaper than similar accommodation in Temple Bar.

We are central, value for money and we offer clean comfortable accommodation, we look forward to your next stay and please always BOOK DIRECT to enjoy the best offers, as you know we are right in the heart of Dublin, we offer budget accommodation and are only a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, Croke Park, O2 and so much more.

Please Like us on Facebook where our Free Draw offers you an opportunity to shop till you drop €500 spending money, Free Family Room and Free Full Irish Breakfast.

Regards, Management and Staff, the Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    98
    83
    44
    48
See reviews for
35
101
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Maple Hotel. Really easy to find, just north of O'Connell Street. Really cheap at 30 euro a night per person. Loads of little shops nearby, not too far to walk to everything. We stayed in a double room facing the street. The room itself was very clean and tidy, our towels and bedding was changed every day, had no bother from surrounding rooms.

My only complaints were that the noise from the street was particularly loud and sounded like traffic was coming through the room (though I just bought earplugs and that solved the problem) wasn't too bad at night but woke me up around 7am. Also, you have to leave your room key at reception when you leave the building. I understand this is for security but to get it back, all you have to do is ask for it with no identification and one day, we were given the wrong key.

What made the trip for me, was the little pub beneath the hotel (couldn't hear any noise from the room at all, so don't worry) Mossy, the manager of the pub was absolutely brilliant and personally, made our visit to Dublin worthwhile, really friendly bloke. Advised us where was good to go, let us know when bands were playing, fetched us drinks all night, took our photo's, the job lot.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for a short stay, great value for money.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room towards the back of the hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Jessdrury

It was fantastic having you stay with us at The Maple, we really look forward to your next visit, please make sure to LIKE our FREE Draw on Facebook.

We are central, value for money and we offer clean comfortable accommodation, we look forward to your next stay and please always BOOK DIRECT to enjoy the best offers, as you know we are right in the heart of Dublin, we offer budget accommodation and are only a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, Croke Park, O2 and so much more.

Please Like us on Facebook where our Free Draw offers you an opportunity to shop till you drop €500 spending money, Free Family Room and Free Full Irish Breakfast.

Regards, Management and Staff, the Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was travelling alone from the UK and needed one night's stay in central Dublin ahead of the Marathon on 28th October.

The Maple was within easy walking distance from the city centre and, considering how close it was, was located on a relatively quiet main street (albeit it was a Sunday evening when I arrived).

I had a twin room with en-suite toilet and shower. Yes, it was basic, but what did I expect for Eur42? What I didn't expect was how clean the room was, as was the en-suite. There were towels, soap and shower gel. The main room had a small and basic tv but it was fine. There was also a kettle and tea/coffee ready for the morning. The room was more than adequate for my needs. The room overlooked the main raod and with single glazing there was the inevitable traffic noise, but nothing worse than I'd experienced before. Ear plugs are always the answer to that little problem and I was prepared!

Next door and also further but only a couple of minutes' walk away are some great restaurants. There's also a Tesco express round the corner.

All in all I had everything I needed at a very affordable price to give me the comfortable night I needed. The next day I checked out at 7am and made my way to the start of the Marathon. the third time I've run Dublin and I got a new personal best time!

I would definitely revisit the Maple and would recommend this to anyone in search of clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi David

We are central, value for money and we offer clean comfortable accommodation, we look forward to your next stay and please always BOOK DIRECT to enjoy the best offers, as you know we are right in the heart of Dublin, we offer budget accommodation and are only a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, Croke Park, O2 and so much more.

Please Like us on Facebook where our Free Draw offers you an opportunity to shop till you drop €500 spending money, Free Family Room and Free Full Irish Breakfast.

Regards, Management and Staff, the Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the Maple with friends, We had a family room which slept five and was spacious and spotless clean, it is an old building which is not unusual in Dublin city Centre and the location is perfect for shopping etc. We got the Hotel at a great price for a two night stay and found all Staff very pleasant. The only fault I would find with the Hotel was the amount of stairs as we were on the top floor and there was no lift but for the price we paid cannot complain, would stay again.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Deirdre B

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Maple, we look forward to your next stay and please always BOOK DIRECT to enjoy the best offers, as you know we are right in the heart of Dublin, we offer budget accommodation and are only a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, Croke Park, O2 and so much more.

Please Like us on Facebook where our Free Draw offers you an opportunity to shop till you drop €500 spending money, Free Family Room and Free Full Irish Breakfast.

Regards, Management and Staff, the Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Town, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nothing fancy but The Maple Hotel is in a great location, only a short walk to O'Connell steet - perfect for if you are doing some sightseeing.
Breakfast is fine, I had toast and yoghurt but you could have a full Irish breakfast.
Overall the hotel is a little tired and needs a re vamp but it is value for money as other places in Dublin are more on the exy side.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi EC4

Thank you for your kind words, as you know we are right in the heart of Dublin, we offer budget accommodation and are only a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, Croke Park, O2 and so much more.

Please Like us on Facebook where our Free Draw offers you an opportunity to shop till you drop €500 spending money, Free Family Room and Free Full Irish Breakfast. Christmas Part Packages at BA Temple Bar.

Regards, Management and Staff, the Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked at Maple hotel two nights in September 2013.
We chose this hotel because of the position near the city centre (O'Connell street is just behind there) and because the price was a good deal for two nights in Dublin, at least because I saw nice photos on the internet about this hotel.

The building is a very old one, with wooden floors, moquette and no lift. It's situated in a very well-travelled street so get ready to hear noises at night and ambulances going up and down. Same as people talking out laud in the street, because the hotel is situated on a pub.

We had "luck" because the room wasn't in the ground floor but in the first floor (I read on internet that the rooms in the groudfloor were worser but I can't confirm that) but the room itself was TOO small even for two people.
We had three luggages and we couldn't open them all three at a time because there wasn't enough space.
There was no space between the window and one side of the bed and on the other side there was a very narrow space between the bed and the bathroom's door. The bathroom wasn't new either but it had no problems and the towels were clean. There's just one wall socket in the room which made a bit difficult charching the phones at the same time, but it wasn't a big problem.
The room wasn't dirty but it wasn't perfectly cleaned either.
We didn't book the breakfast so I can't say how it was.

Besides these things, the staff was nice, even in giving informations about the town and the buses. I've asked for an hairdrier and they give it to me with no problems.
Also, they were very nice to keep our luggages for some hours at the reception the last day after our check-out.

To conclude, I probably wouldn't re-book there because I am sure I'd find something better in Dublin, but after all, if you only use the hotel to shower and to sleep it could be ok for just one or at least two nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Mevola

Thank you for offering an opinion piece on the Maple Hotel Dublin City Centre. We offer budget city centre accommodation, we have a traditional Irish Bar, this is all set out clearly on our website. Dublin is one of Europe’s Capital Cities with 2 Million inhabitants, like all major cities it is busy and sometimes an ambulance or police car can be heard as they go about their business. Our location means that we are central, we are 5 minutes from O’Connell Street and 10 Minutes from Temple Bar, yet our room prices are at least 25% less than similar rooms offered in those locations. We offer a FREE Full Irish Breakfast when you BOOK DIRECT on Our website, and we have discount vouchers for most major attractions at reception.

At the Maple Hotel we do our very best to offer good value budget accommodation to all our guests, we hope that you will stay with us again and until then we wish you safe travelling.
Please like us on Facebook where we have great FREE Draws and Special Offers.

Regards, The Management and Staff, The Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are also one of those people who were fooled by the website. This place is nothing like it appears. We "took advantage" of the so-called "deal" by booking our room directly through their website. Some deal...138 Euros per night! WHAT THE??? We feel silly and cheated by this hotel. The toilet wouldn't flush so we used the lobby toilet most of the time (3 floors down). The shower drain was so plugged, a 3 minute shower was the max before it filled up and flowed over onto the bathroom floor. The bar had a so called "non smoking" section but the entire bar, lobby and first floor smelled of cigarette smoke. Disgusting. Small rooms. Noisy at all hours. Way over priced for a 2-Star hotel. Highly NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Lorie1221

We are sorry that your visit to the Maple Hotel did not meet with your expectations, we endeavour at all times to ensure that our guests enjoy their experience in the Maple Hotel and Dublin also. We have a rolling programme of refurbishment in place and as you will appreciate this takes a good deal of time. We do hope that any of the issues you encountered on this visit will be well and truly expelled by the time you return to Dublin, and we do hope that you will give us another chance to enjoy your stay in Dublin. Until we meet again, happy and safe travelling.

Regards
Management and Staff, The Maple Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hotel

Address: 75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Hotel & Guesthouse in Dublin City is centrally located in the heart of the City on Gardiner Street, within an easy 5 minute walk from either Connolly train Station in Dublin or Bus Aras (central bus station) and only 10 minutes drive from Dublin Airport on the 'Airlink' bus service. Dublin's famous Temple Bar area and Trinity College are also within walking distance from this beautiful Dublin city centre hotel. O'Connell Street and Grafton Street all within a 5/10 minute walk. The Maple Hotel Dublin is a Bord-Failte approved Guesthouse located in the Dublin City centre with 39 well appointed en-suite bedrooms.•5 minute walk from Connolly Station•5 Minutes from Bus Aras (central bus station)•30 Minutes from Dublin Airport•5 /10 Minutes from Grafton Street & O'Connell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Maple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.