We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK..but definitely not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK..but definitely not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

As with everything..the pictures looked a lot nicer on their web site and even on here. I will admit that I am extremely picky about cleaniness. We checked in and the street was right off the busy O'Connell street. We didn't hear any noise in our hotel though. The lobby is ok..but who cares about the lobby anyway. The check-in was early so we settled for an early check in to a smoking room. The hotel room was just ok in terms of cleaniness. The curtains and carpet had white stains all over the right side of the room. Quite gross. I didn't notice it until we came back to the room late that night. The bathroom was clean but there is only cheap hand soap & cheap shampoo/body wash combo in public bathroom type dispenser. The soap literally made our hands like sandpaper. Bring your own. The front desk is efficient if there is no crowds, really nice one on one service but during checkout I got really frustrated that they were allowing anyone to cut the lines and just helping whoever would be rude enough to walk right up while the rest of us waited..and waited. It was $67 so I guess I got what I paid for. Definitely a budget type hotel..not a luxurious hotel. Wouldn't stay again in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    1,293
    412
    97
    38
See reviews for
479
1,254
210
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Great hotel nice facilities,customer service was very good,the rooms are to a high standard,and smoking rooms are available,and a breakfast to die for.Just turn right and then take a left and your on Oconnell street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

The staff at this hotel was extremely nice during our stay; answered any questions we had. The hotel is very clean and nice. The location is great because it is right off o'connel street but in on a much quieter neighbourhood. So you are within walking distance to everything and you always can have peace and quiet at night. Also another great thing I loved was the hop on hop off bus was right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We were put into 206 the first night, check in was a breeze and it was a good location. We had to park around the corner, but it was only for 1 night. The room could not have been any smaller, it was a double bed and if there was a foot on either side I was amazed. The tv was on the wall on the left side of the bed, not sure how we were suppose to watch it since it was a flat screen. You could only pivot in the bathroom...it was clean enough and it was the size of an RV bathroom. We had been on an 18 day holiday and had picked up souveniers along the way and had 6 pieces of luggage, we had no place to put them. I tripped over them constantly. Out the window was the view of the two beer gardens. The people did not stop partying til 2:30am... we complained the first night and were told that there was no upgrade as they were full, but the next two nights we could have an upgrade., We were put into 214. I was a bit leary as to the size difference as we were on the same floor. same hallway or so i thought. We went to the end and took a right and the room was no long on the courtyard of the beer gardens but the front of the building. The room size was enormous...and we even had a couch, it was easier to see the tv and more than enough room for the luggage and a regular size bathroom with ammenities and toiletries, unlike the first room. The BW Academy was perfectly located. The only other place I would have wanted to stay was in the older section of Dublin over Trinity. The tour buses were easily accessible to the BW as was the bus to the airport. We had a snack in the hotel, but other than that we never made it to breakfast or dinner ...we always ate out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I loved this hotel! The room wasn't very spacious, but that's pretty normal. The location was excellent. Right across the street from a bus station and the hop on/hop off bus tour which is great for taking it to different spots in Dublin. You also have a lot of things right in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel is a half block from the AirCoach drop off point, as well as the Ho-Ho Bus stop which gives you great access to the airport and the city. The area is very safe and there is a bar next door if you'd like to get a drink at night. The rooms are a great size and have TV, free Wi-Fi, and sound proof windows. We arrived a bit early and they let us store our luggage in a locked room while we went out. There are plenty of shops/restaurants nearby, but it's also an easy 1km walk to Temple Bar area. The breakfast is not included in the price of the room. We ate elsewhere so I cannot comment on the quality/value of that. If we go to Dublin again, we would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

To summarise - a good price and location, but maybe my expection was a bit too high.
Hotel location was really good for ease of getting to by Aircoach from the airport, literally just around the corner from drop-off point. (Also not too far to walk into the centre of things - about 10 mins). It looks much better inside than the appearance outside suggests. The price we paid for the room was good at £56 for one night. We liked the fact that you had to use your room card to get into lift on ground floor, a good security point. The room was nicely furnished and decorated, spotlessly clean - bathroom especially. Downsides were that the room was really small - even my husband commented on that point - he wouldn't normally! My disappointment was that arrivng after 2.30pm check-in time they told us our room wasn't ready, we'd arrived early in the morning and been walking around all that time and as such needed a rest by 3pm! They did chase it up and we didn't have to wait very long but it was a first impression and I felt let down. It was suggested that we should have tried to check-in as we'd arrived in the morning as it was 'first come first served'. I wish we had done. I didn't rate the quality of sleep very high, as we were woken at one-ish in the morning by what sounded like industrial bin collectors - although I appreciate that is not something the hotel has any control over. We were recommended this hotel by a friend, and I'd checked out reviews here on TA (maybe why I was expecting more) and whilst it was good for the price, I would probably consider other places next time (we loved Dublin, it was our first visit and hope to return again), would I stay here again - not sure, would I recommend to others - yes I would, if it fitted what they were looking for. Can't comment on food as we didn't use restaurant/b'fast facilities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#57 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gresham Hotel
Gresham Hotel
#37 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#42 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#72 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. This Best Western hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.