We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #59 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Kenmare, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at the Academy Plaza for my annual pre-Christmas treat (i.e. weekend in Dublin), and although it was my first time at this hotel, it won't be my last - as long as I'll be able to secure a good deal again online.
Unfortunately, the single room I had been allocated was entirely unacceptable, but reception staff very decently upgraded me to a double room which was very nice. I believe the Academy Plaza is a 3 star hotel, but is en par with many 4 star hotels I have stayed at. Yes, the double room was on the small side but, let's face it, how much time are you going to spend in your room when in a city like Dublin? Despite the surprisingly clashing mix of fabric patterns used in the room, it had a contemporary decor and all mod cons, including free (slowish) WiFi, individually controllable hot/cold aircon, notebook-sized safe, ironing board etc. I can't imagine anyone wanting more from a hotel room.
Reception staff was helpful; the room attendant (room spotlessly clean) cheerfully obliging.
The hotel's location is excellent, just off O'Connell Street; the city centre can easily be explored on foot from here, and the main shopping streets are also within easy walking distance. For me, this was a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    1,091
    341
    86
    29
See reviews for
400
1,034
181
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dingle, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just back from a most enjoyable three night stay in the Academy everything about this hotel the staff food rooms was top class and its right in the centre of Dublin city only minutes walk away from the main shopping areas and the many historic attractions in the city looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire,UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lots of things wrong
1. Smallest double room ive been in my life, you could only just walk around the bed.
2. Room wasnt cleaned on 2nd day, so no clean towels etc. when I mentioned this to reception they said they will look into it.
3.Air con didnt work, room was freezing, called someone up and he said he will report it, well heard nothing (eventually it did work!)
4. breakfast staff, one foreign woman was very rude, stated that i hadnt paid (when I had), she called another member of staff over and he found that everything was in order (no apology from the woman), and finally when I was checking out she pushed me aside as she neede change for something.
I have stayed here before, but I doubt I will again.
Only good point is the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just back from an overnight stay and could not fault this hotel in any way, staff were friendly and helpful, room was fantastic and spotless clean and food in Bistro was excellent, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights nothing bad at all to say about it..staff were very helpful and friendly rooms clean would definitely stay here again..everything within walking distance :) if you are visiting dublin i would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day/2 night National Holidays break in Dublin and stayed at the Acadamy Plaza on a Bed and Breakfast basis. The location of the hotel cannnot be faulted, it being 20 yards off O'Connell Street in the city centre and very close to all the attractions of Dublin. The hotel is very modern and clean. The room we had [232] was at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor and was serviced daily by very friendly staff. The breakfast was traditional cooked, continental or toast and cereal buffet service all of which was very good. The bar was very reasonably priced with Guinness at 4.50 euros a pint. We had evening meals out both days and there are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. All the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly and we will use this hotel as our base for future trips to this lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location of the Hotel is perfect. Is close to all the tourist attractions in Dublin. In fact we did not buy any bus ticket, due to the location.
The rooms are a bit small, but did not bothered us at all.
We traveled as a group, and everybody was happy with the received room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. This Best Western hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.