We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic hotel, in a great location : )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Tipperary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic hotel, in a great location : )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

beautiful hotel beside heuston station easy to find nd only 50m from the luas. Booked in a superior king room nd it was massive really clean just lovely. Asked for quiet room nd got it it was one of the nicest rooms i have stayed in. the parking is very reasonable. Ate in the restaurant would'nt recommend it food was not nice its a pity cos its a fabulous hotel. great hotel for a days shopping in dublin. cant say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    844
    210
    56
    28
See reviews for
418
906
103
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here because it's right across the street from Heuston Station and we didn't want to have to pay for yet another expensive taxi ride. We were glad we chose the Ashling Hotel. It's in a slightly out-of-the-way part of Dublin but at the same time makes the rest of Dublin very accessible; it's right on the Luas red line. It's also within very easy walking distance of Phoenix Park. The restaurants on the same street as the hotel are great, especially Juno's Cafe, and it was very nice to be so close to a convenience store and a car rental place.

The hotel itself is fine, nothing very special. I found the heated towel racks completely unnecessary and wasteful. Also, I stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions and found that the showers in both rooms sprayed all over the floor, which was really annoying. Housekeeping seemed to be about constantly, long into the evening, which I found a little strange, but the staff were very nice. The front desk service was a little curt but not too bad. My only real complaint about them was when I came back from dinner one night and asked to extend my stay. The lady changed some things in the computer and said it was fine. The next day we found our key cards didn't work anymore because the lady at the desk hadn't changed them to match our extended stay, nor had she informed us that we'd need to have them changed. That's just pretty poor service. Overall, though, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

very conveient location and very comfortable, our room was noisey due to aircon

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

stayed at the Ashling (no longer a Best Western) for a long weekend at the end of Jan.
Was a cheap internet deal (just £134 for us both for 3 nights breakfast included) so really didn't expect much.what a surprise, very smart hotel with nice décor and the rooms were large and spotless, if anything just lacked a little atmosphere but then maybe i shouldn't have been so tight and should of upgraded to a superior for 60 Euro
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of everything and service was superb, in fact all staff at the hotel were very good!
The location of the hotel was perfect, we got the 748 bus from the airport to Heuston station (about a 30 minute journey) and from there the hotel was just a few hundred yards. from the hotel the tram stops were again just a stones through away which took you straight into the city in a matter of minutes, perfect!
I would definitely use this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.
In all this hotel is of excellent value for money, clean, tidy and run by polite and efficient staff and set in a perfect location for all of Dublin's attractions

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We arrived in dublin on an early flight and got the airlink bus from the airport to hueston train station which is accross the road from the hotel which is excellent. I have stayed in The Ashling hotel on numerous occasions, and I brought my boyfriend here for his birthday in January. On arrival at the hotel we were greated by a lovely smiling receptionist. She got us to register and stated that we had booked a standard room which at the moment was not yet available. The receptionist then stated that for an extra €20 per night room only or €30 including the full breakfast we could upgrade and she would give us a superior deluxe king room which was available. This was fantastic for us so we took the upgrade for €30pn including the breakfast as breakfast would cost €12pp anyway. The receptionist gave us a fantastic room which over looked the city which made our stay brilliant and we were only in dublin an hour. After dropping our bags and getting ready to see dublin we called by reception to talk to the receptionist to thank her and to get her name which was Niamh. She showed us on the map a few places for me to take my partner as he was never in dublin before. We went about our day and did some of the sites and alot of shopping. Went back to the hotel to relax for the evening and have a bite to eat and a drink. We had some food in the Iveagh bar which was lovely and had a chat with the nice bar staff. Bed early as we wanted to get up for breakfast early. Next morning up at 8 and down for the breakfast which we were all ready for. Service in the restaurant was brilliant and susie that greated us was lovely. Explored dublin more that day and out on the town at night. Found temple bar to be expensive but good fun. On check-out we were delighted to see that Niamh was working again and she checked us and even stored our bags for us when we wanted to wait for our taxi to the airport. I think the hotel is very relaxing and the service and attention to detail second to none. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone excellent hotel lovely food and lovely staff especially Niamh. Congrats keep up the good work. We will be back for definate. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

the hotel was very convenient only 2mins walk form the station, you can actually see it from the entrance of station (heuston train station)! so that made it very handy for us as we could get rid of our luggage straight after our 3hour train journey. we arrived early than check in time however as our room was ready we were allowed check in. we were checked in by a friendly reception staff. and then got the luas (which was 2 mins walk down the street) into city centre for some shopping. we returned and had dinner about 5pm it was tasty and not overly priced for Dublin at evening time.
i had ordered a family/quad room as i was traveling with another person and i needed to have separate rooms for privacy but joint rooms so that i could keep an eye on if they needed any help.
the family double room was nice and modern with a double and single bed, with tea making, safe, facilities etc the other family room had 3 single beds and was a good size. the only fault i could find with the double room was that the dresser had a few stains on it from heat/wear and tear etc (however it was clean). we went up to see a show at the gaiety and a taxi form the hotel to the gaiety cost less than €10.
we were going to get the early train i the morning and we were told breakfast is opened from 5.45 which is perfect your getting an early flight or train. we decided we'd get a later train and have a asleep in instead! we had the breakfast in the morning a lovely fry and fruit and yogurt, the staff in all areas of the hotel were polite and friendly very consistent (i haven't been in a hotel before this were every single member of staff is this helpful).
i would definitely recommend this hotel again to family/ friends. the main good points for me about this hotel was that it was in easy reach of transport and the staff were very nice. ********

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed over night shame it wasn't longer. Service & food brilliant shame there wernt many Irish staff, needs more. Rooms clean and pleasant, bathrooms are functional but could do with a revamp.

Brilliant location on edge of city so quiet but tram system clean & very efficant runs outside the hotel.

Overall a lovely stay

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restauratn, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.