We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Dublin's gems located opposite Heuston train station.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of Dublin's gems located opposite Heuston train station.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

This is my second visit to the Best Western Ashling Hotel situated at Parkgate, Dublin 8, Ireland.
I stayed for three nights before Christmas and this hotel was a very cosy base during my stay in Dublin. It is a very elegant and well managed hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are spacious,clean,comfortable and nicely decorated. On arrival I was given Room 421, the view was nothing to get excited about but the room itself was very nice with a flat screen TV, comfortable bed and tea/coffee making facilities which I really value while staying in any hotel.
I was due to fly back to London on Saturday afternoon with Aer Lingus but due to heavy snow in the South East of England I had to re-book in to the Ashling Hotel for an extra night. I was advised that my room type was no longer available and the receptionist wearing a nice smile gave me the keys to room 554. I could not believe my luck as I discovered Room 554 is an Executive Room overlooking Dublin's mainline Heuston station. The views were amazing and the room was equally amazing! This room had a much posher feel to it. Beautifully decorated and furnished. The en suite bathroom was very nice indeed having a rain shower and a built in hair dryer next to the sink.
This beautiful hotel puts a lot of effort in to it's buffet breakfasts and is well worth a visit during your stay. Service is friendly and efficient. Food is of high quality and the porridge is a great option especially if you end up staying here during arctic weather!
I thoroughly recommend the Best Western Ashling Hotel which offers a home from home ambience and is well situated being so near to Heuston station and the city centre is only five minutes away on the Luas light rail system.
Room 554 is well worth checking in to for all the above reasons!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    1,030
    250
    64
    33
See reviews for
513
1,185
120
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We have a reservation with the Best Western Ashling for May 2011. We received notice from Best Western advising that effective 1/1/2011 the Ashling will no longer be connected with Best Western. Does anyone know what is happening? Will this help or hurt the Ashling? Are our reservations still valid? I have sent emails to the Ashling twice and have received no response.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingLynsey, Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Many thanks for your comments, we have been in touch with you regarding your stay in May and all is confirmed, we look forward to welcoming you to the Ashling Hotel and wish you an enjoyable stay. Kind Regards.
As of the 31st December 2010, the Ashling Hotel is no longer part of the Best Western International chain, but is trading as an Independent Irish Hotel, under the name Ashling Hotel Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I stayed here for just 2 nights but had a lovely stay. Its in a great location to the Luas stop. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only one thing that I could fault was the air con in the rooms can't beat a bit of natural fresh air no windows could be open in my room..that's coming from a country girl!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Good location in the city centre.
Great restaurant and great food indeed.

Very convenient to see the sights and access the shopping district of Dublin.
Parking space for the car. Easy access to tram-lines and bus-lines to get around inside the city. Large, well appointed rooms. Excellent en suite facilities.
Good restaurant and best of all - walking distance from the Guinness Brewery - perfect to do the Brewery Tour!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed as part of group of 46 for 3 nights.
Breakfast included and was very good.
Lucas Tram very convienent for city centre.
Two pubs 100 yards to right of hotel entrance served very good food at reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed in March 2010 for a special birthday and were given one of the older rooms at the back of the hotel. However, I loved this room as I felt there was much more privacy and less noise than other rooms at the front of the hotel. On noticing that we had been given a family room which was not needed the receptionist upgraded us to a larger room just for the two of us The breakfast at the hotel was amazing and offered so much choice, the staff were also efficient and helpful. The hotel was very well placed to explore Dublin I recommend a trip to the Guiness factory. It was defiantly worth the money and made the birthday extra special.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

The Ashling is located very close to train station, bus stops & LUAS stops. Food is good and the menu has a good selection. Lite meals in the Pub are also very good. The Pub staff is great. The front desk staff could use some work, " not the sharpest tools in the shed" As they try to be helpful I found that if you did not see it happen don't count on them to make it happen. This is a great location for a holiday as it is not too far out of the center center and located with in walking distance from the Zoo and Phoenix Park.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#4 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,988 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury Hotel
The Westbury Hotel
#5 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,588 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#9 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#18 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#26 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.