We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid free weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Blackpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kid free weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

Stayed here for a weekend away without kids!!!! Dublin is a very cosmopolitan city, extremely busy and expensive!! Ashling Hotel is out of the main shopping/bar areas but that didn't bother us as it is very well placed for buses, airportlink, trains, trams and the city tour bus. Dublin's transport system is very good and you never wait long for a bus/tram. City tour is well worth doing only 14 euros per adult and ticket last 24 hours and you hop and off as many times as you like. The tour guides are very funny and make it most entertaining. The hotel was fine for a short break, bed was hugh, room spacious and clean and housekeeping no problem as clean towels, more toiletries, coffee, tea etc left each day. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Guiness lounge has a nice atmosphere, Cobblestone Bistro food was gorgeous but there is no atmosphere, no background music playing etc. We went to the local pub "Ryans" up the road, very welcoming and friendly. Shops are pretty much the same as in any city and lots of them. Temple Bar we went to Fitzsimmons right on the river Liffy with a roof top open bar which was really nice, shame it faced the back and not over looking the river. All in all we had a great weekend and would certainly recommend the Ashling if you do't mind a bus ride out and taxi ride as last tram is 11.30pm.

  • Liked — spacious room
  • Disliked — no atmosphere in restaurant at night
  • Tips/Secrets — city tour bus is a must, Ryans bar worth a visit
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    842
    210
    56
    28
See reviews for
417
904
103
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles/sierra madre
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

Stayed at the Ashling for the Ryder Cup Sept 22-24. The hotel is extremely old and to our surprise in a very bad area. This was confirmed the by the "guarda" who told us to be careful when we walked home as we were going through some dodgey parts of Dublin. I knew something was up with the signs all over saying that you were being video taped, that you had to use your room key in order to get onto your floor and that there were signs stating to be sure to lock your door and secure all valuables before leaving. Finally the parking structure was closed between midnight and 8am. As for the rooms they were small and not at all charming. There were a couple of nice things about the Ashling, the free breakfast, free parking and the fact that there was a train in front that could take you places. Overall I would look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Free breakfast
  • Disliked — The small rooms/hotel itself/location
  • Tips/Secrets — Look for something else
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton,England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

The bus 748 took us from the airport to Heuston Station which is very nearby and insight of the Hotel. There was a Room to store our luggage as we had arrived early which is secure but it can get full!

Our room was at the front of the hotel so there was a bit of noise from the traffic but it did not bother us when the windows were shut. The hotel room and bathroom were clean and we had no complaints about the breakfast.

There are Pubs, convenience stores and two takeaways nearby Heuston station has ATM's, Newsagent and cafe's. We brought 3 day short hop tickets, although not valid on the 748, we could use on the other busses and the dart trains so never used the trams which could get very crowded. most of the busses go to Pearse street ( near the Police Station) which is short walk to Pearse Street Station .

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend in early October. We paid around 85 EUR per night, a pretty good value in Dublin.

I was surprised that this hotel is a little buried in Dublin's TripAdvisor ratings. It's in a perfect location for travelers who need transportation to/from the airport. The hotel's accommodations are good; much better, in fact, than expected from a typical Best Western hotel.

LOCATION & TRANSPORTATION

We arrived at Dublin airport on a late RyanAir flight. There is no train system between the airport and Dublin, so you'll need to take a bus or taxi. This bus link stops running around 10 pm on most nights, so if you're arriving late, be prepared to queue for a taxi.

The taxi was 25 EUR. The bus ride is 5 EUR to Heuston Station, and the bus stop is right next to the exit of the airport terminal. Just look for the bus that shows Heuston Station as the destination. The bus will drop you off there, which is less than a five minute walk to the Ashling hotel. This station can be seen from the entrance of the hotel so don't worry about getting lost. One final tip about the bus link between Heuston Station and the airport: buses come to Heuston station every 30 minutes, and during a weekday, it might take up to an hour for the bus to reach the airport. So leave yourself some extra time on your way back to the airport.

We had a tour of Ireland scheduled for the next day, and it left from Heuston station. Arriving so late the night before made this hotel very convenient; we could wake up at the last moment and head over to the station across the street to meet with our group.

Dublin doesn't have an underground system, so you'll get around by foot or via tram. The nearest tram stop is at the Heuston station. The tram moves very slowly and sometimes it seems that it would be almost as quick to walk by foot. Walkers only have to follow the tram cables to the center of the city, probably a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Just turn left when you exit the hotel and walk directly into the city.

The tram costs around 5 EUR for a daily pass per person. There are ticket machines at each tram stop. The machines take cash, coins, or credit cards. I'd recommend taking the tram to the Abbey Street station a few stops away, then taking an open-top Dublin tour bus around the city. The bus tours cost 14 EUR per person and the drivers in Dublin make the trip very entertaining with live commentary. There are 24 stops along the route, you can hop on and off at your leisure, it takes about 90 minutes to complete an entire tour, and your ticket is good for 24 hours.

FOOD

There are several nice pubs/restaurants just down the street from the hotel. The hotel has its own restaurant as well, but the dinner menu made it seem a little too elegant for our tastes.

The hotel serves an Irish-style buffet for breakfast. It is a buffet, but their staff serves the hot food to you, so we decided to have an early lunch somewhere else instead.

SERVICE

The front desk staff was helpful and efficient. Like many places in Dublin, the hotel will charge your credit card in your home currency (for us, USD) so you avoid paying international fees to your credit card provider.

There also is a convenient luggage room in the hotel. It is locked during the day. It is a big closet that can hold a lot of luggage. Great for travelers who are arriving early or who want to explore the town after checking out.

ROOMS

We were quite surprised by the quality of the rooms in this hotel. The beds were extremely comfortable. The rooms were big. The views from the hotel aren't that nice, but that wasn't important to us. The TV was small but had plenty of channels, all in english.

The bathroom was very big by european standards.

Everything was clean and the amenities were all in good shape.

INTERNET

The hotel offers Wifi internet (not free) in the lower levels of the building. There also is a PC and printer station located just off the lobby. You pay at the machine (coins or credit cards). I believe it costs around 1 EUR for 15 minutes of use.

TOURIST TIP

One of the most interesting places to visit in Dublin is the Kilmainham Gaol prison. It is a short walk from the Ashling; just 10-15 minutes past the Heuston station. For 5 EUR, you get a full, guided tour of the hotel from a local. It was the most interesting tour we had during our five day trip around the United Kingdom.

SUMMARY

We would highly recommend this hotel. No need to stay directly in the city center; this hotel is close enough to get there by foot or tram. The rooms are very nice, especially when compared to US Best Western standards, and the location of the hotel next to the Heuston station is perfect for people departing from or heading to the airport.

  • Liked — Location, quality of room, easy access to public transportation to/from airport
  • Disliked — High-speed internet not available in all parts of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

Was a bit worried about the trip having read some of the previous reviews. However, was pleasantly surpised!!!!! NIce, clean friendly hotel. Accessible location, about a 15 min walk to Temple Bar and the main shopping street. Very accessible - as tram and buses run from just outside the hotel. My advice is to get one of the 3 day hopper bus tickets on arriving at Dublin Airport - costs 11 euros 50. This will get you to and from the airport to Heuston Station (right beside hotel) and then you can also use it to travel in and out of the bar and shopping areas if you are feeling unathletic!!!!!!!! Must go to Ryans bar, about 100 metres from the hotel heading out of town. Lovely friendly bar, with lots of locals. Bar staff are great and make you feel very welcome. Location suited us and we had a lovely stay. Thanks.

  • Liked — outside of main bar area, but easily accessible
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — get the 11.50 euro bus hopper ticket for three days to make life easy
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

My brother and I visited Ireland from 21 - 25 September for the Ryder Cup and we started planning the trip ~2 weeks prior. We did not have many options and settled on the Ashling primarily due to the somewhat favorable posts. The hotel really is about a 20 minute walk at a leisurely pace or a 12 minute walk at a fast clip. I recommend taking the foot path that runs parallel to the tram tracks to avoid the lights, deisel fumes and dirt.

The hotel is not bad with most amenities you would expect and a mostly helpful staff. The rooms are quite small for two 6' plus athletic guys (we booked a triple as we needed/wanted 2 beds) but the bathrooms were large enough and the beds and pillows were fine. The street behing the hotel is loud pretty much all day and, wjile it wasn't warm, the room did get quite warm and stuffy and with no AC, the only option was to open the window the scant crack allowed to let fresh air in. I would rate the rooms a 2.5 out of 5 - very average and as we were there during the REALLY high season, they jacked the rates up to 220 Euro/night!! OUCH!!

OK, the Guiness lounge was great, good food, good beer and a lot of fun and seemingly open 24/7. Great staff and filled with TV's for the Ryder Cup, almost like being there!!

In conclusion, if I were to visit Dublin again (and I highly doubt that I will) I would opt to stay in a town outside that is in close proximity to a rail line and just come in for the day.

  • Liked — Guiness Lounge
  • Disliked — Value
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room at the front or side of the hotel.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

Stayed at this hotel as a party of 7 people. Have to say that our overall experience was a good one.
Located on the outskirts of the city, however do not let this put you off as the Louis Tram passes directly outside the hotel and the nearest station (The Musuem) is only a two minute walk and offers an excellent service into the City until 12.30am, daily.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and proffesional. The breakfast was also of a good quality and standard.
All in all have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Our reservation was made via Best Western centrall reservations in Ireland.
Ten out of Ten !!!!!!

  • Liked — Its high standards and location
  • Disliked — Nothinf
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early as it is a very popular hotel.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restauratn, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.