We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangor
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Exactly as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After reading recent reviews of the hotel it was exactly as it has been portrayed by the majority of reviewers - clean,spacious and modern. I was especially impressed by the degree of security involved in moving around within the premises.
I would think twice next time before booking a superior room. It's really only worth paying the extra price if you need a bed the size of a football pitch!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have HUGE beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    924
    229
    60
    28
See reviews for
459
1,045
111
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Conveniently located near Heuston Station this hotel was perfect for us before we started our rail trip through Ireland. The hotel was clean, comfortable and inviting. The price was reasonable. In addition to the rail station being 2 minutes walk away there is a light rail stop and a bus stop for the 747 express bus to and from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed the Ashling Hotel. I chose it because I could walk to the zoo from there and I am glad I did. The cost was low so I opted for one of their suites and I really enjoyed the balcony I could see the city from. The room was great, as was the hotel's staff.

A bonus was the awesome breakfast buffet I had every day I stayed there - I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Suite 605 was awesome - it has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 5 days with my partner. After reading the reviews before we had high expectations and the hotel did not disappoint. We were given a complimentary upgrade upon arrival and the superior room was lovely. Clean, bright, and very modern with a bed I couldn't even touch from side to side.
Breakfast was brilliant and a great start to the day. We did eat a couple of times in the hotel for dinner too and both times the meals were lovely.
Staff were attentive and very friendly.
Really good location can get on the hop on hop off bus tour at stop 18 just to the right of the hotel and you can walk to the main tourist attractions from the hotel in no time (Guinness storehouse, zoo and the Jameson distillery)
So glad we picked this hotel because I don't think our first trip to Ireland would have been the same without it.
Thank you to the Ashling hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for our anniversary and it is just perfect. Close enough to walk in to town, close to the trams for further travelling and in a perfect location for being a real tourist, but with out the tourist hotel feel. The food was great, staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and it was really good value for money. Absolutely loved it and have booked to go back in Nov 2015

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The young people in our family gave us vouchers as a Christmas present for the Ashling Hotel and as a result we booked an overnight stay for March, 2015. We really enjoyed our visit. Our room was really clean, spacious and comfortable, even though it looked out over the car park (next time we go I hope we get a room at the front of the hotel). We ate in the hotel's Chesterfields restaurant and really enjoyed the meal. Breakfast was also really good - the choice was fantastic. We also had lunch in the very pleasant Iveagh Bar. It might seem that we never really left the hotel but that is not the case. The Luas runs right past the front door and it is only a short walk to the stop. The Phoenix Park is right next door and it was lovely to have an early morning walk. The Guinness Storehouse is only a short walk away as well. All in all, this is a very well located hotel. The car park cost 8 euros for 24 hours and is very secure.

Room Tip: We plan to stay at the Ashling Hotel again but this time I would request a room at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that you found the hotel lovely, and in particular, your room. Thank you for also mentioning the breakfast in Chesterfields Restaurant and the food in the Iveagh Bar. I hope to welcome you back to us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restauratn, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.