We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ashling has comfortable rooms, excellent view (we viewed Dublin and Guiness Storehouse from our room) as well as an excellent dining room and comfortable bar. We stayed four days with a group of 22 and enjoyed it as a base of touring. It is convenient to public transport nd to the theater district. It is located in a safe area with walking areas proximate to the hotel. Hotel personnel were efficient and gracious. WiFi was available and with a strong signal. Our group had free access.

Room Tip: Upper flors have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for this review of the Ashling Hotel. It was a pleasure to read everything you had to say about your time with us. Thank you for mentioning our hotel staff and rooms. If you are ever in Dublin again, I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Ashling hotel.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    799
    198
    55
    28
See reviews for
393
852
98
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great hotel, great service, awesome breakfast. Public transportation right outside. Great walk to city center along the river. We stayed here upon landing. The hotel was easy to find, parking garage was convenient to check in and luggage storage. If I'm luck enough to go back to Ireland, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: In Ireland, just ask for anything you want moved or changed and they will do their best to accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review about your stay with us. Public transport in Dublin is fantastic and right at our doorstep, which is great for those wishing to get about. You seem to have made the most of it which is superb. I am over the moon with your comments about our breakfast and the service you received whilst here. If you're ever in Dublin again, you know where to come.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callanish, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just spent 2 days at this beautiful hotel. Immaculate, very spacious, clean bedrooms with a nice selection of toiletries. The breakfast was excellent too many choices to list. We decided to have our dinner in the hotel as the restaurant was lovely and the menus very appealing, we were not disappointed. Service from all the staff was first class, very helpful and friendly. Ideally located for tram and bus links into the town centre. You can walk but it is approx. 20-25 minute walk. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would now not stay anywhere else if visiting Dublin again.
.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for this fabulous review of the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I especially love to see comments about the staff, as we strive for a high standard of excellence in customer service. Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back to us soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A really lovely hotel. Being in the centre of the city and popular with tourists on coach trips, I expected it to be 'well-worn' and tired. However, I was very surprised to find it immaculate in every way. We were offered a complimentary upgrade to a delux room which was great! The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was large and modern. The staff were really friendly, helpful, and efficient. Our evening meal was faultless but vegetarians beware - there is an extremely limited menu! We enjoyed our stay and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for this brilliant review of the Ashling Hotel. I am pleased to see that your expectations of the hotel were exceeded, and that you found the hotel 'immaculate.' Needless to say, if you are ever in Dublin again, I would be delighted to welcome you back to us.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The Ashlng Hotel is situated near Euston Station very close to a tram stop and the bus from the airport. This makes getting to the hotel easy and getting into the heart of Dublin. Staff at the hotel were friendly and efficient and gave us good tips. Luggage storage was efficient and the gentleman there (unfortunately I did not get his name) was very helpful. The choice at breakfast was good. We stayed here twice and both rooms were spacious and clean with tea and coffee facilities. I would use this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted to hear your experience was positive. I will be sure to make this review known to our staff in the luggage store as they very rarely get a mention. I hope to see you again at the Ashling.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamme, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay for everyone who wants to visit Dublin. We've stayed here for four days while on a city-trip to Dublin and it was fantastic. The location itself is well placed and allows you to discover every single part of Dublin by public transport. Plus, it can easily be reached from the airport.

The hotel itself was beautiful and clean and our room was very spacious. The staff was friendly and willingly answered every question. There wasn't a single thing out of order, making our trip to Dublin more than memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for this incredible review of the Ashling Hotel. I was overjoyed to read everything you said about us, especially the part where you mentioned that the hotel itself was beautiful. I also appreciate the lovely comments about our staff. I hope to see you again if you're ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restauratn, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.