We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ashling Hotel for two nights. We were having difficulty finding a hotel in Dublin that had a room large enough to accommodate two adults and two grown teenagers when we booking our trip in January of 2013. We tried apartments and other hotels to no avail. We were fortunate to find the Ashling Hotel. The hotel, though not near the entertainment area (Temple Bar), was a nice quiet choice. The hotel was located on the rail line, hop off and on, which helped out. The hotel is also located near the zoo and old city jail. As a side note, we bought the hop on and off passes. If your time is limited, I would suggest the rail line. Rush hour traffic in Dublin was horrible. Our bus was stuck in traffic for two hours to get to our stop. Remember the bus makes several designated stops and does not deviate because of traffic conditions. If traffic is flowing freely, the bus is a nice option. The hotel has limited "tight" parking, very outdated room, clean comfy bed, but the bathroom lacked an exhaust fan (very steamy). We never ate in the hotel but opted for Juno's, which we loved, and FX Buckley. Both great locations. In the end, we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with your family here at the Ashling. Certainly I can appreciate that it can be difficult to get a large room for a family of four and in truth, this is why we find our family rooms to be so popular. I was glad to learn that overall you were satisfied with your stay and that you enjoyed dining in some of the local restaurants, which indeed are very good.

Kind regards,
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    969
    237
    61
    31
See reviews for
487
1,114
117
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

stayed here on tues 25th june for a 1 night stay.was originally booked into a certain other 4 star property with a close proximity to the o2 but was informed 3 days prior that they were doubled booked so we would have to stay in the ashling or cancel our booking altogether.wasnt happy to say the least but am glad it happened.this is defo the best 4 star in dublin.fantastic decor,location,services etc.from check in to check out the staff are some of the friendliest and helpful i have ever encountered.honestly all staff we came across could not do enough to help.had a pleasant upgrade to a superior room with a view over garden at front and views over liffey.only downside very noisy in the morning but this is a city centre location.cannot say iwould have a bad point to say.`thank you ashling hotel will defo be seeing you again and soon!

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and I am glad to hear you experienced the Hotel at its best. We are delighted to hear you had a most enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ashling Hotel on your next visit to Dublin in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived in Ireland for our first visit and experienced a wonderful welcome.

The only downside was that we arrived exhausted from the long flights at 1pm, but we're unable to check in until 3pm.

We had two wonderful dinners in the hotel's restaurant. Food was excellent, customer service was excellent also.

Located close to the local train, rail and hop on hop off buses.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. We were delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us at the Ashling and made the most of your time in Dublin by using the nearby transport options. We are glad that you enjoyed the food in Chesterfield's restaurant and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you and your partner back to the Ashling on your next visit to Ireland.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN



.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed one night [June 26] with a group of 11. From reviews, anticipated a good stay. EXCELLENT best describes our albeit short one night stay. We arrived early from Galway [just before noon] and rooms were ready! [thank you, this is exceptional. We were able to freshen up before heading out for one last day in Ireland. We arranged a group dinner that was absolutely delicious. The restaurant plus bar menu have something to fit any price range. The rooms were wonderful. [We had a renovated upgraded room on the front of the hotel, with a/c. Very nice. Even the Luas directly in front of the hotel didn't distract from the sleep quality. Only disappointment was an early departure, causing us to miss the exceptional breakfast buffet. But to-go bags were provided, containing a nice mix that was filling. Front desk staff invited group into restaurant as we waited for our airport transfer, allowing us to pick a few items out early from the buffet. Without question, we will return. Thank you for the exceptional hospitality, and tending our group needs. Certainly look forward to return visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. We were delighted to read that you and your friends all had a most enjoyable stay with us and found our restaurant and bar menu's to be to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Ashling on your next visit to Ireland.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamstown, Westmeath, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here in early June as part of a business trip. The staff were so friendly to me and the guys in the bar made sure I didnt go hungry. The room I had was nice and spacious and overlooked the Luas line and the little park which I really liked. The room was nice and quiet which was just what I wanted as I needed peace and quiet to study. The breakfast buffet each morning was lovely and catered for everyone's needs and the best part was that breakfast was served from 6:45am to cater for those up early righ up until 9:45am to allow the holiday makers enjoy a lie on. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and made sure that should I was well looked after and enjoyed my stay. The location was also ideal for me as I needed to head out of the city centre each morning and didnt get too caught up in traffic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. We were delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed your meals in Chesterfields Restaurant and The Iveagh Bar. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ashling Hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN



.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a perfect location. The local tram is a short walk to catch downtown as is the hop on hop off bus. I do recommend the ho ho bus as we travelled it twice before getting off at different stations to tour Dublin.
They are very accommodating and let us use their lobby phone to make local calls.
Great selection for breakfast. Within walking distance to the Brazen Pub (if you're in good shape) lol. Also close to the Guinness Brewery.
Lovely large rooms.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor looking over a small courtyard? It was quiet and we had connecting rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us and that you made use of the convenient transport options close by. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ashling on your next trip to Ireland.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed with friends for a beyonce concert. The staff were very helpful, nothing was a problem. The room was nice and very clean. They had an after concert menu which was great as we could sit down and get a bite to eat before bed. All in all a lovely hotel and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Ashling Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us here in Dublin and you enjoyed the after concert menu that was on offer after the Beyonce concert in the O2. We hope to welcome you and your friends back to the Ashling Hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restauratn, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.