We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay in Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good for short stay in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Located 2mins from Huston train station and tram stop, room basic but was spotless and with everything you will need for comfortable stay. Very nice friendly staff, very good choice at breakfast, and lovely food in the bar.
Would consider staying again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and will recommend us to friends. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    1,009
    244
    62
    31
See reviews for
500
1,160
119
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel doesn't look very attractive from outside but has a lovely Reception was staying with my parents f nite got a lovely room very spacious dinner was also nice best of all this hotel situated just few yards from Lewes stop and 4 stops to city centre. Didn't find bar great there was 3 year old who was running around screaming in bar til 11.30 found this totally unacceptable as I had left my own 4 kids at home and just wanted a bit of peace f a chat but on the whole good hotel in great location f park and city centre

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us in June last year. We do agree that we are in a great location beside the park and close to the city centre with the Luas running directly by the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling again.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killadeas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We got a "cheapy" 3 night break at the Ashling. Cause it was so cheap thought we might be treated like the poor cousins.. No way.. Service was excellent. food top class and reasonably priced and the staff are super friendly. Its an easy walk to the City centre but if you're feeling lazy hop on the tram or bus.. They seem to run constant and pass the front door of the hotel. Room was serviced every day and nothing was too much trouble for the bar & restaurant staff. The reception girls are walking encyclopedias of the sights not to be missed.. Overall and excellent experience. However there is no Fitness Centre or Pool but that's not what we went for anyway

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and our Reception Team were able to help you with all sights to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ashling.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manresa, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was in Ashling hotel for business and is a very good hotel with friendly staff.
My room was clean and nice, and a really good breakfast buffet.
The Luas tram in front of the hotel will bring you there fast, but I was not able to visit Dublin center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future where you may have time to visit and experience Dublin's city centre and attractions.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Unfortunately I was stuck indoors for 24 hours for work, but at least it was at the Ashling Hotel. The reception staff were pleasant, and the decor fine. The car park was tight, but I was not driving thankfully. My room was on floor 7 with a view over the Guinness brewery. There was some noise from the traffic & trams, but not enough to disturb me. The room was large, with an equally large bathroom, all well appointed. Breakfast & lunch was good and plentiful. We used the Phoenix room for our conference, and it was fine; quiet, large enough and close to the loos. The only moan was not enough cups for tea & coffee for the breaks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback which we will take on board. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling again in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Ashling hotel is a very good hotel with friendly and professional staff, nice and clean rooms and an extensive breakfast buffet. It's slightly located outside of the centre, but the Luas tram in front of the hotel will bring you there fast and easy. However the Guiness brewery, where most of the tourists (should) go, is not too far away. The day we left, we could store our baggage in a monitored storage room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We agree, the Ashling is in an excellent location for Dublin's top visitor attractions. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ashling during a cold and rainy October. Dublin experienced a month's worth of rain in 24 hours. Water was flowing into the lobby. All levels of staff were pitching in to clear the lobby. The bar was inundated by diners as the water closed the restaurant. The staff worked very hard to accommodate everyone. I was very impressed with their concern to keep the guest's experience a positive one. By checkout the next morning, there was no sign that anything had even happened. Obviously, staff worked overnight to return the lobby to normal. We had a beautiful top floor, corner room with lots of windows. This hotel is away from the central traffic and noise and very convenient to the train station. A great Victorian-era pub with very generous servings is a block away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.