We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip, great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Short trip, great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Called down for a week break. Great hotel and the reception area is vast and overwhelming. Room was great. Had all of the basics and a rain shower - this was just OK, didnt live up to expectations - however this did not take away from our stay. Tram station 100m from hotel door and easy payment system to get in and out of the city centre.

Houston station just across the road. Within walking distance of the Guinness factory which is great trip for a day out.

Food in hotel is top-class, they didnt have the monk fish which i ordered (not a problem to me) but they were so apologetic and excused themselves for the time delay and gave us free deserts and wine with our dinner. We were very grateful and this is great as many other places would not give this sort of service. Food that we got was next to perfect. My girlfriend is a fussy eater and this even stood up to her standards

Breakfast costs 12 euros each but is work it although you feel like a pig when you keep asking the serving chef to put more on your plate lol!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front, you get an excellent view of the station and the Guinness factory wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    1,036
    251
    64
    30
See reviews for
521
1,189
120
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arrived to a great welcome,girl at reception very friendly and helpful,she even gave my daughter a lolly pop,I thought this a nice gesture.,we also got a free up-grade to a luxury family room which was massive and just perfect.The hotel overall is very welcoming,the furnishings and decor is to the highest standards of any 4 star hotel .We had lunch in the bar,dinner in the restaurant and breakfast all were very good,great choice.We booked direct with hotel for excellent deal 1 nights b+b,dinner,bottle of house wine for 2 adults and one child for only £95.00 what a bargain for a FIRST CLASS HOTEL.We will certainly be back at the Aisling again,as the location is good for the Zoo and easy parking onsite also handy to find from M1.Thanks to the staff at the Aisling for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for nice room as I did, got up-grade,ROOM 451.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great hotel, excellent location, friendly staff, food in the Iveagh Bar was beautiful, only thing I can fault is the fact there was no shower curtain in the bathroom but other than that everything was lovely!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Many thanks to the staff of the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I have ben a guest here for quite a number of years now. Each time I am made to feel welcome as if it was my first visit. Food is wonderful , very good location, room top class and staff a delight. Can be recommended anytime for any trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My lady friend and I were told of the Ashling by some friends. Since we were staying in Dublin for a few days, we decided to try it. We had a rental car, so the hotel's location on the perimeter of central Dublin was ideal. We were able to leave the car at the Ashling and ride the LUAS into town. The hotel itself was delightful. We were allowed to check in early (11:30am) by the receptionist. We had been mistakenly assigned to a twin room, which was corrected immediately. In fact, we were upgraded to a very large double room. The room was very large, had a queen bed, and a huge bathroom. It was spotless and had an excellent view of Parkgate Street. We were given this lovely room by Silvana at reception. This lady is efficient, professional, quite personable, and has a great sense of humor. She is a credit to the hotel. We frequented the restaurant and bar, and found both to be excellent. The Irish coffee was one of the best we've had. We look forward to returning to the Ashling.

Room Tip: We found room 352 to be outstanding. It's exceptionally large and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in January 2013 when in Dublin to watch a rugby game. Very good location with excellent transport to and from Airport and city centre if you didn't fancy the 15 minute walk. Very comfortable clean and spacious rooms. Excellent breakfast and good choice of quality meals in both bar and restaurant. Best of all for me were the the staff. Very friendly but very efficicient and polite. I wish all hotels had staff like this. Would recommend to anyone staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have enjoyed overnight stays when travelling via Dublin's Heuston Station. Access to rooms and associated elevator service is card controlled. Although there is lively activity in lobby areas when you retire the rooms are very calm. Our stays have noted updated furnishings and sophisticated electronics. Very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We request that the rooms are fitted with windows which open. All the rooms may have that feature bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,996 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury Hotel
The Westbury Hotel
#5 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,602 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#9 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#19 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 172 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.