We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perimeter Pleasantry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perimeter Pleasantry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My lady friend and I were told of the Ashling by some friends. Since we were staying in Dublin for a few days, we decided to try it. We had a rental car, so the hotel's location on the perimeter of central Dublin was ideal. We were able to leave the car at the Ashling and ride the LUAS into town. The hotel itself was delightful. We were allowed to check in early (11:30am) by the receptionist. We had been mistakenly assigned to a twin room, which was corrected immediately. In fact, we were upgraded to a very large double room. The room was very large, had a queen bed, and a huge bathroom. It was spotless and had an excellent view of Parkgate Street. We were given this lovely room by Silvana at reception. This lady is efficient, professional, quite personable, and has a great sense of humor. She is a credit to the hotel. We frequented the restaurant and bar, and found both to be excellent. The Irish coffee was one of the best we've had. We look forward to returning to the Ashling.

Room Tip: We found room 352 to be outstanding. It's exceptionally large and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    868
    738
    186
    57
    27
See reviews for
358
747
88
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in January 2013 when in Dublin to watch a rugby game. Very good location with excellent transport to and from Airport and city centre if you didn't fancy the 15 minute walk. Very comfortable clean and spacious rooms. Excellent breakfast and good choice of quality meals in both bar and restaurant. Best of all for me were the the staff. Very friendly but very efficicient and polite. I wish all hotels had staff like this. Would recommend to anyone staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have enjoyed overnight stays when travelling via Dublin's Heuston Station. Access to rooms and associated elevator service is card controlled. Although there is lively activity in lobby areas when you retire the rooms are very calm. Our stays have noted updated furnishings and sophisticated electronics. Very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We request that the rooms are fitted with windows which open. All the rooms may have that feature bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at the Ashling Hotel for 1 night, I booked via expedia 3 or 4 days before and got a classic double for 59 euro. Looking at other hotels throughout the city which i've stayed in before and similar quality the Ashling was definitely the best value for money. The classic room nice and clean and very spacious with a modern bathroom. It did seem a little tired though, I wouldn't classify it as 4 star standard but if you're willing to pay extra for an executive room go for it.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay here and would return.
We attended a gig in Vicar Street, and the hotel location was ideal. Very close to the likes of the Guinness brewery, temple bar, zoo etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and were very happy with our room and the hotel in general. The room was very good, and all the facilities and amenities met our expectations. It was in a very good location. We enjoyed eating in the restaurant. We found the hotel staff to be helpful. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was taken to Dublin as a surprise to see my sister who lives there. my very generous partner booked my sister in to the same hotel as us for the weekend which was great. The hotel is in a good location, not too close to the very noisy city centre but close enough so as not to make taxis etc too expensive.
The rooms were excellent and although ours did not have a bath which I prefer, we were able to make a slight upgrade within 10 minutes to a room where you had to catch a bus from one side of the bed to the other and the windows were floor to ceiling giving a great view. The breakfast was all you could wish for and the bar and bar snacks were excellent. I cannot praise the staff enough, they were all exceptionally helpful and friendly. only one slight downside, we ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and whilst the majority of our meal was very good I am afraid to say that our steaks were barely edible. Luckily the restaurant manager agreed with us and took them off the bill thereby rectifying what I imagine was clearly a mistake on the kitchens part.It was a stones throw from the airport bus stop and a short way to Dublin Zoo, well worth a visit and also the Guinness factory which should not be missed. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Dublin unless you want to be right in the centre of it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hotel public areas were lovely and Breakfast was great... However there was nothing 4 star about the room, It was drab and tired looking and for some bizarre reason had 3 beds?! Which is fine if you booked a family room which we did not, also another problem was the heat it was like stepping into a sauna making spending any long periods of time in the room just uncomfortable.

Room Tip: It would be worth taking the 30 Euro upgrade to have a nicer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restauratn, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.