We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cephalonia, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excelent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed two nights and found the hotel lived up to its advertising. Room although in a rear addition was comfortable, clean and well appointed. Staff were friendly obiging and knowlegdible. Location is excellent close to Heuston train station (where airport bus terminates) and close to tram stops (you can be in the centre of town within 5 minutes). Such a pleasant place to stay and they spoil things by charging 2 Euros for a small bottle water from the slot machine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    1,069
    255
    64
    30
See reviews for
547
1,226
122
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here a while back and got a lovely room, stayed here Saturday night and got the worst room!!! The bed was so small neither of us got any sleep.. I did ask for an upgrade and was told the hotel was booked up???
Went down for Breakfast Sunday morning and the member of staff who approached us was so rude. Breakfast was ok.
Not a great experience!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I have been staying here once a month for past year and must say I really like this hotel. Two mins walk from train station and very handy for town. As a female guest on her own I feel very comfortable and safe here and the staff go out of their way to help. I stayed here this week and What prompted me to write this review on this occasion was the so so friendly member of staff called Shauna who was working in bar serving food etc. So professional and couldnt do enough.. Well done .. Look forward to next visit ..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend after receiving a recommendation. Upon check-in the problems started, the girl behind the desk was distracted and completely unhelpful, borderline rude. which really upset me as it had been a long journey, the girl knew I was not best pleased and then made idle, disinterested conversation which further added to my mood at the time. Generally speaking the rooms are clean and modern. On our second night we met friends for a show who were co incidentally staying in another hotel nearby, On our return to the hotel the couple who accompanied us attempted to walk us into the lobby to say good night, when we got to the door a very rude man who I can only assume was a porter took our room number and then more or less slammed the door in their faces and said NO GUESTS. Now, we appreciate this of course, but a little professional behavior would not have been too much to ask for. We wouldn't exactly strike you as the loud type! I was both embarrassed and horrified by his manner. The food is average and overpriced, again disinterested staff. we received a sandwich from the bar one night and the bread felt stale and appeared to be thrown together by the bar man. I've never had any complaints generally about other hotels I've stayed in but felt this was unacceptable customer service for the price. Hotel lacked personality and charm which you would expect from a four star hotel. Was very happy to see the back of it and would never return

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have met people here for a number of years now, both during the time the hotel was being refurbished and since it reopened.

The quality of the setting is excellent, being closed to the City Centre yet being very close to Heuston Station (thus opening the rest of the country up by Train), and Phoenix Park only a 3 minute walk away.

An excellent location to meet friends for a meal in a quite and stylish setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My girlfriend and i went to the Ashling Hotel when we wanted to visit Dublin and i thought the hotel was amazing. We found a deal for 4 nights for the price of 3 which made the trip even better. The staff were friendly and very knowledgable and the room was brilliant with a super king bed. I cannot overstate how much i enjoyed my time at the Ashling. Definately worth a look, it's next to the Guinness Factory so no better way to immerse yourself in irish culture.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,082 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury Hotel
The Westbury Hotel
#2 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,672 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#9 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#19 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,209 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.