We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gluten free breakfast, ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best gluten free breakfast, ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I only stayed one night in the Ashling and wished I stayed longer. I am a coeliac so it's very hard to find suitable food when I'm on the go and staying away. Their breakfast was amazing in general it had a great selection but the fact that it had a table with a selection of food specifically gluten free was excellent. It set me up for the day and it was so lovely to have a choice. i have stayed in lots of hotels, some 5 star and they had no gluten free alternatives. Decor of hotel is also nice. Well done with the breakfast!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    872
    733
    180
    54
    26
See reviews for
359
757
88
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice hotel staff welcoming, a good 20 minute walk to temple bar area
Nothing much around hotel but hotels facilities are more than suitable
Should you require them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Ashling is brilliant all round. Great place, rooms are outstanding (go and treat yourself to an upgrade to Superior - the beds are enormous!) and the servce is impeccable. The staff couldn't do enough to help us. Setting is just right, walkable to Guiness and the Zoo, and only a 5 minute walk to the tram stop and then another 5 or so minutes and you're in the city centre. Right by the train station and main busses too. The hotel is always busy, so bear that in mind, but the rooms are very very quiet.
Really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go superior - 307 or 507 are the ones I saw which were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my boyfriend. We paid €170 for one night and as it is listed as a 'four star' we expected four star for some strange reason.

The lobby, bar and restaurant areas are all that I saw that could be considered four star. Our room was on the fifth floor and the only positive is that the room was big.

The bed was two single beds pushed together - which may be standard in hotels but you generally cannot feel the line between the beds in other hotels. The rest of the furniture in the room was quite dated - I believe my grandmother has the same cups. The TV had five channels - when you didn't move. If you did move you were treated to static.

There was no option to turn down the heat in the room; I woke up in the middle of the night covered in sweat. But that's not the reason I woke - we could hear water rushing through the pipes from 5am. At first I thought it was someone having a shower but this went on until 11 am.

At 9am someone was knocking on our door. We didn't answer at the first knock, and the knocking continued with the person calling out that it was room service to clean the room, had we checked out yet. As we had been out the night before, we weren't expecting to be woken quite so early. It happened again at 11am. We could also hear them knocking on other doors along the corridor.

The bathroom clearly hasn't been updated in quite a while, and the bath creaked whenever I moved in it.

The only pro with this hotel is it is right on the Luas line and beside Heuston Station so it is handy for anyone travelling up by train.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel has a super location, with the choice if you want to go into town or not. Plenty of transport available. Luas stop at hand, bus service available and plenty of taxis. Rooms most comfortable and spotless, food excellent. Would not hesitate in staying here again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have the traffic and Luas noise, but a good view of the city life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Got back tonight from a 2day 1 night stay at this hotel and have never been to Dublin before. Hotel is in a great location near enough to walk to the city centre but also close to trams and the sightseeing hop on/off bus. Room was large with a 6foot bed and nice bathroom plus a tea/coffee tray,ironing board with iron.Breakfast was very good. Drinks in hotel bar were as expected in a hotel. We also liked the secure baggage room which saved carting bags round all day.We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. we plan to go to Dublin again and will certainly stay at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were booked into the Ashling Hotel in Dublin for two nights in Oct. The location was great - walking distance to the main Dublin attractions and also on the red bus line. The hotel staff were not overly friendly and could not (or would not) provide any assistance when informed that the wi-fi did not work in the room - answer was to come and use the internet in the lobby.
Also since we did not know exactly where the hotel was (and our GPS wasn't too helpful) we got a little turned around since the street in front of the hotel also has train tracks and there are commuter trains running regularly.

Room Tip: not much of a view from our rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restauratn, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.