We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming staff and a beautiful room made our stay absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ashling Hotel to your Saves list
Ashling Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very welcoming staff and a beautiful room made our stay absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We arrived early from our flight and the staff immediately found us an amazing room hours before the regular check in time. The room was clearly recently renovated and was clean, comfortable and stylish. The hotel itself is quite elegant and we felt very much at home. We were a short walk from many of the local attractions: The Guinness Storehouse, many local pubs and the tram stop is only feet from the door. The Hop-On Hop -Off bus tour was also only a couple of blocks away. We looked at a number of hotels before visiting Dublin and can say without a doubt that we are extremely pleased with our choice. *** Our room looked like the ones from their website. This is usually not the case for other hotels from our experience so we were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: We booked really early, months in advance and took advantage of online specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    844
    210
    56
    28
See reviews for
418
906
103
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The hotel was your basic large hotel, several tour groups were moving through here. We stayed here on two different occassions during our holiday in Ireland. Although their "family" rooms (accommodate our traveling with two teens) were clean, the size of the room was too small for a family of four (unless you are traveling with very small children). Also, the rooms were very stuffy & warm - we had to leave the windows open in order to make things comfortable.

That being said, it was close to a tram, so traveling into Dublin was easily done. The breakfast served in their restaurant was very good and provided very nice variety (and excellent coffee!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The hotel is well located opposite the river and in view of the Guinness Brewery. Don't be fooled, as it is a stiff 15 minute uphill walk to the tourist attraction in steady rain.The staff were friendly, and our room was good, with a nice view over the river.Breakfast was excellent.
The one way system around the city centre made it confusing to get into the hotel, but car parking was available on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view,high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Dublin city centre twenty minutes walk away. Plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby. Excellent food. Wi-fi in rooms. Clean and well-appointed. Helpful staff. We had a lovely room overlooking the river. Great start to our Ireland holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

While the lobby was updated, our room was also worn. We were placed directly near the security door, so every morning we heard the slamming of the door, minute after minute. Our room was also very hot and required that we open our window. The location was convenient to the luas, but the area felt somewhat unsafe during the evenings. Future travel to Dublin we will stay closer to the city center, as being near the Guiness Storehouse doesn't provide access convenient access to restaurants. The breakfast offer by the hotel is great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Ashling Hotel was amazing! Not only was the location great (and non-threatening), the hotel itself was fantastic and very attractive! Our room was so comfortable with a great view of the Guinness Brewery and awesome Dublin city skyline! The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was refreshing and nice. The staff of the hotel was really nice and helpful and always available.

We had the Full Irish breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was buffet style and really delicious! The bar is really posh looking and of course you can order anything you'd like.

Despite the location of the Ashiling which is away from the City Centre, you don't have to venture far at all for great pubs with great food (within walking distance) and you have the light rail (Luas) and train station right by if you want to give your feet a rest. With the light rail going right by the hotel, it does get a little noisy but with the awesome bed and busy days walking around in Dublin we didn't have any trouble sleeping.

We will definitely go back and have already recommended the Ashling to friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Ashling is a great hotel. We arrived in Dublin early on Easter Monday morning - got a Airport transfer bus to Heuston train station, which was probably about 20 minutes away from the airport (might take longer in rush hour) and cost 10 euro return (or 6 one way). From the bus terminus at Heuston station, it is literally right across the river - a two minute walk.

We had emailed the hotel, as we knew we would be arriving at about 9am, and they said it was OK to store our bags behind reception for a few hours, as we weren't able to check in until later in the day. However, when we arrived at Reception, the extremely kind lady told us that she had a room available for us and we could check in early. Consequently, we were set up in our room by about 5 past 9.

The rooms are nicely decorated, and large. We had a superior room, and it had a super king size bed, TV, dressing table, coffee table and chairs, hot beverage making facilities and a sizable bathroom, with toiletries included.

Our room looked over a little park in front of the hotel, over the river, towards the Guiness factory. The tram lines are right in front of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper, beware, but we didn't hear anything. The tram station is a couple of minutes walk away (either at Heuston train station, or two minutes in the other direction too). It takes perhaps five to ten minutes to the city centre, and costs 6 euro for an all day ticket.

We bought an open top tour bus ticket - it's a hop-on-hop-off service, and costs 16 euro for a 2 day ticket (and I think it was 22 including an airport transfer...). There is a stop just outside the hotel, and it is a really good tour - most of the drivers do the commentary themselves, so you don't just hear the same things over and over, as they obviously put there own spin on it. We found it very good value - much better than the tram.

The beds are very comfy, and the room was cleaned every day (we were there three nights). We didn't have breakfast there, as we were room only, and we also didn't eat in the restaurant, but the menu did look nice and it was reasonable prices.

There are a couple of nice bars and restaurants within walking distance - we especially liked Nancy Hands - fab people, lovely looking pub, and you can sit on a "serve yourself" table...amazing!

I would definitely recommend the Ashling - it's a beautiful hotel, well worth it's 4 star staus. The staff are friendly and helpful, and it is within easy reach of everything that Dublin has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restauratn, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.