We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service and Accommadations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and Accommadations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

We checked in much latter than we planned, almost 10PM and the staff was amazing. They kept the restaurant open just for us and we had the entire staff waiting on us hand and foot in the most fantasic dining room (tudor with black lacquer chandeliers and purple/bue tulips). The hotel/castle is being totalling moderized and we had one of the new rooms. The hall carpeting was just layed and the new modern lounge will probably be open by the weekend. After a fabulous dinner we had cocktails in front of the fireplace in the Knights Pub. Then we retired to our room in the wee hours after exporing the castle.
I could see the castle tower from my room, since we had an inside room. The bed had the thickest down comforter and freshest sheets (nothing like white, white, white.....and elegant covers and pillows). The bathroom was marvelous, with a rainshower head and medium size tub, and the softest toilet paper I ever had with great toiletries. They even had shortbreads with the in room coffee/tea maker. Since we had an early flight in the AM, they called personnally to make sure we were up and the taxi driver was waiting at reception when we checked out. Book on their website 2 weeks in advance and you will get a fantastic rate.

  • Liked — The restarant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book on their website 2 weeks in advance.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    434
    189
    79
    58
See reviews for
318
892
41
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

If you are looking for a mixture of the terribly old with the fabulous new, then this is the place to be. Only a short taxi journey from the airport and located in the up market, quiet suburban area of Clontarf, this hotel will take your breath away. Please ignore all the wingers, complaining that this is not a real castle, at these room prices, what are they expecting? What you do get for your money at this hotel is a refreshing mix of the old and new, not to mention some of the most comfortable beds in Dublin. The staff are polite and can't really do enough for you. The standard rooms come with fluffy towels, ironing board, plasma Tv, beautiful furnishings and the housekeeping is spotless. 24 hour room service is at your beck and call and the food in the Indigo Lounge is superb, offering a great choice. The waiter that served us at dinner had obviously been trained by the best as his service and friendly manner was exceptional. Obviously, the hotel is a popular choice at the weekend for conferences and weddings, so if you are looking for a romantic weekend away from it all, then it may be a little crowded. For a 1st class place to stay in The Fair City, this is an excellent choice and we cant wait to go back. A touristy hint: If you decide to walk to the Dart Station from the Hotel, walk to Killester Station rather than Clontarf Station, as it miles and will save sore feet

  • Liked — The Beds!
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was wonderful
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't have additional veg with your main course, leave room for your dessert...its well worth it!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the valley
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

It is advertised as a castle, from the outside it looks like a castle and only part of the lobby looks like that. It is set in a residential area with out any surrounding grounds. The rooms are all modern, which was not how they described them. When I asked about their dining room, and made reservations for a special anniversary dinner, they failed to let me know know that when I arrived it was undergoing renovation, and had been scheduled for 3 months ahead of time. Overall experience, disappointing, would not recommend.

  • Liked — the rooms were ok but not expecting modern
  • Disliked — the false info i recieved before the trip from the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — don't book this property
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

Great proximity to Dublin. A short drive or cab ride and you're in the thick of the city, yet it was so nice to come back to the quiet tranquil area of the castle hotel. The castle/hotel is very nice, doesn't look like a REAL old castle, looks built not so long ago. But still it 's neat and has a couple of pubs and a restaurant right in it and lots of areas to sit and read by the giant fireplace or have some wine and chat with freinds in any of the tucked away seating areas. Our room was on the top floor and had the most unique slanted cieling with windows that swung completly open. We could see the water but that area of the bay is full of industrial buildings and equiptment. Still we had a nice walk through the local neighborhood down to the stone walled waterfront with sidewalk. Strolled down to a local pub for a Bulmers on tap - highly recommended.

The worst part was just the directions to get there in the very begining. We were really confused as streets are only marked on one side of the 'wall' and placed very low. We just stumbled on the castle in the end as it's off of a turn circle with five ways to go. They really need to have signs all the way in from the main road saying 'Clontarf' at every turn.

  • Liked — Location to city
  • Disliked — Hard to find as streets are poorly marked
  • Tips/Secrets — Americans like me, driving on the opposite side of the car and opposite side of the raod with bad signage was stressful. I suggest taxis and tour buses. Cheaper than renting a car I bet, and you'll be more relaxed.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

We were so excited about staying in a real Irish Castle, but our expectations were somewhat tainted by the fact that there was loud jack hammering going on in the hotel (somewhere above our room). As honeymooners we were looking forward to an afternoon of luxury in our lovely room - which was lovely with an enormous and soft bed and lovely modern and clean bathroom. The room also included a bar fridge and iron - almost non existent in Europe. However all afternoon, all we could hear was this loud construction hammering - so loud we could not hear each other talk or hear the tv. My husband rang the front desk and complained three times, only to be told each time they would investigate the noise and it would stop after 5pm. It didn't. We asked to change rooms but this was not possible. Eventually, on the fourth phone call, the noise stopped and they offered us a complimentary meal in the hotel restauarant as compensation. The meal was delightful and we enjoyed ourselves enourmously during the evening sitting later in the foyer admiring the castle and its large fireplace and atmosphere. They also offer free internet access in the foyer which was great. Clontarf Castle is only a short drive from the city centre yet located far enough away to feel like a retreat. The construction, which was obviously part of a renovation, was the only problem. We wish we were advised of this when we booked.

  • Liked — the historical castle section was amazing
  • Disliked — the construction noise above our room
  • Tips/Secrets — check whether there is any renovations going on before you book
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

We stayed here for a long weekend 5-8 August. Flew from Newcastle with Ryanair. No problems and it only cost £27 pp return including taxes.
We booked the castle as we were not bothered about being in the centre of town. It took about 20 mins in a taxi from the airport. On arrival there was a wedding in full swing. [ one of three while we were there!] Our room was 121 and had obviously just been refurbished. Everything was brand new and thankfully there was also air conditioning. The bed was one of the most comfortable i have ever slept in!
The hotel itself was very nice. Not as big as i had expected but tastefully decorated. The main restaurant served breakfast which was very good. Choice of cereal, fruit juices, cold meats and cooked breakfast with the best black pudding i have ever tasted! We did not eat in the hotel at night. The first night we ate at an Italian around the corner but felt really ripped off. 31 euros for king prawns before you even get any veg!
The next night we ate in town at a Thai restaurant which was brilliant. Food was fantastic and nowhere near as expensive as the italian!
Wew walked into town which is about 2 miles. A taxi cost about 10 euros, but the exercise did us good.
We had a really nice weekend and would definitely go back again. Not that impressed with Temple Bar which is where all the tourists go. Reminded me of the 'Big Market' in Newcastle. I must be getting old!
Next time we would hire a car to see the real Ireland but would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

The castle hotel is great and the drive up to the castle took your breath away.

As you enter the castle reception you really feel the wow factor.

Then you enter your standard room (not sure about the superior rooms) and my stomach just sank. There was a wedding on at the hotel and we could hear the music like I was standing in front of a speaker until 12.30. Which meant that getting an early night was out of the question.

The room is basic with a double bed and a sofa bed in front of the TV that is pulled out and made. The sofa bed looked like something out of a student’s apartment. I guess this is ok if you have kids but we only booked a room for two. Defiantly not 4*!!!!!

We booked the 'thanks goodness it's Friday package' which included an evening meal and breakfast.

The evening meal was something to die for great service and great food.

The breakfast was really nice as well and you could help yourself to a hot and cold buffet.

I did like the hotel itself but the rooms could have been a lot better. Especially since the price is not that cheap and the location is not all that either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin Ireland is a perfect blend of boutique and luxury, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 2 miles from Dublin Airport, Clontarf Castle Hotel is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clontarf Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.