We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We enjoyed a wonderful 5 night stay (30 Sep - 4 Oct 2008) at Clontarf Castle Hotel in conjunction with a conference held there, and we highly recommend it (with a "Caution", see below).

I researched the hotel on Trip Advisor, and found poor reviews, along with excellent ones. Knowing that there seems to be consistent problems with noise, I sent an email to Siobhan Fagan and Gabriela Santos at Clontarf Castle Hotel addressing our concerns about noise and requesting a quiet room, a top sheet for the bed (another complaint found in the reviews), and extra towels. Ms. Fagan and Ms. Santos followed up and graciously accommodated our requests.

Our room was comfortable and clean (as noted in so many of the past reviews), and wonderfully quiet. Two minor negative comments about our room: the hair dryer was mounted inside a drawer in the dresser, making it a little awkward to use; the bar of soap was annoying small and constantly slipped out of the wire soap holder.

Our room rate included breakfast, which we would rate as excellent, with the exception of the scrambled eggs on the buffet (they had a funny taste and texture). Another minor negative comment about breakfast: the pancakes are listed on the menu as coming with berries (seasonal?); mine came with a marmalade, which I would have liked to have known about beforehand (I was so looking forward to the berries).

All of the hotel staff we encountered were helpful, attentive and caring, but some staff members in particular stood out, especially Ms. Fagan and Concierges Ankur and Vijay; the management /owner(s) of Clontarf Castle are fortunate to have such dedicated and efficient staff. I would also like to commend the hotel management in supporting guest feedback on Trip Advisor - not many properties read and respond to guest reviews.

Now, the caution: Clontarf Castle Hotel is a lovely and romantic property - truly a beautiful setting for weddings and parties. I found that most of the negative comments on Trip Advisor involve noise from wedding receptions/parties (music in particular). The last night of our stay was a Friday and we returned to the hotel around 11:30 pm, having taken the bus from center city Dublin. As we walked up the park-like path to the hotel from the street we heard a very loud (very bad) band playing music even before we got to the hotel parking lot. Once inside the lobby, the noise was extremely loud, however, our room (which was on the opposite side of the hotel and not near the function rooms) was peacefully quite. So the caution is, consider that weekends are prime time for wedding receptions and parties when booking your room, and that you may, unfortunately, experience the noise problem that is consistently commented on in the negative reviews on Trip Advisor.

Our stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel was a delightful highlight of our trip to Dublin - we loved it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I'm delighted to hear that your stay was most enjoyable and indeed the highlight of your trip to Dublin.

As you know we do very much appreciate all kinds of customer feedback as it helps us to improve our services and guarantee a high level of professionalism within Clontarf Castle Hotel.

As we are a 12th century castle, we are a very unique property, thus many weddings, conferences and functions etc do take place in the hotel as a result of our blend of boutique and uber chic surroundings. From the strikingly historical exterior to the warm Irish welcome waiting inside, the emphasis throughout is on luxury and glamour.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time out to let me know how your visit went and on behalf of myself and the whole team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    430
    189
    79
    58
See reviews for
316
889
41
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We have just returned from a 4 day break in Dublin and stayed at the Clontarf Castle Hotel. We found the hotel to be everything we wished for - It provided outstanding quality in a great location.
We had e-mailed the hotel beforehand to ask if we could leave our case with them in the morning, as we had an early flight from Edinburgh. This was no problem for them, and in fact when we arrived at 11am our room was ready for us!
The room was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and provided everything we needed. We found the Staff to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast was taken in the restaurant and although self service, provided a vast array of hot and cold items.
The hotel is outside the Centre of Dublin, but was easily accessed by the number 130 bus from the centre of town, the journey only took about 10 minutes. We had purchased a rambler smartcard at the airport which provided unlimited Dublin bus travel including the Airlink bus to and from the Airport. We felt this to be very good value and saved us having to find the correct fare each time.
We did not have any evening meals in the hotel, and although the menu looked good, the prices appeared steep.
All in all, we had a fantastic break in Dublin and would definately return to the Clontarf Castle Hotel again, as well as recommend it to family and friends.

  • Liked — Quality rooms, spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
Dear Guest,

I'm delighted to hear that your trip to Clontarf Castle Hotel was everything you wished for.

I also wish to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Here at Clontarf Castle we very much encourage customer feedback as it allows us to ensure that all of our guests have a most memorable visit.

You are indeed correct that we are in a great location. Ideally situated just 2 miles from city centre, 5 miles from Dublin Airport and within close proximity to the local fishing village of Howth. Clontarf Castle is in an ideal location to experience Dublin at it's finest!

On behalf of the team here at Clontarf Castle we very much look forward to your return in the near future.


Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Westmeath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Stayed one night in Clontarf Castle and thought it was Fab! highly recommend it! staff were very friendly and the rooms were so cosy and clean! eventhough the two restaurants were booked out that night, we had food in Knights Bar and the service was excellent! will definetly stay there again... also, it is very near Dublin City and a drive away from Howth.

  • Liked — decor and friendliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted to hear that your time spent in Clontarf Castle was most enjoyable.

It was a pity that our restaurant Fahrenheit Grill was full during your stay, however hopefully you will get the opportunity in the future to experience our dry aged beef or seafood. As all of our produce comes from local suppliers therefore we can ensure freshness and the best quality of flavour.

You are indeed correct that we are very near city centre. We are ideally located just 2 miles from city centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport. Therefore you have the choice to visit the main hustle and bustle or you may decide to opt for the quieter local fishing village of Howth.

Once again, many thanks for your review and should you have any queries at all, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

I spent two nights here as a Birthday present to Dublin for my partner. The hotel is in a lovely quiet setting, and the room was great. Some helpful hints: we got cabs into the city (10-15mins on average) and they cost between 12-15 Euros. The cab drivers were very friendly and helpful. I would prefer to stay at Clontarf and get cabs than stay directly in the city centre due to the hussle and bustle [extra tip - cab to/from the airport varied depending on traffic from 18-23 Euros]. The Hotel was busy with large functions taking place in the confernece rooms, however this did not disturb us in any way. The Knights Bar was also very reasonably priced for drinks/night caps. Hotel overall was very clean and welcoming.
On our last evening we decided to eat in the Hotel but didn't get back from the city centre early enough and they had stopped serving (10pm). We ordered room service instead which was lovely, only negative was that it took 45mins to arrive and it was nearly 11:30pm by that point!

  • Liked — Its quiet setting
  • Disliked — The room service waiting time
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that your Birthday visit was most memorable and that you enjoyed the tranquil settings of Clontarf Castle Hotel whilst at the same time being easily accessilble to the city centre.

On behalf of the team here at Clontarf Castle Hotel we very much would like to thank you for your kind review and are looking forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

My boyfriend and I booked a one night special offer. We were celebrating the finishing of his thesis so rest and relaxation were top of the list! We booked a double deluxe room and the offer came with champaign, chocolate cake and a full breakfast.

The room was spacious and comfortable. It had a nice dining area in one corner, plenty of storage space, a flat screen TV with pay-per-view movies as well as broadband, and a pristine bathroom. The bed was very generous in size and wonderfully comfortable with a pillow-top mattress.

The service was absolutely impeccable. The only problem was to do with the TV and the concierge arrived almost instantly and fixed the problem. All members of staff were courteous and professional. Right from the moment we walked in we were given excellent service.

We ordered room service for dinner and it was delicious. Our complimentary champaign and cake arrived promptly and perfectly chilled. We chose to have our breakfast delivered to our room; it was a lovely way to start the day.

We were extremely happy with our stay, especially since it was for a special occasion. I would not hesitate to book again. For one thing, I'll have to go back so we can try out the two bars. I loved how some seating and tables were in little nooks and crannies of the old stone walls and lit by candlelight. Perfect for a romantic evening!

  • Liked — The service, the food, everything really, especially the lovely concierge that fixed our TV problem!
  • Disliked — The minibar prices, but I think that's a universal thing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you and your boyfriend had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us.

There are a number of different packages available on our website, therefore if you do decide to re-visit Clontarf Castle Hotel, don't forget to check out our site!

On behalf of the team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Perhaps this time you may get to experience our restaurant Fahrenheit Grill, and two bars, the chic Indigo Lounge & the more traditional Knights Bar.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen - Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Although we did have an excellent stay, there were a few issues but nothing major enough to stop us going back. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The room was great, we were in the new part but that made no difference to us the room was lovely, the bed massive and really comfy. The bathroom was also good with a great shower. The only problem was an issue with towels, they would take away the ones we left on the floor for washing but only replace a set for 1 person when both of us needed towels, although when we asked for them they were prompty delivered. But you only realise you need them when you have just come out of the shower! There is a public service bus that takes you down into Dublin very close to the hotel and it runs regulary, you are 1.70 euro for a single. So we used this a few times to go into the centre. You don't get sky sports in the room which was a bit of a pain as we had got hooked on the golf. Be careful when you check out! We booked a taxi and breakfast for 4.30 am on the morning we left. The breakfast didn't arrive so I called and it did, they said they delayed the taxi but it expired it had never been booked either. Also as others have complained on arrival to check out a heap of mini bar items and food were on our room bill that we didn't have! When we highlighted it the reception staff did correct it but be careful and check your bill. But apart from these minor issues the stay was great, the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good. Go you will love it!

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Disliked — lack of towels
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay, however I am pleased that any issues you experienced have been brought to my attention.

Here at Clontarf Castle we very much appreciate customer feedback as it allows us to ensure that all of our guests have a most memorable time when they visit our hotel.

My apologies regarding the issues you have raised, however you can be rest assured that no feedback goes unnoticed.

I very much hope that you re-visit Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the near future and on behalf of the team here, we once again wish to thank you for all of your feedback.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Clontarf Castle. Our room was very nice and very clean. It looked exactly like the pictures on the website. The beds were large and comfortable. The room was a bit small, but we had an area to put our luggage, so it was fine. There were shortbread cookies & tea/coffee in our room, which was nice. We were traveling with 2 other people, so we saw their rooms as well - both were very nice. One was a cute attic-like room which was perfect for a single traveler.
Our first night there we decided to eat at the hotel. We ate in the Knights Bar and we all enjoyed our meals. The staff was very nice and attentive. The Indigo bar closes early, so we never had a chance to go in there. It was surprising it closed so early (I think 4pm) since it was a really nice bar and the Knights Bar was packed with people.
The trip to Dublin was a little far, but not terrible. We opted to take the bus since the stop was just outside the entrance to the hotel. It look about 30 minutes since the bus made several stops. We were dropped off in the city center. We opted for a cab ride back (from The Guinness Factory) which the cab driver estimated to cost $18 EUR - but ended up costing $30 EUR due to traffic. We probably should’ve stuck with the bus.
I thought the concierge was great. We asked for suggestions for dinner in nearby Howeth and had an excellent meal. The concierge was very helpful and really nice.
Overall we had a great time at Clontarf and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in Clontarf Castle Hotel.

As you previously mentioned regarding the transportation to and from city centre, you are indeed correct about the local bus stop situated directly outside the front of the hotel. However one "traveller friendly tip" would be to walk down to the seafront (Clontarf Road) which should only take approxiamately 5-7 minutes to the other bus stop there. This will certainly cut out a lot of stops from the bus journey and significantly reduce your journey time!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and should you have any future enquries, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin Ireland is a perfect blend of boutique and luxury, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 2 miles from Dublin Airport, Clontarf Castle Hotel is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clontarf Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.