We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a Castle, felt like a queen !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Living in a Castle, felt like a queen !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

As soon as I arrived through the gate of this wonderful place I felt like the queen of the castle. It is so cute, so much fun and there really is no such welcome as an Irish welcome.

Maybe the best aspect of the hotel is the pub, it was really nice and I could get a real taste of Dublin without having to leave my fairy tale castle.

On the prctical side, the food is great, the service is both friendly and efficient, the rooms and bathrooms are superbly clean, the internet is strong, and the bed was very comfy. Plus it is a castle !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really delighted to read all your comments. It sounds like you had a great stay at the hotel. I'm so pleased you found the service to be so efficient as we strive to achieve excellent standards in this area.
Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you ever return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    483
    200
    81
    60
See reviews for
353
978
45
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

It's a short drive from the airport with free parking and not a bad walk to the DART. It's a short ride on the DART to the beachside towns ~15-20min and ~15-20min to downtown Dublin. The prices were some of the best we came across in Ireland at the time we were traveling. We spent 2 nights there. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The room was quiet as well despite the hotel being nearly full. Staff at the front desk were very helpful though often very busy with new guests as well. The breakfast is convenient with a reasonably large variety of foods. Don't expect your specialty coffee to arrive in a timely fashion though--they appear to be fairly understaffed in the mornings. We had purchased a special deal with a "romantic" dinner at the hotel restaurant included--the food was overcooked and the choices were quite limited--we would probably not bother with that option again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I'm delighted you were happy with the location and the value of the hotel as well as your room and the service you received. Our breakfast service can be very busy and I apologise for any delay you experienced, however I'm glad you were impressed with the food. I am very sorry that you were not as satisfied with the dinner you received as part of your package. This is surprising as we are often complimented on the quality of food in our restaurant, however I will look in to this issue. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The room was comfortable. The bed was soft. Although we had a problem with the heat it was a little cold. Our only complaint was the shower was ridiculously too small.
The breakfast was outstanding. The service was very good too. The pub had a good atmosphere the food was good.

Room Tip: Make sure the heat works and the shower is big enough to at least close the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the castle. I'm glad you liked your room, the bar and the food. I'm particularly pleased you were impressed with the service you received as we aim to provide excellent customer service to our guests. I am sincerely sorry that you were not impressed with the shower in your room and also that there was a problem with your temperature controls. I will investigate the temperature control issue, thank you for highlighting this. Many thanks again for your review, we appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Clontarf Castle Hotel is a lovely hotel close to Dublin City centre. The rooms are fairly small but the beds are the most comfortable ever!! We had breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel, all very good. There was a complimentary bottle of wine with our evening meal. Also we were given a welcome drink. This was a living social deal. If there was a leisure centre it would be perfect!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you have such a lovely stay at the castle. It's great to read that you felt the bed was one of the best you have ever slept in. Unfortunately we don't have a leisure centre, however there is one located very close by which we highly recommend to our guests. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was at this Hotel last Friday(13/12) for the Company Christmas work outing. As it happened it was an extremely busy night with many other Companies also having their work outings here. The Bar Service was terrible, admittedly the Staff were rushed off their feet but I (and many others) had to go to the Bar myself after waiting almost three quarters of an hour for a round of drinks which never arrived. Whatever about that given the time of year etc, the actual Christmas Dinner arrived minus one course (the salad), the Dinner consisted of "Turkey and Ham", no Roast Potatoes or Sprouts, just Carrots and Turnip. All in all, a very disappointing meal with very poor service indeed. Would not recommend this for any Work related outing and would not use this Hotel again myself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused to you. I was very disappointed to read your comments as the feedback we have received has overall been very positive. Please could you contact me at your own convenience or email me your phone number and would be more than happy to discuss this with you further. My number is 01 8332321 and my email is mlong@clontarfcastle.ie. Many thanks again for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Clare Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay in Clontarf Castle once again for an overnight recently.
Staff are friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Room was excellent with a huge luxurious bed with plush pillows. Breakfast had ample choice of fresh fruits, pastries, and of course the hot buffet breakfast. The hotel boasts a wonderful atmosphere combining the old castle with contemporary style while never losing it's charm.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I really enjoyed reading your review, it's great to get feedback from a return guest. I'm delighted you find the staff to be so professional as we aim to achieve excellent standards in customer service. Many thanks again for your lovely feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed at the Clontarf Castle lots of times, twice within the last month and will return again soon. Slight hiccup re room but sorted quickly and professionally with Ciara at reception! Love this Hotel, free parking and friendly staff! Keep it up please!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. We love hearing from return guests and I'm delighted that your feedback is so positive. I'm glad you found the staff to be so professional as we aim to achieve excellent customer service standards. Many thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel, we really appreciate it. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin Ireland is a perfect blend of boutique and luxury, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 2 miles from Dublin Airport, Clontarf Castle Hotel is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clontarf Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.