We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place to stay in dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning place to stay in dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a three night stay in the beautiful clontarf castle. The moment we saw the castle on arrival we were absolutely wowed, this place is completely stunning! The lady on reception who greeted us on arrival was lovely, the staff at this hotel are excellent, all very helpful and welcoming. I particularly liked how all members of staff would say hello as you walked past and ask how you are. Great customer service! The hotel is located right by a bus stop which is very convenient, make sure you have change for it though! No notes accepted! The staff were happy to change our notes to change for us. Breakfast was included in our stay and the buffet was lovely each day. Highly recommend this hotel and already looking at returning soon!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you and your partner had such a lovely stay at the castle. I'm so pleased you were impressed with our customer service as this is very important to us. It's also great that you enjoyed your meals and found the location of the hotel to be so convenient. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to all the staff here at Clontarf Castle Hotel. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We would love to welcome you back to the castle in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    487
    204
    82
    60
See reviews for
359
990
45
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The staff were very friendly and polite. From the moment we arrived they were very welcoming and helpful. The bed was big and comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. The room was spotless, cleaned to a high standard with mod decor.
My negative about this hotel is, for me, I was attending a function in the hotel and I enjoy a late bar or residents bar as a perk of checking into a hotel. There was a group of 6-8 of us in the residents bar (which only serves you drink been charged to your room which I really didn't like as you can go a bit wild and have no control over your spending) but it closed at 3:00 am! Late enough for some people but I had just walked in when they said they were finished serving! This is a first for me and a BIG minus in my opinion! I like the option of a late drink I can pay cash for.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the staff at the castle to be so welcoming and helpful during your stay. We strive to achieve excellent standards of customer care, so I'm pleased that you experienced this. I am sincerely sorry that you were disappointed by our residents bar policy and I do hope that this didn't cause too much inconvenience for you. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Booked a triple room which was very spacious with a roomy bathroom. Great surroundings and easy access to bus services into the city centre. Great meals in the Knights Bar and a good selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was so pleased to read your review and to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It's great that you were pleased with your room, the location of the hotel and the selection of food available at the castle. Our guests often compliment the food at the castle and we are always delighted with the great feedback we get. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel was the highlight of out trip around Ireland and Scotland. From the moment we walked in the door, until we left everything was superb.The room was extremely clean and roomy, tastefully decorated and quiet. Our meal in the Knight Grill exceptional, as was out breakfast the next morning. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We caught a bus directly outside the Castle to Dublin and back. The whole experience was one we will always remember and hope to return one day. Our bed at the Castle was the most comfortable throughout our trip and we slept in 30 different beds over 33 days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was absolutely thrilled to read your comments on your stay at the castle, to hear that staying with us was the highlight of your month long trip throughout Ireland and Scotland is just amazing. I'm so glad you liked your room, your meals and the staff at the castle. I'll be sure to pass all your comments on to all members of staff at the castle. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would love to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were recently in Dublin and stayed at the castle. Our room was very nice, small (according to American standards) but very well maintained and clean and room furniture all in good condition. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom very clean and spacious. Had room service which arrived very promptly. Breakfast was excellent, staff attentive and very gracious. Would love to stay here again should the opportunity arise for a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really pleased to read that you were so impressed with the quality standards in the hotel, particularly your room, the food and the staff. I'll be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all the staff here at the castle. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

....you may not want to sleep here. Nice hotel. We were here for a wedding reception and I stayed in Clontarf Castle the night before. The room was great, but not enough little niceties, such as slippers, shower caps, etc for the price. The noise from the party downstairs was just thumping through the room. Fortunately it quieted down by midnight for me, but other people I knew staying there were kept up all night by the noise. The food at the reception was wonderful, but meals I had other days in the pub part were just so-so. Breakfast was excellent with good service. The night of the reception (Saturday) there were FOUR events going on at the same time, so I can only imagine what it was like trying to sleep there that night. The weeknights I was up there to visit in the bar, there always seemed to be a wedding going on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the wedding reception you attended at the castle. However, I was sorry to read that the function on in the castle during your stay disrupted you. The castle is very popular and we always strive to maintain excellent service standards, however you have my sincere apologies for the noise issues you encountered. I can assure you that this is not our usual service standard. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and we completely take your comments on board. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Spent two nights at Clontarf Castle last week. The room we stayed in was small, but really all we needed in Dublin. The breakfast buffet was well put together. The highlight is that hop-on hop-off bus comes right to the hotel for pick up once a day (it does not drop off). The castle is a short walk through a nice neighborhood to the waterfront for dinner. The castle is also not that far from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay with us. I'm glad you liked the hop on hop off bus which leaves the castle every morning at 9am during this season. Many of our guests find this very convenient. Many thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manger
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin Ireland is a perfect blend of boutique and luxury, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 2 miles from Dublin Airport, Clontarf Castle Hotel is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clontarf Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.