We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived at Clontarf Castle the day before we were headed back to the states. The rooms were very comfortable and the air was working which was a huge plus given the hot summer weather we were having. Everyone was pleasant and it felt good to stay here after staying at a B&B. Cute decor and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was really happy with all your comments, it was great to read that you had a very comfortable stay at the castle and that you found everyone to be so pleasant. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be happy to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    483
    200
    81
    59
See reviews for
353
977
44
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we’ve spent almost 3 months in ireland over the course of six visits and this is a hotel i’d been wanting to visit, but the reviews and timing just never quite worked out. this time i forced it, for our last night in ireland, and was pleasantly surprised. usually i appreciate the more classic castle environment, such as waterford, but for some reason clontarf seemed to fit just right.

the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms immaculate with more than adequate space in a clearly updated and modern setting. the breakfast was first class, beyond what i’d expected from what i perceived to be essentially downtown hotel playing on the “castle” history. perhaps best of all, the price was very affordable, especially for what you get and the location. even though we had a flight out the next morning, the traffic was very manageable. so much so, that i plan on staying at clontarf next visit to dublin and look forward to what further renovations they have in store.

Room Tip: the hotel has great shades for windows so i'm not sure there is an advantage to some rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the castle, all of your comments were great and I'm very glad you were so happy. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. I'm delighted you plan on returnint to stay with us again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a modern hotel built around a genuine and very old castle. So you get the history and modern amenities. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the beds slept well. The hotel is in in a residential area, very peaceful and quiet. It is a little out of city center, but the bus is just a few blocks away, or take a taxi. The restaurant and pub are excellent and the food is very good. I recommend the hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I was really happy to read your comments and see how much you enjoyed your stay at the castle. I really appreciate your kind recommendation. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and we would love to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Loved the place, I come from the surrounding area and have known about the hotel since it first opened, and was glad to finally get a chance to stay there.

The setting in a suburban castle is unique and offers great charm. The lobby with the ceiling going up multiple storeys to the top of the tower has an excellent atmosphere.

The room decor was modern, tasteful and relatively trendy. The staff were all excellent and very friendly. The breakfast was great, and we had a steak dinner in the restaurant, which mixed great food with great service. The prices for the early bird menu (which is also all night Monday to Thursday) are extremely reasonable.

The only downside is it's not in the city centre, and about 10 to 15 minutes walk from the nearest suburban rail. But buses into the city stop just around the corner. The seafront is only a 2 minute walk away and is a lovely place to jog.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was really happy to read all your comments. I'm so glad that you had such a nice stay at the castle and that you found the location and the staff to be excellent. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We loved Clontarf Castle. It is a beautiful building with modern, clean interiors. The restaurant was lovely and quite reasonably priced. Staff were very helpful making sure we knew were we were going and had the right change for the bus. The bus stop is a few minutes walk and the journey in to town only 15 minutes with no traffic. We couldn't be bothered waiting for the bus back so we got a taxi and it only cost 10 euro. The bus leaves you just off O'Connell Street but quite a long section of the road is one way so ask at reception where you get the return bus from.
The only thing is that in the summer there will be weddings there most Saturdays which means the restaurant and bar can lack atmosphere for a few hours. No doubt if you wander down at 1 or 2 there will be a decent sing song going in the residents bar. Breakfast was nice but very busy so don't wait to long to get there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was very happy to read that you had a lovely stay and that you really enjoyed your time in Dublin and at the castle. I'm delighted you found the staff to be so friendly and that you ate in the restaurant and enjoyed your meal. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I wanted to write a review following a recent two night stay at Clontarf Castle to thank them for their kindness and helpfulness. Our 3 year old son had a nasty accident in our hotel room and we immediately rushed him down to reception. The staff stopped everything to help us, and they called an ambulance which took us to Temple Street hospital where my son stayed until Sunday morning after surgery on a facial injury (don't worry, he's back to his old self with a cool Indiana Jones scar)
During this ordeal, the hotel staff bent over backwards to help us, from arranging and paying for our numerous taxi trips back and forth to the hospital, to throwing together an impressive takeaway breakfast for my wife who had stayed over night at the hospital. We were both touched by the genuine concern the staff displayed.
So, although we probably saw more of the (excellent) hospital than this lovely hotel, we can still attest to the beautiful rooms, the excellent food and most importantly, the generous and professional staff, who make this hotel feel a lot quainter than than you might expect from its grand appearance.
We'll definitely be back and next time we hope to enjoy more of the hotel than we were afforded this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was delighted to read that your son is feeling much better now, that's really great news. I'm also very pleased that you found the staff dealt with the situation with professionalism and kindness. We really do care for all our guests and want them to have the best possible experience. I'm so pleased you'll be returning to visit us in the future, hopefully you will enjoy more time relaxing in the castle next time! Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ended our tour of Ireland at this hotel. What a perfect hotel to end our vacation in Ireland. It is a luxurious property tucked away in suburban Dublin....very quiet area. We didn't bother driving in Dublin but used the bus instead. It was more convenient. The bus stop was only a few blocks from the hotel. The hotel is very modern and clean. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Everybody was more than happy to assist in any way that they could. We had breakfast at the hotel and the food was good. Overall, the Clontarf Castle is a perfect base in Dublin if you don't want to be in the city center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was really delighted with all your comments, it's so great that you had such an enjoyable stay at the castle. I'm glad you found the staff, the food and the location to be so good. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We'd love to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin Ireland is a perfect blend of boutique and luxury, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 2 miles from Dublin Airport, Clontarf Castle Hotel is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clontarf Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.