We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Hotel with average pricing - great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superior Hotel with average pricing - great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this "hotel in a castle" on our last evening in Ireland. I picked this hotel for it's proximity to the Dublin Int'l Airport and it's easy access to Dublin center city, within 5 miles. I was travelling with my husband, son and daughter in law on our first trip to Ireland. What we experienced was so much MORE! What an elegant hotel and a wonderful "near city, yet quiet" setting. What fun to walk into a castle past the "knights in armor" and find a perfectly modern hotel with excellent customer service, superior room accommodations (incl. American plug in's), many great restaurants located within - all for the average price of a chain-type hotel! The Knight's Bar was a great 'castle-themed' pub with excellent food and Dympana, our server, provided the best customer service I've ever experienced! Just wish we could have stayed longer than 1 nite and if we EVER get back to Ireland - we will indeed make the Clontarf Castle Hotel a must stay - long enough to enjoy all their amenities. Try it - you will be so happy you did.

Room Tip: Ask for any special needs or wants when making your reservation - they will absolutely try to fulfil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay with us and thank you for taking the time to recommend us so highly. I'll be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to Dymphna in Knights Bar. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    481
    197
    81
    59
See reviews for
350
971
43
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Finished off my holiday with two nights stay at the Clontarf Castle Hotel and could have stayed two more weeks because it was so lovely. Such a beautiful place!! Room was quiet, clean, comfortable and affordable. Enjoyed our morning breakfast and chatting with the amazing staff. Located in a very nice neighborhood with a quick taxi ride into the city or a lovely walk on a path around the business park. I will come back and stay and will tell all my friends about the beautiful Clontarf Castle Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. It sounds like you had a fantastic time during your stay. I was happy to read that you found the staff to be so good and that you could have stayed for longer as you were enjoying yourself so much. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be happy to welcome you back in the future if you return back to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Was traveling with my husband and his parents, and we were blown away by everything here: the gorgeous atmosphere, service, warmth of the staff, quality of the rooms and excellent food in the Knight's Bar. While getting some very helpful info from the concierge, we overheard another seemingly stressed traveller having a minor meltdown over some dissatisfaction with his room, and then watched as a manager sat down with the guy and let him vent for 10 minutes. He was very calm and reassuring and took the time to let the guest know he was being heard and that they valued him as a client. The guest visibly relaxed and walked away happy. Classy! And our server at the Knight's Bar (Dympana), went above and beyond with the VIP treatment. My FIL asked if they had any empty bottles he could have as a keepsake for a certain type of whisky that bears our family name, and she brought him a gorgeous wooden box with info booklet from that company that absolutely made his day. We paid pretty standard hotel rates and got a super deluxe experience in a luxurious setting in return. Absolutely the best lodging I've ever experienced in the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I loved reading your review and I'm very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay. We aim to offer our guests excellent customer service so it's great to read that you experienced this during your stay. We really appreciate your lovely comments, especially - "Absolutely the best lodging I've ever experienced in the world" I'm really delighted with your feedback, thanks again for taking the time to recommend us so highly. We'd love to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

my partner and myself stayed here with a travel zoo voucher, very impressed with the hotel decor, staff pleasant and very helpful, the outdoor seating area was lovely , as the weather was so nice we were able to use this area. the room was very comfortable, as was the large bed, and the shower was great. I read another review who had said about the wait at dinner between courses, we had the same experience, but didnt mind as the surroundings and atmosphere were so nice and the company was good. would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back in the future.
The only thing i can really complain about is that we went into the centre of dublin on the day of our departure, and we left our car at the hotel, as we were having such a good time we decided to stay in the city another night, we called the hotel and asked if they could offer us a good deal for another nights stay, the member of staff would not sway on the price of £119 for room only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our outdoor seating area. This decking area is brand new to the castle and you're the first guest to comment on it in a review so I'm very happy that you liked it. Thanks again for your review, we'd love to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY Grandma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel, and it was simply amazing place to spend our last night in Ireland! The hotel is located outside the City Centre, but fairly near the airport, and it offers complimentary parking (nice, in a large city!). We learned, on this trip, that the popular Dublin Hop-on, Hop-off Tour Bus now stops in front of Clontarf, making it no longer necessary to trek into the City Centre to begin one's tour. We received an upgrade on our room, and stayed in a lovely suite with a four-poster bed, a beautifully-appointed bathroom with claw-foot soaking tub and separate shower. There was a huge round table in the dining area that separated the bedroom from the sitting area which had a very comfortable sofa and 2 chairs, and a large flat-screen TV. The bedroom had a smaller flat-screen TV, a desk with Internet service, and a mini-fridge/service area. There were 4 dormer windows that overlooked Dublin Harbor and the city skyline. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in the Fahrenheit Grill, after which we wandered down to the Knights Bar for a pint of Guinness, and an unexpected chat with a local couple we'd actually met there on our first trip to Dublin. We arose early the next morning, and enjoyed a lovely breakfast buffet, again in the Fahrenheit Grill, before checking out, and heading to the airport. How we wished we'd had more time to spend in that beautiful room (suite?) at Clontarf. We must return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room (suite) on a high floor overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I really enjoyed reading your review, it sounds like you had an amazing trip. I'm delighted you liked the castle itself so much and had such an enjoyable stay. It's also great to read that you were returning to the castle for the second time. It's lovely to hear from loyal customers. Thank you so much for your repeat custom and for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Clontarf. The rooms were spacious and met all of our needs - including an American electrical outlet. The location is lovely and an easy cab or bus ride into the city of Dublin. We even walked back from the train station to the hotel. The staff was gracious and informative answering all our many, many questions. We will be using this hotel again on our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read your review, particularly as you found the staff to be so good. We aim to offer our guests excellent customer service so I'm happy that the staff impressed you during your stay. Thanks again for the feedback, we really appreciate it. We'd love to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a unique, special place to stay. I enjoyed my stay at this castle. The lobby and the room were beautiful and I would definitely stay again! The location isn't close to the center but I stayed prior to leaving for the airport the following morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. The hotel is conveniently located for travel to and from the airport. We are outside the city but there are great public transport links directly to the city center, so our guests get the best of both worlds. Thanks again for your feedback we really appreciate it and would be happy to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin Ireland is a perfect blend of boutique and luxury, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 2 miles from Dublin Airport, Clontarf Castle Hotel is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clontarf Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.