We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clontarf Castle worth a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Clontarf Castle worth a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed over last weekend the drive down from the North was easy and the parking at the hotel free and ample. Walking into the hotel is amazing the old castle is all around and the modern reception marries into the building elegantly. Reception staff were professional and friendly. Room was compact bed was very comfortable all services were available flat screen TV wi fi kettle filims and ironing facilities. Ample hanging space in the warbrobe and drawer space.The amazing headboard which looked like tiles had low lighting coming through it.Dined in the Fahrenheit Grill on the first night dinner was tasty and served by friendly staff. Knights Bar on the second night was equally tasty and live music played.Walked to the bus and in10 minutes we were in the heart of Dublin no car worries.Got taxi back much later. Overall a great hotel to stay at previously we always stayed in Dublin centre however will probably stay outside of the hussle and bussle of Dublin centre in the future and Clontarf Castle will be the perfect location will be back.

Room Tip: We had a room to the front no noise problems.I do not give excellent as I believe excellent cannot b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really happy to read your review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great that you enjoyed the food as this is something we really pride ourselves on in our 2 bars and our restaurant. It's also great that you found the staff and your room to be so good. In terms of the hotels location, I agree with you completely that it's a fine choice to escape the busy city centre setting but also is close enough to the city with excellent public transport services. We feel we have the best of both worlds here. Thanks again for your feedback, its much appreciated and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We loved our stay at Clontarf Castle. We especially loved Michael Byrne, the Concierge. He went "above and beyond" to assist us in planning our tour of Dublin and he really listened and made suggestions for things to see based on our likes and dislikes. He was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm delighted with your comments and it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the castle so much. Our staff are a real asset to us here and we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Michael in our Concierge department, who I'm sure will be delighted with your feedback. Thanks again and we would love to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you ever return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed in Clontarf Castle with my husband and my two children for the weekend. Checkin was very smooth, room with 2double beds very spacious , FREE wifi and plenty parking spaces.
Had meal in Knights Bar Friday night , very nice great service very friendly staff.
Hotel is beautiful specially at night when lit up. Breakfast was very tasty(sausages) and attentive staff. Had dinner in Farenheit Resturant it was lovely very generous portions, overall a lovely weekend enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank slrkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm really glad to read that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel. It's great that you found the staff, the food and your room to be so good. These are all areas we pride ourselves on and we always strive to provide our guests with a high quality experience. Thanks again for your feedback we appreciate it and we'd love to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2nights at the end of Nov for a mini honeymoon, as soon as we saw the hotel we were in awe! It is truly beautiful, our room wasn't ready at first so we had lunch in the knights bar, my husband had the chowder and said it was the best he had ever had, as we were on our honeymoon we got upgraded to a suite with four poster bed, and staff sent chocolate cake to our room!such special treats! It is a little bit away from the city center but u can get a bus 1.90 euro or a cab around 10 euro, this would not deter us from staying here again!the breakfast was good with a great selection, we also had a meal here as part of our deal,that was delicious, really had a brilliant stay, im so glad we chose this hotel for our mini honeymoon

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. It was really great to read such a good review from someone who had a mini honeymoon with us. I'm delighted and honoured that you chose to spend this time in the castle and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It's great that you enjoyed the food, we often get complimented on the high quality of our food. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were in Dublin for a week visiting our son who had just started his new job at Google Dublin. We liked the pictures of the Hotel found it romantic and decided to stay here. Well, the castle looking effect is impressive, the area nice and quiet but the staff was unbelievably rude and not helpful at all. We gave them something to keep in the deep freezer and when we asked for it back, it took them 20 minutes to find it and nobody seemed to know or was interested in finding out. They were so distant that we dared not ask them anything and we had to figure out everything ourselves. The room was spacious and very clean but the staff should be really trained to behave.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm very disappointed to read that you did not leave with a good impression of the castle. You have my sincere apologies for your negative experience with staff at the castle. I can assure you that this is an extremely rare occurance and we are usually praised for the high quality customer service that our guests recieve during their stays at the hotel. However, I completely acknowledge your feedback, there is no excuse for such behaviour and I can only hope that you return to the castle in the future so we can change your first impression. Thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time while staying at Clontarf Castle. The room was very nice, the food was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Michael Byrne, concierge, went above and beyond the call of duty to help us have a great time during our stay in Dublin. He was very knowledgeable about the area and took the time with us to help us decide how best to spend what time we had in Dublin. Michael gave us some great tips of special non-traditional places to visit in Dublin and we loved every one of them. He also made sure we had transportation to get into town. Michael helped made our stay at Clontarf very special. We highly recommend the Clontarf Castle Hotel, and be sure to seek out Micheal Byrne for great service while there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read all your comments about your stay at the castle. I was particularly happy that you found the staff here to be so good. We really pride ourselves on excellent customer service. I'll be sure to pass all your great comments on to Michael in our Concierge department.
Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again if you return to Dublin in the future.

Yours Sincerly,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Clontarf Castle in Dublin Ireland. From the moment my family walked in, we were welcomed and greeted with a very friendly and helpful staff. The Castle itself is beautiful and very cool inside. My two boys loved the knight statues and all of the decorations. We truly felt comfortable and like royalty when we were there. I highly recommend the Clontarf Castle for anyone staying overnight in the Dublin area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethDayton_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. It's great to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay at the castle. I'm delighted that you found the staff to be so good and welcomings and I'll be sure to pass your comments on to them.
Thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,441 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#15 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,190 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#4 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 171 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,349 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#10 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing