We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

This was an excellent hotel the rooms were terrific.Very clean very modern as was the bathroom ( at this point I should say our walk in shower did not drain properly so first person in had to make it quick before it flooded and the second in had to wait an hour for the water to drain, not nice, and a real shame) I made four requests to have it fixed, sadly it never was. That said however, a dodgie shower did not ruin our stay. Breakfast was traditional Irish, and I assure you that you will not go hungry excellent buffet style in a delightful breakfast room. The staff in the bars were very professional and very friendly. We only had a weekend but a great visit.

The hotel is not within walking distance to the centre of Dublin. The bus which will drop you off at the City centre is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It is in a very pleasant area and buses are regular so it is not a problem. It is a 10 to 15 minute bus ride to the City centre. The bus is less than 2 euros a taxi cab is between 10 and 15 euroes depending on the mood of the driver, and the time of night. Had a very pleasant weekend.

  • Liked — friendly staff, great food, clean modern room and bathroom, great hotel in quiet location
  • Disliked — staff on front desk ignored four requests to have the shower fixed (real pity) only issue we had
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2007
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Clontarf Castle Hotel.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, however I was most disappointed at the inconvenience you experienced with the shower. I can ensure you that the problem has now been fixed and again my apologies that it wasn't sorted out during your stay.
I very much hope you consider visiting Clontarf Castle again in the near future, if you do, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    435
    189
    79
    58
See reviews for
318
893
41
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Cannot praise the hotel and the staff enough. We had such a great weekend and had family staying also and they too loved their time there. Close to Dublin city and airport. Room was gorgeous, food fantastic and staff really wonderful. Would have loved to stay on longer

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2007
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. On behalf of the team here in Clontarf Castle I am delighted that you had a great time and very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

My husband and I managed to get VERY cheap flights through Ryanair (when I say cheap how does 1p each way sound!!) and decided to go to Ireland. We were only going for a couple of days so we didn't want to travel too far. I trawled through many reviews of various hotels and stumbled across The Clontarf Castle Hotel. The reviews were good so I decided to check out their Website. By the photos on their website it looked really nice and as we saved so much on our flights I decided to treat us to a stay in a four star hotel.
When we arrived at Dublin airport we chose to get a taxi straight to the hotel as we were not hiring a car and did not know what buses etc would take us there. It cost 24 euro from the airport to the hotel door. Armed with the right information we could have easily got the bus which would have totalled about 8 euro but would have taken a lot longer. We walked into the hotel entrance and it took our breath away. Oh my god it was beautiful. The photos on the website did not do it justice at all. We booked in and went up to our room. It was a good size with a kingsize bed. The decor was modern and the bathroom was lovely with a massive mirror and huge shower head.
We decided to have a stroll around the block. Three miles later and after a couple of drinks en-route we came back to change for dinner. We decided to eat in The Knights Bar as it was lively and we were very impressed with the food.
In the morning we went for breakfast which was included in the price of our room. You had a good choice of cereals, fruit, continental or cooked breakfast, tea and coffee. They must have an excellent chef and our full Irish breakfast was not at all greasy and was an ideal start to the day.
Overall our short stay was brilliant. and we would just like to pass on a couple of bits of info to prospective holiday makers:
The bus stop - come out of the hotel reception and head straight down the road. Turn left at the bottom and walk about 2 mins to the 130 bus stop. The bus runs straight to Dublin city centre and takes about 40 mins. It cost 1.60 euro and make sure you have the exact change. The bus runs every 8 minutes or so, so you won't have to wait very long for the next one.
When you are ready to come back from the city make your way to South Abbey street (we think) where the 130 bus will bring you all the way back again. The stop you will need to ask for is Castle Avenue.
When it was time to go home we decided to get the bus to the city and then a further bus to the airport. The bus from the city to the airport was the 16a which stopped over the road from the tourist information building. It cost 1.90 euro and took about and hour(ish). You can get the express bus which only takes 30 mins and costs around 7 euro.
There is not a pub that close to the hotel. On our evening stroll we found a couple but The Knights Bar at the Hotel is great to relax in (they even put the Football on the tv so the men won't need to worry as they won't miss it)
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough to help. I would recommend this hotel to everyone planning a trip to Dublin and plan to visit it again next year.

  • Liked — The overall quality of the hotel and staff
  • Disliked — There was nothing I could fault about it.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2007
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Dublin, and even more delighted that you were very impressed by our hotel.
After completing a €10 million refurbishment we appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests.
Once again, thank you for your informative review and please keep an eye out for any special offers on our website.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Stayed Friday 14th September, Booked a double deluxe room for my wife and I before returning to England the following day.
Check in was smooth and directed to the third floor away from the loud wedding party in one of the function rooms. Room was a twin! Back to reception to be told there was no other doubles available but the twins could be zipped linked and would take about 20 minutes. Explained that I wanted a proper double as booked. Again told, one was not available, then in stepped Stephan who showed his colleague that there were in fact two doubles available, surprise showed on the face of the other receptionist. Just a pity that we had to go through this charade.
The room was excellent nice decor and clean, although we never did find out what a double deluxe room meant.
We ate in the hotels Fahrenheit Grill in the evening nice meal but woefully disorganised on the staff front, we had plenty of time which helped as it was good two hours for the two courses we had. The table next to us got a bottle of wine due to the wait and then served with a taster due to the delay of there main course, which arrived a couple of minutes after the taster, more disruption as they had to clear the tater plates whilst juggling with the main course.
The grill is also the breakfast room, if we thought dinner was disorganised breakfast was hopeless, tables not cleared, people waiting and the hot buffet no better then a UK motorway service station,
Would I stay again, yes but i would think twicw about the evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2007
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you liked the decor of our deluxe, newly refurbished bedrooms. However I do wish to apologise for any inconvenience caused whilst dining in our restaurant.
We really appreciate your feedback and we regularly encourage our guests to let us know about their experiences in Clontarf Castle Hotel, this helps us identify any areas that require improvement.
We very much hope that this didn't affect your stay and hope that we may have the opportunity in the near future to make your next visit worthwhile.

Many thanks,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on May 24th & 25th. Clontarf is a very nice hotel but on the weekends they have a very noisy night club going until 1 am. Our room was unfortunately right above the night club and the music was very loud. The hotel tried to accommodate us by closing the doors to the club to make it quieter. It didn't really work ,but the hotel was very responsive to our complaint. I don't think we would have been so upset by the noise if we weren't flying out early the next morning. The room was very nice and clean but small. I would stay there again but I would ask for a room far away from the club.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2007
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I also wish to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused while staying in Clontarf Castle Hotel and hope that this didn't affect your stay.

Here at Clontarf Castle we do not have a nightclub on the premises. However I have checked the dates that you stayed with us and there was a private function taking place in our Indigo Lounge, which would explain the noise you encountered whilst trying to sleep. I can completely empathise with you and once again apologise for the noise.

If you would like to re-visit Clontarf Castle please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Stayed in a family room with 2 children. Everything was well laid out for us on arrival. The staff were friendly and courteous. The room was large, well furnished, modern and clean. The hotel has bags of charm and the casual food was very good quality. (we didn't eat in the fine restaurant with the little ones in tow)

All in all I would recommend the hotel very highly for a romantic getaway, business trip or family trip. If you are clubbing or shopping the location may not suit.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2007
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear how our guests got on whilst visiting Clontarf Castle Hotel and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back, so please don't forget to regularly check our website for any special offers that you might want to avail of.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor,Co.Down,Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Had the pleasure to stay in the Clontarf Castle again a few weeks ago. This is our 3rd time this year and we really enjoyed it. It,s set in a quiet area although it,s a short Bus or Taxi ride from Dublin centre. Bus is approx 1 Euro 40 cents and the stop is about 6 minutes walk from the hotel or a Taxi from about 12 or 13 Euros and you,re in Town in less than 15 minutes. We ate in the downstairs bar both nights and enjoyed our meals. Great conversation with the Staff always makes you feel at home. Rooms are great, breakfast is superb. A 10 minute walk takes you to Clontarf Rugby Club where we watched the Ireland/Scotland match in their Bar. Unfortunately it rained heavily both nights we were there but sitting enjoying a couple of pints of Guinness in a cosy chair makes you forget about the weather. Looking forward to December as we,re booked in for the New Year with friends.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin Ireland is a perfect blend of boutique and luxury, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 2 miles from Dublin Airport, Clontarf Castle Hotel is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clontarf Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.