We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - location, cost, quality and all the extras” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Dublin

Save Saved
You added Westin Dublin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Dublin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 177 hotels in Dublin
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great - location, cost, quality and all the extras”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

took me a while to get on and upload this short review. Cost us abuot 20euros in cab from Dublin airport, not a far journey. Arrived and efficient staff, very elegant hotel with grand entrance right opposite Trinity College and great location for all teh areas and sights of Dublin (good base). Room was large and clean (internet not free though) sep shower and bath, molton brown toiletries. Good restuarant, great room service, livley bar in lower basement. Not much else to say (or that I can remember now). I'd defo stay there again when go back in June (for a wedding) and would recomment - although haven't stayed in other hotels so can't compare it. (ps they ahve a gym that you can use and a lovely courtyard bar that has a glass roof)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    806
    389
    114
    40
    30
See reviews for
211
526
97
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

The Westin Hotel is located just around the corner from Grafton St and the Tourist Information Centre. It is opposite Temple Bar, close to Tara St DART station and a few minutes walk from O'Connell St. So it is in a brilliant location!

Staff on reception were efficient and welcoming. There are a wide range of choices for eating and drinking within the hotel itself, and lots more close by. We would recommend MJ O'Neills pub in Suffolk St for good food, live music and a good choice of what would be known in Britain as real ales!

After a meal and a few beers it was a lovely hotel to return to. The beds are described a s heavenly beds and they certainly are! My partner described it as the best sleep she has ever had in a hotel. The robes were very comfortable and there was both a bath and a shower! Little touches were everywhee, there were lights in the wardrobe that came on when you opened the door, beautiful toiletries and a quality TV!

We were very sorry to leave, and would stay there again ina flash! The only small negative is that you have to be lucky to get a good rate, and there is no pedestrian crossing outside the hotel - you have tow alk to the end of the street to cross the road! But these are small points that don't detract form the quality of the Westin.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Dear RojBlake, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted that your trip to The Westin Dublin was a positive one.

The Exchange Restaurant recently introduced a new menu and this is proving to be very popular with both guests and the public.

I am glad you enjoyed our renowned ‘Westin Heavenly Bed’, which is celebrating its 10th year this year.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin during your next visit to Ireland.

Best regards,

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We chose the Westin Dublin for one reason...location, location, location.....and let's be honest here, the expectation of quality that went with the price. It did not disappoint. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Il
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

This Weston was fashioned using 3 historical buildings that were combined and then beautifully remodeled in an "old money" style. If you prefer a contemporary ambience, this may not be your hotel. But, if you enjoy plush surroundings, muted colors, a hushed atmosphere, and some of the most respectful and caring staff you have ever met, this hotel will meet your approval. It is located 1 block from from Dublin's upscale shopping street (Grafton), and if you walk to the LAUS (light rail) station at the end of that block(St. Stephen's Green) you can get a train to the Dundrumman Mall, which is a huge contemporary shopping mall with trendy stores like Harvey Nichols. The Luas is a very clean/safe mode of transport that snakes through the southern portions of Dublin, and runs every 3-8 minutes.
Overall if you want to be tenderly cared, for in very plush surroundings, with some of the best shopping at your fingertips, this is your hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The Westin Hotel is located in the Dublin city center, near the trinity college and to all bus stop (also airport bus stop).
The room was cosy, but the relationship quality price is not satisfactory: not a four star room!
I also heartly recommended the hotel beacuse the location is excellent for day and night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Dear PapasPapas,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to learn you enjoyed our central location and the accessibility to transport nearby.

However I am disappointed to read that you found your room to be unsatisfactory.

I will take your comments into consideration as we make future refurbishment plans. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Dublin in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed at the hotel over the Easter weekend. The hotel is perfectly located next door to Trinity College, right across from Temple Bar and within a short walk to most major sights. We walked everywhere including to the Guinness brewery which was the farthest of the sights we saw. We ate at the Atrium Lounge and the Exchange restaurant the first day we were there as Good Friday is a "dry" day in Dublin. As a guest of the hotel, you could have a beer or a bottle of wine with a "substantial meal". Also, a lot of restaurants were not open that day. Both restaurants were very good, although the Atrium lounge service was a bit on the slow side. We also enjoyed a couple of cocktails at the Mint lounge and enjoyed the live music that was playing on Saturday night.

Our room was spacious and clean but we could not seem to control the temperature of the room. It was quite hot and dry and made it a bit uncomfortable to sleep. The bathroom was also very large and clean though sometimes the shower was slow to drain. However, neither of the above overshadowed our stay.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. As SPG guests we were upgraded to the SPG floor at check in and they were very helpful recommending how to get around town and provided restaurant recommendations.

Some other things of note: One rainy afternoon we found ourselves at O'Neills pub and ended up having a wonderful meal. Its sort of buffet style but great Irish comfort food. Also, the concierge recommended Peploe's and we ate there on our last night. Great food, very good wine list and excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Will have to agree with many here:

PROS: Amazing location - center of all the tourist sites, can easily walk Dublin from here. Comfy bed and well serviced. Good gym by European standards. Lovely common areas of the Mint Bar downstairs to the Lounge on the Mezzanine under the skylight. Enjoyed the full bath in addition to a separate shower. Tea/Coffee making facilities.

CONS: Over priced for the property. Very small rooms, No clock and low lighting and yes the heating dials are not the easiest to figure out - this are small issues but with the price, expect these to be well provided.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Dear kareny13,

Thank you very much for your positive review of The Westin Dublin following your trip to Ireland. I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you particularly enjoyed our famous Heavenly Bed and hotel facilities.


We do have an amazing location next door to Trinity College and across from Temple Bar which is well known for its great pubs and restaurants.



Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the heating controls and low lighting in your room . We value this feedback and we will make changes accordingly .



I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin during your next visit to Ireland.

Best regards,

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Dublin

Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Westin Dublin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is situated in Dublin city centre, only 30 minutes from Dublin Airport. Beside historic Trinity College, cultural quarter of Temple Bar and steps from the shops on Grafton Street. Guestrooms feature the slumber inducing Westin Heavenly Bed and include 16 suites. Dining options include The Exchange Restaurant, elegant Atrium Lounge and popular Mint Bar. The Westin Dublin has 11 state of the art meeting rooms ranging in size to accommodate guests from 25 to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.