We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Dublin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Dublin to your Saves list
Westin Dublin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Dublin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Westin is getting a lot of 5 star reviews, and for very good reasons. My family (6 adults) stayed there on our trip to Ireland and we loved it! Obviously, as you have read, the location is fantastic, but it gets better from there. The staff was superb, very helpful, and we could always count on them to help us out. And that's everyone, and all done with politeness and a smile.

The breakfast was excellent, and the beds were so comfortable that sleep consumed you instantly. I've heard that the late night food room service was excellent, as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Tom M
Thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review of The Westin Dublin.
It is so nice that you and your family had a good time when you stayed with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and I have passed your lovey comments on to all the team.
I hope we will see you again soon.

Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    452
    133
    40
    38
See reviews for
268
638
104
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A haven of tranquility in the centre of Dublin. Beautiful rooms, friendly and attentive staff. We used our SPG points to book a standard room and we upgraded for just €29 to a larger deluxe room with a very comfortable king bed. Great location if you need a base to visit Dublin. The Atrium lounge is a peaceful escape or the mint bar is a bit more lively.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi AlanNeenan
Thanks for your lovely comments after your stay with us in The Westin Dublin. I am delighted to read that you were pleased with your room allocation. You are so right The Atrium is a wonderful escape into tranquillity in the centre of Dublin city!
Thank you again for your nice words, and we look forward to dropping in to visit us once more.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent 6 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it as a base of our Irish travels. The Mint bar boasts of superb cocktails and the bartenders really act like top "Mixologists" taking much care in preparing the different drinks. When you exit the hotel and go right you head down O'Connell St. If you go left you go past the old parliament, Trinity University and then head through the pedestrian area surrounding Grafton Street. A little further down is St. Stephen's Green and the surrounfing areas of Dawson Street and Lower Bagot St. If you go across the street you head down the Temple bar area where the places are too numerous to name.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello Malachy F, thanks so much for your kind words after your stay with us in The Westin Dublin. You are so right we do have a fantastic location here in the city centre, and it is so convenient for visiting all the sights of Dublin! It’s great to read that you enjoyed some down time in The Mint bar and the team took care of you. The next time you visit us from Texas you should find the time to do our ‘Cocktail Masterclass’ it is great fun and the team can share their knowledge with you. Thanks again for your comments.
Be Well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban MD
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Dublin Westin is a very nice hotel in a super location. It is ideal for tourists as it is next to Trinity College/Book of Kells, a block from Temple Bar pubs and restaurants, and two blocks from Grafton street shopping. Our room was clean, comfortable and roomy. The staff, while helpful and polite seemed a bit undermanned. Concierge station often not staffed and the restaurant was closed during much of our stay. Also, be aware that you will probably not be able to check into your room much before 3 PM. The hotel is heavily booked and in great demand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello theorchidlady
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Westin Dublin, it is very nice to read that you were happy with your room, I am delighted to read that the team were friendly and helpful while you stayed with us. I am sorry that you are unhappy with having to wait until three o’ clock to check in unfortunately this is the usual check in time, however we do always try to accommodate an earlier check in if it is at all possible.
Thanks again for your nice comments and I do hope to welcome you back to The Westin Dublin soon.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsippany, nj
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights prior to a cruise. We were able to check in early which was much appreciated after an overnight flight. We used SPG pionts but chose to upgrade to a Writer's room for 50 euro per night. The room was very nice, a king bed and had a small balconey area. The bed was very comfortable, a nice walk in shower and nice products. The hotel is air conditioned which was a big plus as they were having a heat wave in Dublin. The area around the hotel was great, all sorts of eating, drinking and shopping.
Would defientely return to this property in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello benton1220 thank you for taking the time to share your kind words after your stay with us in The Westin Dublin. I am dlelighted that you were happy with your room and that you were here in Dublin during a rare heat wave! I am delighted to read that you are going to visit us again and I do look forward to your next visit from New Jersey.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington,CT
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent location, restful rooms, but the best is the staff. The jovial door man, the efficient and intelligent desk clerk. The best was the concierge that got us reservations at a Michelin star restaurant that was BOOKED, for 6, with 1 day notice!!! It was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Connecticut-MD
It is so encouraging to read such a positive review and I appreciate you taking the time to post it. I am very happy that the whole team went above and beyond to help you enjoy your stay. It’s great that you had an enjoyable dining experience! I have shared your lovey comments with them all and they are delighted, thanks again. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin the next time you visit.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My stay was for 7 nights for a work-related trip. This Westin is centrally located to restaurants, shopping, and transportation. It has a very traditional feel, common to many Westin properties that I've stayed at but lacking the modern-ness that I feel it should have at this day and age. It is your very classic style, probably refurbished back some time around 2006.

I was given a room with two twin beds - they could not accommodate me with a queen or king bed. But, at least the bed was a Heavenly bed and was pretty comfortable. The bathroom was pretty sizeable though with a separate shower and tub. And the room was also pretty spacious.The property was kept very clean and I had a room on the same floor as the Fitness Center - very convenient. I did not have a great view so you may want to ask for a room that has a better one.

I also had dinner in their restaurant; very expensive so beware. Overall, the stay was decent but I would not say that it exceeded any expectations. Too bad as I am a Gold SPG member.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear irieisle
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your seven day stay with us.
We enjoy a fantastic location here in The Westin Dublin and I am glad that you were able to benefit from this. However I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with your accommodations. I would ask you to please contact us prior to your next stay with any special requests that you may have. As you know we always do our best to assist our loyal SPG Gold members with any special requirements.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin.
Kind regards,
Fred Smits
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Dublin

Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#25 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is situated in Dublin city centre, only 30 minutes from Dublin Airport. Beside historic Trinity College, cultural quarter of Temple Bar and steps from the shops on Grafton Street. Guestrooms feature the slumber inducing Westin Heavenly Bed and include 16 suites. Dining options include The Exchange Restaurant, elegant Atrium Lounge and popular Mint Bar. The Westin Dublin has 11 state of the art meeting rooms ranging in size to accommodate guests from 25 to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.