We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but I didn't think 5 star!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Dublin to your Saves list
Westin Dublin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10% on Suites
Ranked #19 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Grand Cayman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, but I didn't think 5 star!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed in early January. Last few times I've stayed at the Westbury. Loved the location, not as central to Grafton Street as The Westbury, but darn close,the building exterior and the fact that they haven't tried to make it too modern. Easy SPG check in and was upgraded to a top floor room with a balcony ( never did figure how to open the balcony door and there was no concierge on hand to demo all the room's amenities). Room was nice, spacious for European city standards, generous bathroom, iPod/iPhone speaker dock, Westin bedding, nice new of Dublin. Ate at Mint Bar, very good, simple, unpretentious food, good selection of beers and attentive bar staff. Only negatives were paying for wifi, no help with baggage from street into lobby ( there are stairs not a ramp into an elevated lobby), no real 5 star level of service. All in all, it's as good as The Westbury but I'm not sure 5 Star sits easily with either hotel. The room rate was decent value for what you get, so I can't say anything too negative. I will be back in Dublin soon and will be torn between it and The Westbury, or perhaps it's time to try another hotel?

Room Tip: See if you can score a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello PKtourist
I want to thank you for the comments after your stay in The Westin Dublin. It is good to read that you were happy with your room and you enjoyed your visit to The Mint bar.
However I am sorry that you don’t feel that your visit was five star, as an SPG member you know that in The Westin we always try to personalize our guest’s visits. I do hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are in Dublin.
Get in contact with me directly if you do stay with us and I will look after your stay personally.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    423
    127
    40
    36
See reviews for
243
587
100
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Room was ready when we arrived which was great!!! They upgraded us to suite because we were Starwood prefered members. Room was great very clean but the rooms are not what makes this hotel. The staff and service was outstanding. Everyone is always smiling and pleasant and ready to help you in any way they can. The concierges were great and even made us our own pub crawl mapped out because none were going the night we wanted to go. Mint Bar had great drinks and again everyone was so nice!!!!
As a travel professional this will be my go to hotel for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely words about The Westin Dublin! I have shared your comments with all the team. Laszlo from the concierge team is really delighted that you had a fun on the ‘pub crawl’ he created for you. Thanks again and we are looking forward to your next visit with us.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just stayed here for one night and from what i did get to see it was a beautiful hotel. i had an early flight from London to dublin and got to the hotel quite early about 9am and our room wasn't ready which was fine so we went across the road and had breakfast in starbucks! i went to Dublin for a concert, it was to see Lawson at the 02 Academy which is a lovely little venue! after about an hour of wondering around we went back to the hotel and our room was ready. even the lifts are lovely, so clean and pretty. the room we had was a really good size and i loved the bathroom ! the doors give it that Parisian style, absolutely beautiful! the beds and soooo comfortable i could of slept then and there but i had to get ready for the concert ! we had a view of the main road which was nice and we could see the canal from our room. the staff were lovely and so polite. they organised a morning cab for us to the airport and the cab was so chic !
all in all a very lovely stay in dublin, its a fab city and i would recommend staying at the westin !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear lexitravels
Thank you for your lovely review of The Westin Dublin.
I am very glad that you were able to enjoy our city centre location and that you enjoyed Lawson in the O2. I hope the next time you visit that you can stay a little longer and take some time to rest and rejuvenate and relax in our ‘Heavenly Beds’.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a very pleasant one-night stay here recently. They held on to our luggage on our early arrival and were very prompt in letting us know when our rooms became available before check in time. Rooms had enough space, though not huge. Very clean and the staff was welcoming and courteous. Get a room with a view of Trinity College if possible - very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
CVegas10
We are really happy that you enjoyed you short stay here with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Westin Dublin.
I am really glad that you got an early check in and the team helped you out with that.
Thanks again and I hope that the next time you can stay with us a little longer.
Slan go foill
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, almost directly near O'Connell Bridge, and right next to Temple Bar. Nevertheless, in the room it was very quiet. The rooms are very spacious and beautiful. The bathroom was the biggest, I've ever experienced in a hotel, with shower and bath. Since the rooms were not ready when we arrived, we were able to leave our luggage and it was then placed directly into the room. Also in the morning after checking out there was no problem with the luggage. The staff is very friendly, so all in all a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Caitriona87
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us after your business trip to Dublin.
I am really happy that you enjoyed your visit with us in The Westin Dublin and our team were able to help you with your luggage and I am delighted you felt happy with your room.
I do look forward to your return visit.

Slan agus beannacht
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stay at the Westin Hotel atleast once a month for a week on business. The rooms are always excellent, clean, spacious, good beds, and just a really convenient location in the city etc. Everything is excellent so I'll focus on the bits that you need to be aware of:

1. Wifi is paid (as per other reviews, this is ridiculous in 2013) - However, my company does get free Wifi, so if you are here on business regularly, you may be able to negotiate a deal.
2. The gym is TINY and often very busy on weekdays after work.

Those two points keep it from receiving an excellent score overall. Otherwise, you can't go wrong with this hotel for just about everything else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your kind words I’m glad you enjoy your stay with us in The Westin Dublin every week.

Have you noticed as part of our Westin work out we have a gear lending program available to all our guests where we can loan you running gear and new balance sneakers. Now that spring is here you can get a running map and some water and enjoy a run outside!

All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

having to pay for WiFi which shouldn't be necessarry in 2013.

Other than that the hotel is great. Stayed at room 100, which was much larger than expected. Great bed, and the option to choose between a bath or a shower in the bathroom. Extra points for having Sky Sports for free.

Stayed over the St.Patricks weekend so of course some noise from the nearby streets, but nothing out of the ordinary. Bar was well over expectation, quite crowded and with good live music and great staff. Decent prices also considering The Westin being a bit upscale. Breaksfast was good, but nothing out of the ordinary and the exact same buffet everyday for three days.

Location is great. Near shopping, Temple Bar, and the river. Just perfect and for the St.Patricks parade it passes straight outside the hotel, so be sure to ask fo a view of that street if you're not allergic to drums, bans and singing (which in that case means that you have travelled on the wrong weekend)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Thomas 1406

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your stay with us over the St Patrick’s celebration.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you were entertained in The Mint bar. We are lucky with our location and I glad you could benefit from that.
I do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Dublin

Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is situated in Dublin city centre, only 30 minutes from Dublin Airport. Beside historic Trinity College, cultural quarter of Temple Bar and steps from the shops on Grafton Street. Guestrooms feature the slumber inducing Westin Heavenly Bed and include 16 suites. Dining options include The Exchange Restaurant, elegant Atrium Lounge and popular Mint Bar. The Westin Dublin has 11 state of the art meeting rooms ranging in size to accommodate guests from 25 to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.