We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on a budget weekday price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blooms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blooms Hotel to your Saves list
Blooms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Anglesea Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location on a budget weekday price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here with friends midweek and found the price to be excellent for the location. Right in the centre of Temple Bar, close to the airport transfer drop off points and with a really great little pub attached. You also get a free drink when you check in, which is a nice bonus. However, it should be noted that you are required to leave a deposit, either on card or cash, upon check in, and this is NOT optional like it is in most hotels. Don't get caught out by this.
However, the rooms were great and for the price I would definitely stay here again!
The free wi-fi works in the lobby but not in many of the upstairs rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank your for your review.

I am very pleased that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable with us but it's is our Hotel Policy which is clearly mentioned on our all website that upon check-in guests are required to present valid photo ID and a credit card to guarantee payment and extra charges.

If you do not have a credit card at check-in and wants to pay with debit card or cash, you must pay for your stay on arrival and provide an additional cash security deposit.

We hope to welcome you back again in near future.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    328
    223
    87
    85
See reviews for
77
299
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. If you want to hit the nightlife this place is perfect. If a family holiday not suitable as its a buzzing area ! Rooms were spot on, clean, warm & generally very good. Great shower, plenty towels. Breakfast was ok, but suggest a local Irish breakfast down the lane would be a better option ! Excellent free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review,

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable and we hope to welcome you back again in near future.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

3 of us went here to enjoy the castle, art galleries, the river leffie, the bars and the Guiness Factory! This is a must to see...get the tour bus which is a two day pass! You get to see everything!
Blooms is perfectly positioned to see all of this. The street performers and live music in every bar was just amazing!
Book it and enjoy...for those wanting a quiet time then try a hotel a bit further out! :

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Blooms Hotel.

My teammates were thrilled to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. Derek was delighted to hear that you made a special mention about him and that your trip to dublin was enjoyable. With

It would be a pleasure to personally look after any further booking so that next time you will get a quiet room.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wells, maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We loved the location and the VAT bar, but our room was on top of disco so even staying out all night we couldn't get to sleep because of disco. The people at the hotel and bar were awesome...Derek played awesome music all night and the bar was a 10

Room Tip: don't stay on top of disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am very pleased that my bar team made your stay. Derek and Bar team were delighted to hear that you made a special mention about them and your trip was enjoyable.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will choose to stay with us again and next time please contact me directly so that I can provide you a quiet room.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

booked this hotel after cancelling another hotel i had booked due to bad reviews. wish id read more on blooms hotel. rang hotel to say on arrival id be paying cash as the credit card i had booked rooms with had been lost. receptionist said this was no problem. arrived after travelling from co mayo with husband and tired children. upon checkin i was asked to produce my driving licence or passport....this was a first. then i was asked to pay 100 euro deposit for rooms in case we stole or damaged anything. a gentleman came over and said it was nothing personal but i was made to feel like a lout and a thief and embarassed..i checked into rooms and found blood stains on curtains and stain on duvet cover. milk for tea was sour. rooms modern and good shower.tv not working properly. vat room seemed like good bar but drink prices outrageous. 6.25 for pint .didnt sleep wink as fan as loud as plane engine outside window. had requested quiet room as my husband is partially disabled. receptionist gave us wrong directions to where my daughter and i were going tho she was peasant so we got lost and had to get taxi. my daughter was unable to get wifi access either. made to feel very unwelcome at this hotel.........................

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mars, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Dublin at the Blooms hotel. However, the last night there, when we got back to our room after our day of site-seeing, we noticed we were missing our ipad mini. We had had it previously while we were there so we knew it was there that we had lost it. Someone in the cleaning staff must have taken it. Staff said they would look into the matter and get back to us, but we have yet to hear from them. This really put a damper on our vacation - wished we would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I would just like to clarify a couple of points.
When you reported to reception about your missing Ipad, both my Night Manager and Duty Manager asked you when you last seen or had your ipad and were told that you hadn't seen or used it while in the hotel and only realised it was missing when you looked for it the night before your departure. It was mentioned to our night manager that you last used the ipad while in the rental car . Moreover, My Duty Manager asked you if you wanted to call Gardai for further investigation but you said you didn't want to get the Gardai involved.
After you left my Accommodation Supervisor checked the room thoroughly and nothing was found. We tried to contact you later with the number which was provided with your booking but not reachable.

I am available at any time through tripadvisor or directely at the hotel, if you wish to clarify some of your comments.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went here for a girls' weekend. Could not fault it. The location is great, we were not disturbed by noise, despite the fact our room overlooked the street at the front of the hotel and the rooms were clean. Bathroom and shower were large, loads of space to hang clothes and the drink voucher we got on arrival was most welcome!

Take a credit card so they can do a pre authorisation of 50 euro damage deposit, otherwise they'll ask for it in cash. The left luggage room was free when we arrived but on checking out we were charged 2 euro per bag - a bit of a cheek, considering we were guests!

Would definitely stay here again if I go back to Dublin, you can't beat the location and the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to receive such wonderful feedback, it keeps us all motivated.

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable. We share all feedback with our team and I can't wait to see thier happy faces when I share your comments with them all.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blooms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooms Hotel

Address: 6 Anglesea Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blooms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blooms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooms Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blooms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.