We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in central Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camden Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Camden Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Camden Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camden St., Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct-10% Discount!
Ranked #38 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Belfast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money in central Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

I stayed there with my husband and my mum for a ceremony in Dublin. Had chosen the hotel with Tripadvisor and wasnt disappointed.

Very nice 3 stars hotel.

Extremely helpful and efficient staff to check in. Had booked a double and a single room and discovered 2 singles. The change was done immediately and with a smile. During all this, we lost one of the room key but this was sorted out very quickly with no bother at all.

Room are spacious, clean, a bit aged though but very comfortable. We both had room at the back so very quiet too for an hotel in center of Dublin (and in a very busy street). Bathroom fine.

Room service efficient: despite the fact that mum didnt order breakfast the night before she decided for a breakfast in her room in the morning. They apologized to the fact that it wouldnt be quick as they had to serve the breakfast which were ordered 1st and gave us a delay of 30-40 min. Breakfast arrived in 15 min.

Restaurant extremely nice. Service perfect. Food good and good choice. Lack of a bit of atmosphere as it was nearly empty but it was just what we needed after a very busy day. Very relaxing!!

Location: nice and busy street, lots of cafe (to have a lovely and cheaper breakfast), pubs, restaurant, little shops, 10 min pleasant walk to Stephens Green and Grafton St.

Overall, as a 4 stars hotel woman, I will probably come back in this hotel in Dublin as it was a perfect 3 stars, clean, comfy, handy, and less than £100 in center of Dublin! Just need a bit of sparkle!

  • Liked — excellent value for Dublin
  • Disliked — the need of modernisation of the rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    534
    137
    63
    23
See reviews for
179
374
42
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

The Hotel was excellent, I would definately use this hotel again.
They gave secure luggage storage for us as we had early flight in (could not check in) and a late flight out (had to check out.)

We did not use the gym because of the amount of walking we did around Dublin itself. I was going to use the swimming pool but read in the brochure that you needed a swimming hat to swim (male or female) so I did not bother with this.

We did not eat breakfast here, there is a Tesco Metro and a Fresh supermarket within 2 minutes walk of the Hotel so we got our breakfast from the bakery inside there. There is a pub next door which didn't seem to make excesive noise to keep us awake (we were on the 6th floor.)

The room itself was very hot but the staff provided us with a fan after I asked for one. An ice machine was provided on the 4th floor (6 altogether,) there was a notice saying not to use glass but they did not provide any cups - their holders were empty on both days that I went to it.

Overall a very nice stay, excellent staff, just seemed a very long walk - 40 mins when we got off the airport transfer bus just above the Spire on O'Connell Street (maybe we got off too early.) This transfer bus at 10EURO return is highly reccommended.

  • Liked — Affordable clean value for money
  • Disliked — hot room, no cups for ice machine
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

Room was very basic (for the price) but large enough with a good-sized bathroom. The room faced onto the courtyard where a constant loud hum from a generator could be heard. Despite being April and warm outside the heaters were pumping out hot air for most of the evening. We were told that we could not turn them off as all rooms were controlled by timers, and if we wanted it to be cooler we were to open the windows. The mattress and pillows were very hard too so it was a bit uncomfortable at night.
Breakfast was fine and the lobby/restaurant etc was very nice. I thought the hotel was very expensive for what we got. I wouldn’t be going back there, as I'm sure there would be cheaper hotels with better rooms.

  • Liked — Clean enough, good breakfast & good location
  • Disliked — Hot, uncomfortable room, bad value for money
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Stayed at this Hotel, weekend just gone 28th feb - 2nd March. Staff were really nice from the outset and were very helpful. We didn't get chance to check out the pool or other facillities, however, we did read that if you wanted to go in the pool you needed to wear a swimming cap (were avaliable at 2.5 euro from the hotel).

If anyone is flying into dublin we found out after we got of the bus about 20 mins walk from the hotel that it stopped virtually right outside the hotel. The bus you need to get is the 16A from the airport, it was 2 euros takes longer than the sky shuttle bus, but you get to see a bit more of Dublin. And the same going back we jumped on right outside the hotel and went all the way to the airport. Took about 30mins on a Sunday.

To temple bar its about 10-15 mins, and we felt safe walking home at night. If you miss brekfast there is a gorgeous sandwich shop just up the road towards temple bar called 'Fresh'.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again, and more important I would recommend it to friends and family.

p.s there is pub right out side the main entrance of the hotel, so good starting place to enjoy a few Guinness.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We have just returned from a great weekend in Dublin and the very nice Camden Court Hotel. There were 8 of us (30-somethings!) occupying 4 twin rooms for 3 nights (31/1-4/2).

On arrival we were greeted by efficient and cheerful Reception staff and our rooms were allocated in no time at all. We were all situated on 2nd floor overlooking the main road (yes there was some noise from the traffic outside but nothing major and certainly nothing to complain about!). The rooms were very comfortable and well-furnished/decorated to a modern taste.

The bar area was modern and the bar snacks were lovely. Enjoyed the Irish cooked Breakfast each morning - didn't bother with cereal/cheeses but there definitely looked to be something for everyone.

Pool area was lovely and we didn't find it too cold like someone else said but obviously it was cooler than the jacuzzi and we saw no evidence of grime/slime that another reviewer has reported. There is also a steam room/sauna which were great for relaxing in as well. Didn't go into the gym but it looked well-equipped from what I saw.

All-in-all a very good 3* hotel and for what we paid we felt we had value-for-money with this accommodation. Would definitely stay at the Camden Court if we visited Dublin again. Good security on the door at night as well.

Dublin I have to say was great in terms of shops/bars and was about 15 minute comfortable walk to where all the action was. Was good to stay in a hotel that wasn't in the thick of it so all good from our point of view!!

  • Liked — Pool/comfortable rooms/value for money
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

I stay in this hotel regularly, for business. It's not perfect, but I simply cannot understand the more negative reviews. I find (most) of the staff friendly, the hotel clean and breakfast good.

I have to admit the refurbishments are a pain - particularly the chaos in the car park. Nevertheless, there's a good atmosphere, rooms are good and the hotel is central. What more could you want?

I have never used the pool/gym, so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Camden while visiting relatives just outside of Dublin over New Years 2007/2008. The lobby was very welcoming and comfortable and the staff was fine- we didn't have any problems. One thing I noticed - and I don't know if they do this in all major city's - was the security. If coming back to the hotel after 10PM we were met at the door by security and checked against a list. The room was clean and comfortable, although the linens weren't exactly high quality. It was also very quiet, which was surprising on New Years. We had a room on the court yard, not the street, which would probably have traffic noise. They had a big breakfast room that could accommodate a lot of people, and the food was better than expected. The location is within walking distance of everything, which you could say about most of Dublin I guess. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Full of tourists
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Court Hotel

Address: Camden St., Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#44 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camden Court Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Court Hotel, a modern 4 star hotel located in Dublin city centre, Ireland. Close to the main Dublin tourist attractions, we provide affordable and comfort accommodation, as well as excellent conference and leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Camden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Court Dublin
Hotel Camden Court
Camden Court Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.