We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camden Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camden Court Hotel to your Saves list
Camden Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camden St., Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Could Be Better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

Room was very basic (for the price) but large enough with a good-sized bathroom. The room faced onto the courtyard where a constant loud hum from a generator could be heard. Despite being April and warm outside the heaters were pumping out hot air for most of the evening. We were told that we could not turn them off as all rooms were controlled by timers, and if we wanted it to be cooler we were to open the windows. The mattress and pillows were very hard too so it was a bit uncomfortable at night.
Breakfast was fine and the lobby/restaurant etc was very nice. I thought the hotel was very expensive for what we got. I wouldn’t be going back there, as I'm sure there would be cheaper hotels with better rooms.

  • Liked — Clean enough, good breakfast & good location
  • Disliked — Hot, uncomfortable room, bad value for money
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    605
    161
    67
    22
See reviews for
219
444
51
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Stayed at this Hotel, weekend just gone 28th feb - 2nd March. Staff were really nice from the outset and were very helpful. We didn't get chance to check out the pool or other facillities, however, we did read that if you wanted to go in the pool you needed to wear a swimming cap (were avaliable at 2.5 euro from the hotel).

If anyone is flying into dublin we found out after we got of the bus about 20 mins walk from the hotel that it stopped virtually right outside the hotel. The bus you need to get is the 16A from the airport, it was 2 euros takes longer than the sky shuttle bus, but you get to see a bit more of Dublin. And the same going back we jumped on right outside the hotel and went all the way to the airport. Took about 30mins on a Sunday.

To temple bar its about 10-15 mins, and we felt safe walking home at night. If you miss brekfast there is a gorgeous sandwich shop just up the road towards temple bar called 'Fresh'.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again, and more important I would recommend it to friends and family.

p.s there is pub right out side the main entrance of the hotel, so good starting place to enjoy a few Guinness.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We have just returned from a great weekend in Dublin and the very nice Camden Court Hotel. There were 8 of us (30-somethings!) occupying 4 twin rooms for 3 nights (31/1-4/2).

On arrival we were greeted by efficient and cheerful Reception staff and our rooms were allocated in no time at all. We were all situated on 2nd floor overlooking the main road (yes there was some noise from the traffic outside but nothing major and certainly nothing to complain about!). The rooms were very comfortable and well-furnished/decorated to a modern taste.

The bar area was modern and the bar snacks were lovely. Enjoyed the Irish cooked Breakfast each morning - didn't bother with cereal/cheeses but there definitely looked to be something for everyone.

Pool area was lovely and we didn't find it too cold like someone else said but obviously it was cooler than the jacuzzi and we saw no evidence of grime/slime that another reviewer has reported. There is also a steam room/sauna which were great for relaxing in as well. Didn't go into the gym but it looked well-equipped from what I saw.

All-in-all a very good 3* hotel and for what we paid we felt we had value-for-money with this accommodation. Would definitely stay at the Camden Court if we visited Dublin again. Good security on the door at night as well.

Dublin I have to say was great in terms of shops/bars and was about 15 minute comfortable walk to where all the action was. Was good to stay in a hotel that wasn't in the thick of it so all good from our point of view!!

  • Liked — Pool/comfortable rooms/value for money
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

I stay in this hotel regularly, for business. It's not perfect, but I simply cannot understand the more negative reviews. I find (most) of the staff friendly, the hotel clean and breakfast good.

I have to admit the refurbishments are a pain - particularly the chaos in the car park. Nevertheless, there's a good atmosphere, rooms are good and the hotel is central. What more could you want?

I have never used the pool/gym, so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Camden while visiting relatives just outside of Dublin over New Years 2007/2008. The lobby was very welcoming and comfortable and the staff was fine- we didn't have any problems. One thing I noticed - and I don't know if they do this in all major city's - was the security. If coming back to the hotel after 10PM we were met at the door by security and checked against a list. The room was clean and comfortable, although the linens weren't exactly high quality. It was also very quiet, which was surprising on New Years. We had a room on the court yard, not the street, which would probably have traffic noise. They had a big breakfast room that could accommodate a lot of people, and the food was better than expected. The location is within walking distance of everything, which you could say about most of Dublin I guess. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Full of tourists
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

The Camden Court has a convenient location in a lively part of town. The lobby is well-designed, and the young people at the desk are friendly. The rooms, however, are drab and dark, and the breakfast facility looked (and tasted) like a school dining hall. Dublin itself has a lot of zing. Camden Court seems left behind

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

My friend and myself stayed here for 4 nights in mid November, Very nice hotel only 5 minutes walk from temple bar and main shopping area. Hotel has a lovely reception area with plenty of sofas and armchairs for sitting and relaxing before you venture out. Breakfast was buffet style with the usual cold and hot selections which filled us up nicely for the whole day before our evening meal. Lovely pool but we never actually went for a swim in it as you HAD to wear a swimming cap. Plenty of good restaurants just round the corner including DICEY'S GARDEN which served steakhouse type food in beautiful comfortable surroundings and Saagar Indian restaurant which had an excellent menu with very tasty food, both these resaurants were excellent value, around 60 euros for both of us including a bottle of wine.

  • Liked — Large welcoming reception area, comfortable spacious rooms.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Court Hotel

Address: Camden St., Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Court Hotel, a modern 4 star hotel located in Dublin city centre, Ireland. Located in Dublin 2 beside St.Stephen's Green and within minutes walk of Dublin's famous shopping street, Grafton Street. Features 251 fresh and modern high spec bedrooms, as well as excellent conference and leisure facilities. Recently refurbished in 2014/15. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and access to the leisure centre are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Camden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Court Dublin
Hotel Camden Court
Camden Court Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.