We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect Location!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cassidys Hotel to your Saves list
Cassidys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Warwick
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect Location!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This was our first trip to Dublin and this was a suprise trip for my wife's birthday, plus it was our first trip away without the children. So It needed t be fun and special without any gripes.
After having read many many reviews, it was in the perfect location, in fact it couldn't have been any better. We arrived very early (9am) to make full use of our few days, the staff were really helpful, and even offered us a room now if we were happy to accept a smoking room. We declined and said we would rather wait, they held onto our bags in a secure location and told us that they could have a room ready for us at lunchtime if we wanted. Again we declined, stating that we would be out for the day so we were in no rush. After a full days walking and sightseeing, we headed back to the hotel, again the staff were so very helpful and took us to our room.
The room itself was nothing special, and was probably in need of a bit of decoration, and maybe the maid could have done a bit better with the duster as we had a few cobwebs.
But do not let that spoil your stay, the staff were brilliant, the rooms are clean enough to not be concerned, the food at breakfast is fantastic, the location is perfect, the gym is a great little gym. Overall we had a great time there for lots of different reason. and would happily go there again, and would definately anyone else to go there. For what you pay it really is VALUE for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    593
    219
    69
    44
See reviews for
197
597
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The hotel has a great location, just two blocks from the Spire or center of town and 10-minute walk from Temple Bar area & Trinity College. We could find the hotel easily but the parking was tricky to find (get directions to parking before). Plenty of amenities offered; fitness room, breakfast plan, bar & restaurant (good food), conference center, and free Wi-Fi. The room was more like the ones you can find in America (just a bit smaller). They are clean and serviced daily. The bathroom (private) was good-sized, the water was hot but pressure was not great. The bed was on the small side, overall not bad. The staff was friendly and helpful. We found the room to be warm/hot and it was the beginning of October. That would be my only complaint. They did give us a small fan, which helped. There is plenty to do nearby, shopping, restaurants, pubs, theaters, cinema, galleries, etc. The stops for the public transportation, air coaches and tour buses are all within a block or two of hotel. Cassidys was Very Convenient and enjoyable. I would stay again but I would ask for a room with air.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

This hotel is located in a great location with easy access to buses and shopping. The staff was very friendly. My room could have used a little freshening up, but I got my room at a bargain price so no real complaints from me.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

400th Review!

Some good reviews on here. I'll be brief and to the point.

POSITIVES:
* booked a single and a twin, got a twin and a double.
* bumped up to the 'executive' wing. Beds are REALLY comfortable.
* emailed and requested a quiet room. You could've heard a pin drop.
* Minor repair needed fixing in bathroom, seen to quickly.
* As previously stated, superb staff...except one lad who must have been new.

NEGATIVES:
* A few minor things such as light bulbs not working in lamps, leaking radiator in corridor, fittings not perfectly fitted, ceiling light loose. Nothing too bad, but these are the things we spot as users.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My brother and I stayed for two nights at Cassidys Hotel. You certainly couldn't get a better value and it was so central to all the things we wanted to do -- basically shopping, dinner and I had some family research to do. I couldn't say enough good about the place. I am definitely staying there again when I get back over next year and I would definitely let the rest of my family and friends know about it. It was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

The carpet outside our room was soaking wet and smelt very bad, the bread at breakfast had mold, everywhere was really warm, the executive rooms are miles away from,the main building (two lifts, a few corridors and 'a tunnel'. The executive room was around the standard of Travelodge so vastly over priced. The free WIFI worked fantastic in one part of reception but no where else.

Most of the staff were helpful and polite but one or two lacked basic customer skills.

Overall a very disappointing experience. There are far nicer hotels just down the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaydon on Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

A large hotel on OConnell Street which is about 5m walk from the City Centre, plenty of bars and restaurants nearby

Very freindly staff and an excellent breakfast

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Dublin
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassidys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.