We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfair double rate for single room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cassidys Hotel to your Saves list
Cassidys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unfair double rate for single room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good location, but so are many hotels in Dublin. Clean room in executive wing. No air con in main hotel and in 30 degree heat very uncomfortable. Poor breakfast with long wait & impatient service. Great bar staff. Main complaint was being charged double rate for single room...outdated practice and when queried hotel staff would not explain or tell me the "normal" rate for single rooms. Not impressed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    648
    234
    69
    46
See reviews for
212
663
55
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel location is perfect. It's in central Dublin but still it's kind of quiet and peaceful. It's just one or two minute walk to the busiest roads of Dublin central. Everything you need is nearby.

Pubs, shopping, taxi, tourist attractions etc - all within few minute walks.

We stayed at Executive Rooms, the views and surroundings were kind of restless but it didn't bother us.

Rooms were spacious and clean. The reception service were good. Nothing to complain. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was of a good size, clean and very comfortable. Two lifts cut out waiting in this busy hotel. Breakfast was of the buffet style, something for everyone, hot or cold. The restaurant served good wholesome food, but the menu was a bit lacking. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

First hotel I have ever walked into and felt immediately at home. I travel a lot with my work and often find hotels to be sterile and unwelcoming.
The staff at Cassidys are welcoming, friendly and very professional - nothing is too much for them and they are happy to help. Special mention for Darren behind the bar and Xavier on the front desk.

I am very happy to recommend this hotel to all of my friends and will definitely be going back there myself.

Room Tip: If you would like air-conditioning choose one of the executive rooms, it was 30 degrees when we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a really Jekyll & Hyde review ; there are some really good things about Cassidy's but some very poor aspects too.
Location is excellent, at the top of O'Connell Street - a great city venue from which to explore the city on foot. Staff are generally very friendly , helpful and always greet guests with a smile and a 'hello'.Beds are comfortable and clean , although one of the duvet covers in our room was ripped. Our bathroom was clean , bright and provided good quality shower gel , shampoo and moisturising cream. However , the shower gel in our friends room ran out and was not replaced despite a request that it should be.
Against this , the building is tired and in need of some smartening up -see photographs. This could be done at fairly minimal cost and with a bit of effort from management. The photos speak for themselves , so I'll say no more on this aspect.
Breakfast , at €9.50 (or €8.50 if pre-ordered the day before) is poor - unpleasant juice , watery scrambled eggs , , undercooked bacon , small sausages. There are plenty of alternative breakfast venues within a couple of minutes walk which offer much superior food at similar cost (notably the Kingfisher).
Overall , the hotel offers reasonable value for money , but don't expect sparkling decor .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived in Dublin from the USA at 5:30 am. We went to the hotel to see if they would hold our luggage until our 3pm check in time and the 2 young men behind the counter found us rooms so we could get some rest & shower before starting our busy day. When we did venture forth, we found we were just steps away from the bus, downtown, and the Temple Bar area. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydbrook, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is our fourth visit to Cassidys and again another great welcome from all staff more than willing to help, on arrival we were asked if we would like breakfast which we took up and really enjoyed it and it set us up for the day. Our only little niggle was the hotel did not have air conditioning and it was way to hot

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#77 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassidys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.