We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cassidys Hotel to your Saves list
Cassidys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hot house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a great location near the stops for the Airlink Express from the airport, Dublin hop on / off bus and Mary Gibbons tour to Newgrange. Get the Freedom of Dublin City (bus pass) great deal and includes the Airlink Express and Dublin hop on / off. We arrived early and left out luggage to start touring Dublin. About a 15 minute walk to the Bus Eireann bus station to go to Cashel and Cahir castles. I would have ranked this a five if there was an air conditioner as listed, the room was hot and we were there mid May. The outside temp was 50 - 60 degrees F. The room was very hot and we turned the heat completely off and had to open the windows to sleep. If going during the summer you may need to book a hotel that actually has air conditioning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    648
    234
    69
    46
See reviews for
212
663
55
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here as a small group, my wife, adult daughter and myself in a 3 bed room and another couple in a double room.
Our stay here was great, we arrived early for check in which was no problem for the hotel and we got into our rooms straight away, the reception staff were friendly and professional and very helpful.
Our room was huge, more than big enough for 3 adults and very comfortable. One kingsize bed and a queen single. The room was well appointed and was nice and light, but had great black-out curtains so sleeping in was easy.
The location is great, at the top of O'Connell St Dublin's main street with all it's shops, banks, great restaurants and even better pubs. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes walk away, but we did find the walk back after a few pints of Guinness took a few minutes longer.
The food in the restaurant was great, especially the breakfasts.
The day we were checking out one of our friends became quite ill and needed medical attention, they also had to cancel and change flights as they were unable to travel, the hotel was wonderful, very helpful and one of the guys on reception did all the work for us, spoke to Aer Lingus rearranged the flights, printed the new tickets and also arranged for a doctor to attend. He then arranged for the hotel to pay the doctors bill and put all the extra charges on the one invoice to make claiming travel insurance much easier. They couldn't have been more helpful and very professional.
All in all a great place to stay, and we will definitely stay there again when we next return that wonderful city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Pro's -

- Great location. A block away from the Air Coach stop (and it is the closest stop to the airport so you don't have to waste a lot of time sitting at the other stops). Walking distance to most of the top attractions
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Large room

Con's -

- Hotel is a little long in the tooth. It could use some updating and repairs
- Poor water pressure (didn't really bother me, but my wife needs decent pressure to wash her hair)
- Breakfast was just OK
- The room was hot (in fairness, I believe we were experiencing hotter than usual weather)

If I were to return to Dublin I would check to see if there were comparably priced hotels with a location as good as this and consider them. If not, I would have no problem staying at Cassidys again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel provided all of the facilities we wanted and more. Good sized rooms, helpful staff, value for money, location in Dublin was excellent and easily accessible. Would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I spent our first two nights in Dublin at Cassidys. The location is great and I suppose that given the location, the rates are reasonable. However, I found the room to be really hot, somewhat old and there was absolutely no water pressure in the shower. I read that on trip advisor from another review and didn't really pay much attention to it before making the reservations; however, I found the place to be a little old and 'rickety'. The staff was very nice and could not have been more helpful and we had a good breakfast both mornings. If you want to save a little money and be right downtown [we took the bus straight from the airport and were in walking dropped one block from the hotel], this is probably a good choice. However, if you are looking for something that is more modern and luxerious, you might want to look around.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Good location, 2 minute walk to pub or convenience store. Walking distance to other amenities. Staff was helpful in booking tours and was polite. Continental breakfast was good! Reasonably priced with choices of cereal, one kind of yogurt, sausage, ham, beans, the eggs did not appear appetizing though. Our room had literally no view but you cant expect everything to be perfect and for all rooms to have a view. Only lost marks because of the view and the eggs. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked rooms for 13 people for four nights after spending a week of cycling in Holland. I was pleasantly surprised as soon as we enterered as the staff was so efficent and helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet and the beds quite comfortable. It was a great location within walking distance of all the important sites. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with good variety. I was especally impressed that they fixed us individual cotinenatl breakfasts as we had to leav at 4 AM to catch a 6 AM. I woulld certainly recommend it to any of my friends or clients visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#77 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassidys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.