We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cassidys Hotel to your Saves list
Cassidys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was not my favorite hotel on this trip. That being said, it was a great location, the room was clean and the staff the friendliest we encountered in Ireland. I suspect there is remodeling going on and we just got one of the rooms that is still waiting. The biggest issue was the bathroom. Though clean, the shower was downright weird. The shower curtain didn't reach all the way to the floor, so the water splashed out all over the bathroom floor. The couple we were with did not have this issue which is what made me think this room still needs to be update.
We had a very early departure - 5:30am - and they had breakfast foods out for us when we arrived in the lobby. Because of the great service and cleanliness I gave this hotel 4 stars, only deducting 1 star for the funky shower which hopefully is soon to be remedied, if it isn't already.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    648
    234
    69
    46
See reviews for
212
663
55
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Worst service I have ever had the misfortune of receiving. The food in the hotel restaurant was awful. The Bailey's cheesecake had a skin on it and the base of it was soggy and grey. The chips seemed as if they were refried from earlier as the chips at lunch were much nicer. At checkout they tried to charge us for a fry breakfast on a day we didn't even stay in the hotel. The shower lacked the ability of maintaining a constant temperature and I will never be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here June 1, -thru june 9. The staff very friendly and helpful especially with directions to sightseeing. Hotel located on Upper O"Connell st and walking distance to many sights and places. Breakfast buffet was included and was very good selection of meats, eggs, fruits and cereals. Our room was on the 2nd floor and away from street noise. Rooms were a little small with good light. Bathrooms a little on the small size. Weather was not great, rain and cold, not the hotel's fault . The restaurant was cozy, could have used a menu with more/better selections. Service in restaurant was slow at times.

All in all a good value for the money.

Room Tip: main lobby is floor 0, first floor is actually one floor up, ask for rear rooms so you don't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights this past week. Great location near the top of O'Connell Street. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we needed to add an extra night at the end of our stay on short notice and they let us keep the same room for that night. The double room was a decent size and clean with a very comfy bed.

We didn't have the breakfast but had lunch in the bar downstairs one day, they had very nice soup and sandwiches.

The only downside was that the room didn't keep out noise from the corridor or other rooms well which was annoying early in the morning. I was pleasantly surprised that there wasn't too much noise from the street though given the central location.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and we'd be happy to go back next time we're in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Cassidys Hotel for a couple of days over the Jubilee weekend. The staff were brilliant, helpful, with very good local knowledge, and very hospitable. Wonderful breakfasts, with helpful, friendly and informative staff in the dining room. We had a great room at the back, quiet, very clean, with the most comfortable double bed of any hotel we have slept in. We look forward to going back. Cheerful smiling and very pleasant staff in all areas makes this a highly recommended hotel. Spacious rooms, ideal location for the theatre, bars, cinema and the local tour bus. We had a great city break there, very clean city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Calder, Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We are just back from a whistle-stop tour of Dublin - staying overnight at Cassiday's Hotel. The location was ideal for the Hop on Hop off buses and airport transfers. And within easy walking distance of the bars in Knights bridge and Temple Bar. Our room was spacious and even though it faced the main road we were not disturbed by traffic or pedestrian noise. Breakfast was lovely and good value for money. The staff at the reception desk and dining room are exceptionally helpful and we will be back - and will be sure to book in at Cassiday's again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We spent 6 nights here. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We did not eat here so can't comment on that. There is a place close that has great Irish music, Murray's. We also enjoyed Madigan's and The Church. The room was "quaint". It was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#77 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassidys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.