We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young budget travellers looking for nightlife” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harcourt Hotel to your Saves list
Harcourt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great for young budget travellers looking for nightlife”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

stayed here again in December as location suited our group for nightlife. This hotel is bascially a budget hotel so we were able to get a twin room at the back for about €50 which is really a bargain price for the centre of dublin! We had been warned that there may be noise from the near by smoking area but it didnt bother us as we were heading out for a late night ourselves and to be honest we couldnt really here much from it, most noise came from staff sorting the bottles at the back.

For young people travelling to dublin for the nightlife this is really in a great area as there are loads of clubs nearby that the locals actually go to as opposed to the overpriced tourist trap of temple bar. There are also a number of restaurants near by and I had very reasonably priced dinner in Litte Caesars which is next door to the hotel.

The hotel is literally around the corner from the Luas which would bring you straight into st stephens green and the top of grafton street (10 min walk from temple bar and georges street area.) There is no car park with this hotel but on street parking is generally free after 7 on saturday until monday morning.

The rooms were quite small and the beds were not the most comfortable but they served their purpose. Decor was a bit dated, in particular the curtains! Bathroom was clean with a good shower, although probably could do with throwing in an extra roll of toilet roll.

We were able to bring our own drink to the room and the security guy at the door even helped my friend locate a bottle opener for his own bottle of wine. The rooms were smoking rooms as well which also suited us as many hotels no longer offer this option. Although for some reason the only cigarettes that were sold in the hotel were ones I had never heard of.. couldnt understand this.

Staff were also helpful when I called to try and locate a set of lost keys.

Unfortunately we could not get broadband in our room. Was advised that wifi only available in the lobby.

Overall this hotel is clean, in a good location and cheap. You get what you pay for. If you want more comfort you have to be prepared to pay considerably higher prices.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    141
    141
    121
    176
See reviews for
66
132
41
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

The hotel is nice location and good condition. However, it is on a street where there are about 4 or 5 other clubs. Heck, even under the hotel there is a club. So if you're hoping for sleep, you better ask for a room facing AWAY from the streets. Otherwise be prepared to join in the party. Great bar atmosphere. Conveniently leads to the club as well.
Good value. But if you're a light sleeper, spend the extra cash and go somewhere else.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

No matter how cheap you get this hotel, stay away, on first impressions it looks okay, hit the bedroom and it's like something out of the 1950's. There is no sound proofing what so ever, the noise had to be heard to be believed, any wonder they provide ear plugs. To cap it off, they increase the price of the drink in the bar at night as it then becomes part of the nite club.
We are frequent travellers to Dublin as we love it, and went for the "cheapy" through NIR Travel, I would gladly pay extra to have a decent room, we will know again, as there are much better hotels in a much better location and only slightly more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

This hotel is in a great location not far from Grafton Street which made getting to the centre of all the action really easy. Our rooms (we had booked 2) were tired in terms of decor but the beds were comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great, as was the fantastic meal we ate in the Little Ceasar restaurant which is part of the hotel building - WHAT A GREAT PLACE - the staff were really great and the food was out of this world!

The only downside to this hotel was the noise in the street when the nightclub kicked out its guests. Despite having the windows closed the noise level was very loud, you would have thought that we were in the street with them. Then on day 3 of our trip our friends found a pair of ladies briefs between the mattress and the headboard of their bed (that did not belong to my friend) - despite the bed having been changed every day!!!! Apart from that we cannot fault the cleanliness of the rooms, but do have to ask how when the bed was changed every day this happened.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The services was horrible very noisy at night, no air conditioning and it was very hot. Someone tried to break into our hotel room our last night there and we didn't even get an apology. Nothing is included they had no ice machine and nothing to make your stay easy. It may be cheap but you are better off staying at a hotel that costs more its worth it. P.S. You can't even make local calls without a credit cared. Very few clearly english speaking people there sad!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Good location and looks fine from outside. Room was ok although we had to ask for soap. However we were there on a Friday and Saturday night and the noise from the night-club meant it was very difficult to sleep-even up on the third floor. I had requested a quiet room at the time of booking. Once the music stopped the partygoers then shouted and banged doors along the corridor of the floor we were on.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed for three days, Monday to Wednesday. In those three days the hotel was clean and basic in its facilities but they charged enough for even that.
Night time was a nightmare. With the bars and disco's (not to mention their own which opens mid week onwards) that exist on the street, the noise at night was unreal. It began about 10pm approx' rising in people and decibel volume as each night progressed in hour of time till about four in the morning - and we were on the third floor!
We should have known right away, for we discovered the hotel supplies ear plugs that are found in the lockers of our room. The windows for blocking out street noise were absolutely useless, stiff and old. The paint cracking on them.

Regarding our room, we told them we wanted a double bed.
What we got was two single beds shoved together - and a cramped small room to boot!
As the beds were two singles, there was a thick crease line from each edge of the touching mattresses running down the middle so that alone made sleeping uncomfortable besides anything else.

One morning the cleaner just decided to let themselves in while we were in bed - that did NOT empress us at all.

I would NOT recommend this hotel if your looking for a good nights sleep.
I would also recommend that you ask to see your room before you pay up when you sign in. Yes, they make sure they get the money from you first as you book in just in case you decide to look for alternative accommodation when you see how bad it gets at night!

The front door by the way looks and is a fire exit door that swings out.
We actually walked past it not knowing that it was the main entrance. Not exactly an attraction on the street which is a shame for the reception was actually nice.

Hotel would be good for students or young travellers who would probably be sleeping less but if your a couple who like their peace too, looking for a romantic break or a business person who appreciates quietness at night, I'd try else where.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harcourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.