We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harcourt Hotel to your Saves list
Harcourt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
tipperary
1 review
“Bed Bugs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

i stayed here at the start of November, with a group of friends. One of my friends went up to the room early, to have a shower, when i came up half an hour later, she was still in the batroom, the door had bolted shut and we couldnt get it open. Needless to say she was in a bit of a frenzy. The next morning we couldnt open the door to get into the bathroom. The noise from the nightclub was ridiculously loud. The next afternoon, i discovered i had an nasty attack of bed bugs, resulting in me being out of work for a week. I was bitten from head to toe, i hate even thinking about it. My head was covered in bites as was my face and eyes....seriously check the beds if you intend staying here!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    171
    160
    125
    186
See reviews for
73
149
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

This hotel is in a great location if you are in Dublin as a tourist who enjoys shopping as its really near Grafton Street.
First impressions of the hotel is great, really clean and friendly reception staff. The bar is great , really lively and the night club is very convenient as you dont have to worry about how to get home!!!
We had a triple room which was very nice and clean.
Like everyone else it would be wrong not to comment on the noise. We were on the 2nd floor and found the noise from the club and bar amazingly loud. Other guests in the corridors were not considerate of keeping the noise down either at 5am!!! Iam sure the hotel could help themselves by making the windows more sound proof or the security moving the clubbers away from the front of the hotel when they leave at 5.30AM!!! The fire alarm also went off twice during the night which reception told me other drunk guests thought it was funny to set them off!!!
Overall the hotel is great but the noise wasnt when we had a 6am flight and needed a bit of sleep the night before we travelled...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I stayed in the Harcourt Hotel in November. Price €138 twin room , breakfast not included. Great location to tour Dublin city. Graffton Street , St Stephens Green10min walk away. Luas transport near by.
Hotel staff very polite and helpful. Hotel bar and nightclub great fun. Little Ceasers Italian restaurant located beside hotel I highly recommend for good food, friendly staff and reasonable price.
Our room was located outisde in the back yard of the hotel, it looked like an out house shed from the outside apperance. The room was tiny, decor shabby and run down, matress springy. Room got very cold when the timed heating went off, no extra blankets.

The room window did not close properly and so a cold daft got in and the noise of the music from the nightclub. The music didnt stop until 4am and so I didnt sleep.
I got stuck in the unsuite as door knob did not work and hotel staff had to open it. This hotel is only suitable for partying in but not to stay in. Even other friends staying on the night in different rooms complained of the noise level from the club.

The website of hotel gave me the impression I would be sleeping in a nice comfortable
room. Hope this review was helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I had read the reviews and I knew what i was getting myself into with this hotel. I expected a loud, almost hostel atmosphere - not ideal when you want a decent nights sleep prior to the Dublin marathon. But hostel it definately aint. Its a beautiful building and the staff were more than helpful.. I asked to be moved away from the nightclub and they obliged. Ear plugs are provided in all rooms - but they are only foam, i recommend bringing wax ones.
I found it very clean. The breakfast was great. Fantastic location. comfortable beds. Great for seeing the sights or a short stay. Dont believe all you read, but dont expect 5 star when you dont pay for it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

This hotel is well located being close to Stephens Green, the outside would remind you a little of 'Cheers' being a kinda Georgian stret front.

It is a mishmash of amalgamated rooms, so finding your rooms can be a challenge. The on ei had was about average.

The hotels has no parking as far as i can see and you are directed to a public multi story about 5 minutes walk.

The bar in the hotel is cosmopolitan and busy.

I would go back again, especially if i didn thave a car and i needed to be in the City Centre.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I've stayed here twice and have been disappointed both times. Won't make the mistake again. As others have written, the downstairs club is certainly a happening place, but locating it directly beneath a hotel and having it run until all hours is ridiculous. Also, the staff is, at best, surly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowhere
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Me and a friend stayed in a twin room and both of us have spent the weeks following COVERED in bug bites! And yes it was noisy as the other people have said although personally I wasn't too bothered by that as I couldn't sleep anyway due to the uncomfortableness of the bed!

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harcourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.