We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ear plugs Reqd” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harcourt Hotel to your Saves list
Harcourt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ear plugs Reqd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a pleasant weekend stay. The rooms were clean and met all our needs. However If you actually want to get some sleep before the sun rises might be worth while requesting a quiet room (not above the entrance) as the street is filled with clubs pumping out music and people to the wee hours of the morning. If your here for the scene then it's perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very loud - Avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    170
    160
    125
    186
See reviews for
72
149
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on the weekend of the 26th of October for one night. It was a Saturday night and busy. The hotel is very well laid out and very clean. Lovely reception staff and very informative. We were given a nice room and very spacious. I opted for breakfast the next day where is probably one of the areas it fell down. The staff were not very attentive and really didnt give the impression that they even wanted to be there. It was quiet when I went down and I had to keep asking for things.......juice as the jugs were empty..........glasses as there was none. The glasses they brought back were hot.....not warm but hot. Coffee was terrible.

Again the hotel is lovely as are the reception staff. It just needs lots of improvement on breakfast and breakfast staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had to stay in this hotel despite having read the previous reviews. I had hoped that because the stay was only a Monday night, I wouldn't encounter any of the drunken noise previously alluded too. No such luck.

I had a group of drunken people phoning the room phone and yelling down it. At 530am, some random guy was banging on the door and kept trying to put his keycard into the door in order to get into my room.

The room itself was small and the fabrics and bed coverings definitely did not look clean. The bathroom was also in serious need of an upgrade.

I realise that this hotel offers very good value for its central Dublin location. But you cannot overlook the fact that the hotel is basically a party house for stag and hen parties.

The reception staff were very friendly. That is about the only positive I can list.

I definitely would not return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was in Dublin at the weekend of 2nd of November. I read the reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to give the Harcourt a go. I was more than happy with the hotel and lovely staff. The food was excellent, the service was excellent to. Can't knock the hotel at all, yes they have a nightclub and lovely bar area plus if you like a smoke wow. I felt like talking it up even that area was lovely. I went to Dublin to have a great weekend, drink mix with people and enjoy the craic. And that's just what I did. So if you're in Dublin for the above the Harcourt is rgt place to stay. Central easy walking distance from everything Dublin as to offer. Don't worry about the noise from the club, if you are enjoying yourself you won't hear a thing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is VERY cheap and within walking distance to St Stephen's Green, Grafton Street and city centre. Myself and 3 family members shared a room for just £35 each which is an unheard of price in Dublin. There is a reason for that!

Despite being two floors above the hotel's basement nightclub, the noise was incredibly loud. I may as well have tried to sleep in the club. The hotel did provide earplugs in the room which were comfortable and blocked out almost all of the sound (I did worry about hearing the fire alarm!).

The hotel food and drink was reasonably priced and tasted alright. The free wifi worked intermittently.

We have stayed here on a number of occasions when all we want is somewhere cheap to rest our heads. This occasion we were at a concert and weren't planning on getting much sleep anyway! If you just want a place to lay down and don't mind the racket, it does the job.

If you are looking for a relaxing hotel stay, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

It gets the necessary 1 star for the reception staff, credit where credit is due. We stayed over the marathon weekend when hotel was quite busy and they remained friendly and in control, unfortunately thats where the good ends. We had a quadruple room, supposedly can sleep 5 adults, it had room for the three beds and no more, we spent the time tripping over our suitcases.
Then there was the bathroom! You could quite literally sit on the toilet and was your hand in the sink, if you felt like it. The water was pure white, why? i have no explanation! And there wasn't even enough room to get dressed in there.
Next came the noise. Room 222, do not book it! I looked out the window and though oh good we're at the back of the hotel no street noise but no!!! Extractor fans galore and unsealed windows. Not just a lack of double glazing or soundproofing but actual draughts in the window for full extractor effect! Also on the noise side for those who don't realise, like myself, it is directly across the road from coppers nightclub so there will always be noise.
And lastly the menu.... Or lack there of. A very limited bar food menu with no children's options, no lunch options such as sandwiches, this was a big disappointment since my husband had just ran the marathon and really did not want to walk back into the city. And not even a potato/mash option. The hotel was swarming in marathon runners and all they were being offered the night before the race was chips and burgers, or the only pasta dish, a very dry looking lasagna.

So on the whole i would NEVER stay here again and i feel sorry for all the lovely reception staff because they are not to blame for any of the faults this hotel has to offer!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for one night at this hotel, whilst attending a function in Dublin City Centre and payed the €8 deposit whilst.booking online for room only.

Hotel is situated a short distance from Grafton Street and is situated opposite the Garda (police) HQ.

Check in is quick and you pay the bill on check in (option to add breakfast on). Rooms are fine with high ceilings, TV, and sizable bathrooms. I was only going to be in my room for a short time, so was not looking for 5*!

Hotel has nice bar area, which is also the breakfast area.

Coming back to the hotel, may be a concern for some as their is a night club in the basement of the hotel and you have to identify yourself to door staff as a guest to get admission to the hotel

My room was to the front and I did the hear the tram and late night revelers on the Street, but was not the worst I have experienced.

Conclusion for a short stay or an event (celebration) this hotel is cheap and cheerful!

Would I stay here again.... yes!

Room Tip: One to the rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harcourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.