We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites to your Saves list
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had read good reviews about so expected it to be really good but were dissapointed with quite a few things.....

When we arrived the lobby smelt terrible (of sewage) and remained there for the whole of our stay - I have seen a couple of people write about it on here so I think it has been like that for a while!

I mentioned in the booking that I had booked the 3 night trip as a surprise anniversary present for my boyfriend and they put us in the smallest, dingiest, oldest room. It was not the sort of room we wanted to relax in - especially being there for 3 nights. The TV was old, the bathroom was bright orange and we were on level 1 which looked out onto a small car park and a few buildings. When we mentioned that we wernt happy, they were really good and upgraded us to their exec rooms which were 10 times better - lovely bathroom, bed and very spacious, however we were 100 metres from the railway track (which ran from 5am - 12pm every day) and put right by some meeting rooms which were extreemly noisy at 8am.

I cant fault the staff as they were really helpful, but cant help but think that they chance it by putting people in the non updated rooms first, which were definnalety not a room you would want to relax in for 4 days - and defintely were not up to a 4* standard.

The location was also good as was an easy walk to everywhere, but probably would spend a bit more to go somewhere else if we returned to Dublin.

Room Tip: Go for an Exec room for the extra cost and don't get room on the first floor. Also ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    552
    258
    113
    98
See reviews for
192
575
63
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is a very centeral hotel with the luas line right across the road. The hotel is a very clean hotel also it has a lovely bar and restruant for dining ,the staff are very helpfull ,the rooms are a good size and clean ,we stayed there for two nights and I would highly recommend this for anyone in taking a Dublin City break

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Slimtubswadey,


Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that your time spent in The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites was most enjoyable and that we provided you with the support and service you required.

On behalf of the team here at The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites, we very much look forward to your return in the future.


Warm Regards,

Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Diana@northstarhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visited Ireland for the first time in November and the North Star Hotel was part of a package. Im glad it was. When I will go back to Dublin I will book there directly.

The staff was very nice and responsive. The rooms were clean and the beds were some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The restaurant had good food and atmosphere.

The best part was the location. It was a short walk to almost everything you want to do in Dublin, yet off the beaten path enough that you dont feel overwhelmed by crowds. I was surprised at how quiet my sleep was being so close to the train tracks. I never heard a thing.

I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Darstar81,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

I am delighted to hear that that you enjoyed your stay at the North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites with our newly refurbished contemporary design rooms. It is equally pleasing to know that you enjoyed our location as well as our famous McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar.

I was particularly pleased to hear that our team here at the North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites stood out as a real positive. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is motivating to hear that these efforts are noticed.

It is wonderful to know that you would stay with us again. On behalf of the team here at the North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites, we very much look forward to your return in the future.

Warm Regards,

Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Diana@northstarhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yes, the rooms are quite nice and the location is good, close to O'Connell Street and the train station; but most of all, the staff was amazingly accommodating. They graciously moved our things to another room after we experienced an airconditioning failure. They relayed messages to and from our tour director, as we extended a few days beyond our trip. Whatever we asked of them, they were most gracious and helpful. It was as if we were staying in someone's home. It was also nice that this was not a large, chain hotel, as North Star had a personality all its own. Be sure to ask the staff about the hotel's connection to James Joyce!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Kathy D,

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites and found our staff to be amazingly accommodating. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to the team. It shows us that our passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it. Thank you.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and that you found our hotel location convenient. We are indeed Dublin City Center located with most tourist attractions, train and bus stations as well as the many shops, coffee houses, restaurants and bars within walking distance from the hotel.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and I hope that you have the opportunity to stay at the North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites in the not too distant future where our team and I will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations once again.


Warm Regards,

Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Diana@northstarhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my best friend travelled to Dublin on the 19th December and stayed at this hotel. We arrived around 9am in the morning and on arrival to the hotel there was a slight issue with our booking, however the staff were so brilliant at resolving the issue that it did not affect our trip. They offered to hold our luggage until check in at 2 however advised we come back at 12 and our room may be ready. We were so tired so took that offer and as advised our room was ready at 12.
The room was spacious with 2 beds one single and one double, however the single was large. The beds were gorgeous so comfy with lots of space. Then room was tidy and very clean.
We booked our stay as half board so recieved a dinner voucher for both nights of our stay for the McGettigans cookhouse located at the hotel. To our surprise we were told our vouchers entitled us to a three course meal at the restaurant which was easily worth €30. The food was gorgeous and again the hospitality was perfect. Buffet breakfast had all you would need with tons of choice and very high quality.
The location of this hotels is perfect close to shops, transports and nightlife.
On our last day we had an unpleasant encounter with a homeless man outside the hotel. The staff at the hotel were quick to check if we were okay and one lovely lady went above and beyond and even walked us up the road to ensure we were safe.
The staff are a credit to this hotel. All service we recieved was perfect. Thank you so much to the North Star hotel for a wonderful stay, it would be a pleasure to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Laura E,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

It is music to my ears that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be spacious, tidy and clean with very comfortable beds. Indeed our location is so central and within walking distance to most tourist attractions as well as the many shops, coffee houses, restaurants and bars.

I am delighted to hear you had an opportunity to sample and most importantly enjoyed some of the amazing dishes we have on offer in McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar as well as our daily served Irish Breakfast.

I was particularly pleased to hear that our team here at The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites stood out as a real positive. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is motivating to hear that these efforts are noticed.

Despite the unpleasant encounter outside the hotel I hope that you will have the opportunity to stay at The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites in the not too distant future where our team and I will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations once again.


Warm Regards,

Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Diana@northstarhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I took my boyfriend to Dublin for his 25th birthday and we had an amazing time. The room was beautiful with a balcony overlooking Dublin, luxurious king-sized bed and waterfall shower. The hotel staff were friendly and gave us prosecco because we were celebrating. Would definitely return here, made the trip.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear nadianess,

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites and that you enjoyed our newly refurbished contemporary design rooms.

it is equally pleasing to know our hotel team stood out as a real positive. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is motivating to hear that these efforts are noticed.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and I hope that you have the opportunity to stay at The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites in the not too distant future where our team and I will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations once again.


Warm Regards,

Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Diana@northstarhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

our first time in Dublin, this hotel has all you need, lovely rooms, good breakfast, very helpful friendly staff, very good value and by the train/tram station, we went for a short 3 night break and enjoyed every minute, definately recommend this hotel, we never heard the trains as some people seem to have stated but guess that all depends on your room, ours was ace, once again a big THANKYOU to the staff, we WILL be back x

Room Tip: we were on 2nd floor and didn't get any noise or problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear rubykam,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

I am delighted to hear that your time spent in The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites was most enjoyable and that you felt your received a very good value for money. It is equally pleasing to know that you found our hotel location convenient and enjoyed our rooms.

I was particularly pleased to hear that our team here at the was so friendly and helpful. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is motivating to hear that these efforts are noticed.

It is wonderful to know that you would definitely stay with us again. On behalf of the team here at the north Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites, we very much look forward to your return in the future.


Warm Regards,

Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Diana@northstarhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#59 Family Hotel in Dublin
#66 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This photo is linked to my management response to the review dont be fooled. There is also complimentary water available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.