We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show Deal Exstravaganza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added North Star Hotel to your Saves list
North Star Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Show Deal Exstravaganza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

What can I say? Fantastic service, beautiful room and a fantastic show deal. Customer service on arrival and during our stay was excellent, room was available immediately. The Room was spotless and I loved the decor. Tea and coffee facilities fully stocked. Toiletries supplied, beautiful bathroom and shower and a tv that worked with a fully functional remote control. That doesn't happen very often. The evening meal was part of the deal and was cooked to perfection, served just how I'd asked - I'm a fussy eater. The service from all staff was faultless. The manageress was especially lovely. Unfortunately I didn't catch her name. She made time to chat in the bar that evening and at breakfast the following morning. All you can eat breakfast buffet and tea and coffee served to the table. There was a convention on and as there was a large group of guests the hotel moved them to the breakfast room on the lower floor, away from the residence bar to avoid disturbance to the other guests. What more could you ask for. Will definately make a point of staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review, fantastic to read that our customer service standards met and surpassed your expectations. Great to read that The North Star Hotel will be your first choice when next visiting Dublin.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    593
    280
    116
    99
See reviews for
220
625
71
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Convenient location with easy taxi rides to anywhere in Dublin.
The room was really nice, cleaned and restocked daily by attentive staff.
Any hotel is judged and rated, more than anything else IMHO, by the service delivered by it's employees. The North Star are lucky to have some of the best bar staff in Dublin. In particular Shaun, Keith and Paddy made our stay terrific.
Will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Great to read that you experience with us was so enjoyable, the bar team very much appreciate the kind mention. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My partner and I made a visit to this hotel, as we stayed here 3 years ago..It has been refurbished to the point that there is very little drinking area where you feel at home, as we could the last time we came here, outside of the rear of the bar used to be an area which was open in area's so you could sit and have a drink and a ciggy if you wish.. now they have changed this so if you smoke you have to cower into a corner of a little alleyway type area, so if it rains you get wet.. The hotel bar is mainly now an eating restaurant with new seating, the older type settle seats have gone which were very comfortable... I think perhaps our booking into here again has gone by the board... shame.

Room Tip: Did not stay here this time round, has changed so will not bother in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Indeed our property has undergone significant refurbishment and our standards have improved in 3 years. Our beer garden is non smoking however we have added a purposely designed heated smoking area. McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar proudly opened early last year and has a different more contemporary vibe to our bar previous.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have recently returned home from a 2 night stay in this hotel and it really did exceed all expectations!

On arrival into Dublin, we caught the Dublin airlink bus from the airport to O'Connell Street, which, when you get off at this stop, it is just around the corner from the hotel! This was very handy as it only cost 10€ for an open return.

When we arrived at the hotel, it was only 11am due to flying early in the morning, we asked the receptionist if there was a chance that we could check in then. The staff were very helpful and we were upgraded to a suite after originally booking a standard double room!

The suite was spacious with a comfy bed and nice interior, the suite had a large bathroom with bath and shower facilities. However, the room did have two TVs, both of which did not retrieve much of/if any signal, this didn't bother us too much though as we didn't intend on watching it for long periods of time.

The breakfast runs until 10am during the week and 11am on weekends and it was delicious! It was a full, hot Irish buffet breakfast (similar to an English breakfast with the exception of white pudding being served in addition) as well as including cheeses, fruit and cereals. Tea/coffee was offered to us after being seated by the polite member of staff. We were spoiled for choice!

The hotel is in a good location. About 10 - 15 minutes walk from Grafton Street and Temple Bar area. We found the city to be very compact and most sites within walking distance.

All in all, we had a very pleasant and comfortable stay in this cosy hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

A pleasure to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us at The North Star Hotel, I do hope that we may welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a one night layover in Dublin on our way back home during our European trip and booked the North Star hotel just a few days prior. The price of a room in this hotel is pretty affordable, however, it felt short on a few categories...

We bought the bus tickets from the airport to the hotel inside the airport (Airlink 747) and got dropped off about 3 minutes walk to the hotel (round trip for $10). Note that the bus stop to go back to the airport is not at the same location and not at the main bus station either - be sure to ask several people to point you to the right direction. Overall, it was in an easy access location especially if it's not your first time in Dublin.

Upon our arrival, we checked in at the front desk. The reception staff was pretty friendly and welcoming, however, did not bother to ask for any of our travel documents. Once we got the room key, they did not help with our luggage, which made our walk to the room harder since it was already a bit confusing. The room itself was in a smaller size, equipped with older and very basic essentials. We searched everywhere in the room and only found one small electronic outlet that is compatible with our phone charger in the bathroom (we even had an outlet converter that worked in Berlin but didn't work here either). The showers water temperature was impossible to control - either too hot or too cold and wouldn't stop changing.

Tripadvisor reviews for the hotel's restaurant was pretty sad, so we decided to have dinner at some much better restaurant nearby. Dublin itself is a small city - we walked from the hotel to the Cathedral and back in about 2 hours and covered most of the main attractions easily.

Not sure if our travel path would end up in Dublin again, but we probably will look into some other hotels for our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologise that assistance was not offered with you luggage, we do have 24hour porterage assistance and available which indeed should have been offered to you. It is not standard as part of our check in procedure to request our guests travel documentation and which why it was not asked. Our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, television (including radio selections) hair dryers, full tea/coffee facilities, telephone and range of toiletries (amongst other facilities). I see that you travelled from the California, our sockets are to European standards, which you will find in virtually all European hotels however on request we have a selection of adaptors available for our guests convenience. Actually, the reviews of our bar and restaurant overall from diners and guests have been excellent. I do hope you have the opportunity to revisit Dublin, I assure you our City has plenty to offer for all interests and tastes which is unfortunate that you did not have the opportunity to experience.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago on a business trip and said it was "ok" so we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived on an overnight trip to Dublin late December to find that the hotel was fully refurbished. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel decor is very modern and pretty. The room was lovely, one double and one single bed - even though it overlooked the carpark- very clean and warm and the bathroom was nice everything you would need, nice fluffy white towels. There was plenty of storage space in the bedroom and tea/coffee making facilities.
It did get a little bit noisy in the corridors during the night but we put that down to the busy Christmas season.
Breakfast was very good - again staff very friendly and efficient.
Hotel bar is lovely - menu looked good but we didn't eat there.
Very centrally located, only about ten mins. walk to O'Connell St. and across from Connolly Station,
Will definitely return to this hotel and next time we'll probably dine here too. Very impressed!!

Room Tip: We had one overlooking carpark so ask for one on other side?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to read that you and your husband so enjoyed your stay with us. All our guest feedback is valued however it is a pleasure to read from a repeat guest that our completed refurbishment has been so well received. I do hope that we may welcome you and your husband back for many years to come.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for three nights and had absolutely no issues with the hotel. The location was excellent, just a short walk from O'connell street and the centre of dublin. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a quality ensuite. The entire trip was enhanced by the excellent value for money; very good deals could be found online which easily made the hotel one of the best value for money in the center of dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Delighted to read that your recent stay with us at The North Star Hotel so highly met and surpassed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.