We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites to your Saves list
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here last week and I highly recommend it to everyone. The hotel has been recently refurbished and looks fantastic. Our room was large ,spacious ,the decor is lovely also the bed is really comfortable and the room itself was well equipped with plenty of tea,coffee etc and had a large television with about 8 or 9 channels. The bathroom again was nicely decorated and quite large. The staff here are really nice from the very pleasant receptionist who checked us in to the accommodation staff, every single person had a smile for you which can be rare in the hotel industry these days.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night I had the fish and chips which was very good and my partner had the pasta carbonara with pulled pork which was divine!!! We also received a glass of complimentary prosecco each which was a nice bonus. The breakfast in the morning was really nice as well and had loads of choice so I can't understand some of the previous reviews saying there wasn't much considering they had all the usual continental breakfast choices that you find in most hotels! Also if you don't want to eat in the hotel restaurant there is a fabulous restaurant on Talbot Street just 5 mins away called Le Bon Crubeen I would highly recommend it.
The location of this hotel is superb you're 10 minutes walk from O Connell Street, Connolly Station is across the road, Bus Aras is 2 mins away and you can jump on the Luas within 2 mins so you couldn't have more transport options available to you!
The only really minor thing i could complain about is the noise of the trains although you get used to them after a while ( this isn't the hotels fault)and thankfully they don't run after 11ish so you still get decent sleep.
All in all I really loved this hotel and for the price you pay you really won't get better in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your generous and constructive review of your recent stay with at The North Star Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    550
    257
    113
    98
See reviews for
191
570
63
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I met a family of Brazilian friends at Dublin airport and took them to the North Star Hotel where they had booked for three nights. For anyone travelling by train or bus to other towns in Ireland, this Hotel is very convenient, directly opposite Connolly Station (which has a tram connection to the other main city station, Heuston), and just a few minutes from the main bus terminal for rural routes. It is within easy walking distance of Dublin' main street, O'Connell Street.

This is one of Dublin's oldest hotels, recently refurbished to a high three-star standard, and a good level of cleanliness. The older building, on the street front, has no elevator, so luggage has to be carried up two short flights of stairs to the first floor. The rear of the building is much newer and has an elevator. The hotel has a small car-park, with a helpful concierge. A separate larger car-park can be found behind the railway station.

The bar and dining facilities were highly recommended, and the staff very knowledgeable and helpful.

When booking, my friends had omitted to make it clear that they wanted one double room and one twin room, so at check-in were assigned two double rooms, but the Reception staff willingly found an alternative.

The rooms are large and comfortably furnished with hospitality tray but no frig. My friends were delighted to be able to take an evening stroll right up to O'Connell Street and experience the city centre life. But they were disappointed at the charge for use of Wi-Fi.

They had been hoping for a room with a tiled floor rather than carpets, due to an allergy problem, but that is impossible to find in an older hotel in this country. If that is a requirement it would be essential to enquire before booking.

The location could be a bit noisy due to the busy street and the frequent trains which pass over a bridge that is very close to the hotel - but the trains stop well before midnight.

The positive things about this hotel are the price and the location. Also, the shuttle service that is provided by Paddywagon Tours from this and other city centre hotels to and from Dublin airport.

At Dublin Airport we were able to purchase a one-day Family ticket for bus and train, for two adults and four children for €17.50. This does not include the 'Luas' tram or the 'Hop On Hop Off' buses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The North Star Hotel, very pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed our hospitality and that our city center location was convenient to your plans.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and had no real complaints, based on the rate we received from hotels.com. The room was quite large, featuring a sitting area with desk and a spacious section with a king-sized bed. The bathroom was nice, if you overlooked the dingy, shrinking caulking around the bathtub. Room is not air conditioned and Internet was not included in our rate. I paid for three days' worth of Internet (at around 40 Euros--ouch!), but it was only for one device. The staff, however, gave us another code free of charge, which was much appreciated. Our room faced the railroad tracks, which could be problematic for some, but our biggest complaint was the music from the nearby bar, which went on until the wee hours. The location is very good, as Temple Bar/ Trinity College was only a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review. I apologise that your stay was disturbed by the noise. We are reviewing our internet policy currently. I do hope that on your next trip to Dublin that you will consider the North Star.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Myself & 2 others stayed here in mid June. It is clean, spacious, centrally located, great breakfast, reasonably priced and more importantly the staff are great! I cannot praise the staff highly enough....... especially the young bartender who makes brilliant cocktails!! We were going to a concert so they were a welcome way to start the night!! - along with the good food served in the bar....
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin for any reason and any amount of time. An all rounder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Always great to read such complimentary comments about our team. Next time your with us even if you don't see you favorite cocktail on our list feel free to ask. Many thanks for your high recommendation of The North Star Hotel.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was the end of a week's stay in Ireland's South-West. We were getting a morning boat back to Holyhead, so we looked for somewhere on the port side of the city centre and found the North Star.

We were allocated a very large and comfortable room at the back of the hotel on the sixth floor. OK, the view wasn't the best but, being at the back, it was wonderfully quiet (especially for a city centre hotel) and we had a marvellous night's sleep in what must be a contender for the biggest bed in the world. The facilities in the room were excellent, even having a fridge.

I can't comment on the quality of the food as we ate out in the evening, and needed an early start for the boat, but we did have a night cap in the very attractive bar. Service throughout from the friendly staff couldn't be faulted.

The location is excellent, being central but not so central as to be disturbed by city centre revellers overnight and, for those without a car, couldn't be closer to Amiens Street station (oops, showing my age there).

Our only regret was that it was only a one night stopover but, certainly if, in the future, we arrange a break just in Dublln itself, the North Star would be our first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are certainly quiet - can't comment on those at the front as didn't stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing The North Star Hotel for your recent visit to Dublin and also for your high recommendation. Just a tip for your next visit, breakfast is served from 7am daily however should you require please do not hesitate to request a continental breakfast to be served to your room at a time of your choosing should your plans require you to leave early. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my friends, we stayed in this hotel. Unfortunately we were here just one night. The hotel was clean and beautiful. Restaurant was excellent. Rooms bit older but clean and nice. but wi-fi was terrible expensive. anyway I can recommend this hotel to all of the guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Great to read that you and your friends had such an enjoyable experience in our new Cookhouse and bar. With reference to the Wifi we are currently reviewing our policy however both Wifi & continental breakfast are complimentary with all reservations received through our website. Thank you kindly for your review.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

very nice hotel, very warm and friendly staff, excellent food and would defiantly stay again.
only issue we had was the room we stayed was noisy if the window was open as it is on the lower floor and near to the bins etc, the window had to be left open as the air con didn't work, but staff did give us a fan

Room Tip: higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind review although I regret that your stay with us was hampered by the air conditioning being out of service. I am pleased to read however that our team were able to ensure your stay was a comfortable one.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Family Hotel in Dublin
#66 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This photo is linked to my management response to the review dont be fooled. There is also complimentary water available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Star Hotel - Premier Club Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.