We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud but handy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Russell Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Russell Court Hotel to your Saves list
Russell Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21-25 Harcourt Street, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loud but handy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

the rooms are nice and big. And so handy for central Dublin. But the noise from the nightclub didn't stop until 4 in the morning, what I would have expected, so I wasn't too annoyed by that. But the cleaners starter hoovering and shouting outside our room at 8.30 in the morning! Very bad in my opinion as we had be kept up all night with the club.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    127
    92
    104
    192
See reviews for
45
196
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed here last night for our work xmas party night with a group of colleagues

I kinda knew what to expect with the location and add in the fact there was earplugs in the room, but being on the 3rd floor and to the front of the building i was actually shocked by the level of noise from outside between the nightclub, crowds on the street and the tram going by......i can still hear that ding ding ding

but it is what it is folks, you pay for the location, the convenience, and its reasonably priced for a bed for the night to throw your head down and try sleep off the night on the tiles

room was clean and tidy, albeit very dated, and the bed was comfortable, shower was hot and strong enough to wash away the hangover

breakfast wasn't too bad, and when you take into account bed and breakfast was only €30 per person sharing it was handier than trying to make the last bus home

if you're looking for a hotel to have as a base for a family vacation or a work trip id advise you take heed of the other reviews on here and try find somewhere else, but if you want somewhere cheap and cheerful to sleep off the nights festivities then you'll be grand

my only gripe was when i booked the room they took a preauthorisation on my card which took 10 working days to refund, and then when checking in it was pay in advance for the room (one of the only hotels I've visited in the world where this was the case), plus an additional €50 security deposit, which again was sought as a preauthorisation on card which would take 10 working days to return, luckily i paid cash and got it back on check out!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found staff to be very helpful and efficient! When dealing with the banqueting manager Amy O Callaghan I found her to be very professional and more than kind with helping me organise a fundraiser event! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel. Great suite. Beautiful antique interiors and old fashioned windows and shutters. Bed very comfortable. Shower powerful and hot. Very toasty room/suite but not overly hot. Only downside was the noise but my 3 year old son slept like a log and didn't wake once! Great value for money and only 5 mins away from St Stephens Green.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night and thank god for that...the one time I didn't read any reviews and was I sorry :-( all the reviews I've read bout this "shabby" hotel are true....noisy..shabby. .run down..staff don't look a bit interested....shower was difficult to control...room smelt musty and dank...stains on the carpet....what was de final straw for us happened at 4 in de morning...trying to get to sleep with all the noise going on was hard enough but when strangers are knocking on your room door trying to get in is a bit much !! And having to phone reception 3 times !!! and getting no where with them and finally threaten receptionist if something wasn't done we would phone the guards..it was only then someone took whoever was outside our door away..if you're a couple looking for sleepless nights in a grubby hotel this is the place for you....we ourselves will never again go there we would have felt safer sleeping in Saint Stephens green with the homeless

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thankfully, I had only booked for one night, if its a good nights sleep your after this one is not for you. If you are up for clubbing and a punch up , get booked up now, you wont be disappointed.
The repro furniture in my room 110 must have been nice years ago, the bathroom was tired with mouldy grout and the bath was stained, this I might add is not a reflection on the housekeeping team as the room and bed were clean enough. The bed in this room is shot and you roll to the side as the mattress is well past its sell by date. The TV had 2 channels both of which had terrible reception and the TV had a massive chunk out of one corner.
This room was above the club and it was very noisy but I did manage to get some intermittent sleep , what with the club booming and the guests arriving , departing and scrapping outside the front doors. So awake every 30 mins on and off with grand finale at 4.30am when the club quite literally kicked out! Peace perfect peace , but not for long as the Trams start early in Dublin.
I checked in with barely a word spoken to the black haired receptionist , I ordered breakfast with about three words spoken IRISH BREAKFAST , COFFEE and other than the toast only toasted on one side it was not bad. Be SURE this is the right place for you before you book.

Room Tip: Good Luck, you will need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First looks the reception is fine and the staff were helpful enough. Room is dated and very basic. Location is good for the city centre. Real issue is the noise as so many have said. So loud and we were on top floor well away from clubs etc. Could hear people, taxis etc on the street all night until we left for a flight at 5am. They did give us some bits of breakfast though which meant it gets 2 stars rather than 1. Pay a bit more and go to a chain hotel like jury if you want a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Court Hotel

Address: 21-25 Harcourt Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Russell Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Court Hotel is just off St. Stephen's Green in Dublin city centre. The Georgian-style hotel has great nightlife and individually designed rooms with period furnishings and antiques.The hotel features some of the Dublin’s hottest nightlife. Dicey's Garden is extremely popular with visitors and locals. Russell Court Hotel hosts Krystle and Bojangles nightclubs. Krystle was winner of Best Nightclub in Ireland in 2007,2008 ,2009 ,and 2010.The Russell Court is a hotel for those who like to party with its bars and nightclubs open 7 days a week. Because of this all rooms can be affected by noise. We do not recommend the Russell Court Hotel for those looking "for peace and quiet ". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Court Hotel Dublin
Hotel Russell Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.